We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BreakFree Director's Studios

259 Gouger Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BreakFree Director\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Heads up - I prepaid, didn't check in until 10:30pm and checked out at around 7am. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was neat and clean, basic - but all I needed. There was no lift/elevator that I saw so if you have luggage and aren't equipped you might need to ask for help.

Helpful?
Thank DamienFromMelbourne
Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Also the apartment was very clean and a decent size room. It is very close to the markets, shops and the city and public transport. The airport is only appox 10 mins away and it is close to Swim with wild dolphins and soak up classic seaside charm of Glenelg, a short tram... More 

Helpful?
Thank glenda c
BFDIR, Front Office Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this review

Dear Glenda, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. It is always nice to hear positive feedback like this and I will ensure to pass it onto all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on any future trips to Adelaide. Kind Regards, Stephanie Staker Front Office Supervisor More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service from the Mantra/Breakfree team there, very friendly and helpful. Sadly, the building is dreadfully tired (felt like I was in an Backpackers hotel). Bedside table lamps BOTH didn't work (meaning I had to read under the ultra-white and very bright ceiling flouro's), noisy AC unit (has to stop air circulating vanes moving) and the ONE AND ONLY elevator... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tims Samsung G
BFDIR, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this review

Dear Tims Samsung G Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found the team friendly and helpful. We are also very disappointed to learn about the inconvenience you faced during your stay, please accept our sincere apologies. We did a soft refurbishment of our Studio rooms last year and few other plans in pipeline. Regards,... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Directors Studios are affordable and convenient to the Gouger Street restaurant precinct, Central Markets, other shops, public transport and the Airport. Staff are always friendly and helpful and often allow early checkin if the room has been serviced. No complaints after numerous visits and always look forward to another stay. Simon.

Helpful?
Thank Simon L
BFDIR, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this review

Dear SimonL, Thank you for your kind words. We all loved reading your feedback. You are not wrong on location either, being situated on same street as China town and Central markets it makes us quiet popular with Gourmet Travellers . Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon. Regards, Paresh Kinra Hotel... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

The room and bathroom were both decent sized, it was clean and quiet, we stayed in the building next to the main hotel with access down a side street, our room was on the second floor and we didn't hear any noise from outside. the staff were friendly and helpful, only downside is its a bit far from the city... More 

Helpful?
Thank Azalee H
BFDIR, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this review

Dear Azalee H, Many thanks for you review and your kind words about the staff. I will share your comments with the team, they also appreciate good feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Paresh Kinra Hotel Manager More 

Barossa Valley, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

The rooms are very very clean ,with lots off room.The people are very friendly and helpful.Its walking distant to the Adelaide Oval where we went to the Big Bash Cricket for NYE ,and then we went to Elder Park to watch the Fire Works.We would definitely stay here again and for longer.The Rates here are Fantastic,The hotel is located walking... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynda2016
BFDIR, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this review

Dear Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are constantly aiming to perfect the level of service delivered to our guests, and your comments are greatly appreciated. It’s great to read your stay was enjoyable, you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I will share your comments with the team, they... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

This is so disgusting!!! I booked a room for 3 people and while we were checking the facility, we found a pillow with blood on it and the bedsheets didn't look like it's been replaced!!!! The reception couldn't let us change the room and couldn't do the full refund. Nothing! So disappointed. Don't we have the right to get the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chia-Jung L
BFDIR, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this review

Dear Chia-Jung L, As per our discussion this morning we are glad that we were able to meet your expectations with the the new room. Please don’t hesitate to contact myself directly if you have any queries or concerns for the remainder of your stay with us. Kind Regards, Paresh Kinra Hotel Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

I wonder if I am the only person who has been dropped in front of a defunct hotel less than 100 meter away (called Directors Hotel) by a scrupulous cab driver. The fact that I could not reach the number on expedia listing for 15 mins only made it worse. The service from counter staff oscillated between ‘oh that’s brilliant’... More 

Helpful?
Thank Squirreloncrack
BFDIR, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this review

Dear Squirreloncrack, Firstly thank you for taking out the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It disappoints me to read that we were not able to meet your expectation, please be assured that this is not the level of service we deliver. Please don’t hesitate to contact myself directly when your travel plan sees your return to Adelaide and... More 

Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

The room was spacious and everything I needed for a three night stay was available. A nice but not too long walk to the shopping centre was pleasant. There is a very good café not far from the Studios and numerous restaurants a little further on.

Helpful?
Thank james21724
BFDIR, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this review

Dear James 21724, Thank you for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Best Regards, Paresh Kinra Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

We arrived in Adelaide and booked this hotel for a week to get our feet on the ground before finding a permanent place to live, we found somewhere fairly quickly and explained this to the kind and welcoming reception staff and they understood our situation and kindly refunded what we wouldn't be using, i found this gesture particualry good as... More 

Helpful?
Thank TomBlumfield
BFDIR, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this review

Dear TomBlumfield, Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are constantly aiming to perfect the level of service delivered to our guests, and your comments are greatly appreciated. It’s great to read your stay was enjoyable, you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I will share your comments with the team,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#6 of 59 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.5 mi away
BreakFree Adelaide
BreakFree Adelaide
#15 of 59 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel 109
Hostel 109
#13 of 59 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
1.9 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#31 of 59 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Sage Hotel Adelaide
#28 of 59 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay