We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Adelaide hotels

Ambassadors Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 King William St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Ambassadors Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ambassadors Hotel to your Saves list
44%
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Adelaide
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014
Nat F
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    25
    23
    32
See reviews for
17
33
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Well we wanted a central location and right on King William Stree this was perfect for a budget place close to all shopping and night life. We only wanted to hit the sack there before travelling to the cunntry so all goo what we expected and as always in adelaide friendly staff and nice people in the bars and venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ceduna, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Very old, run down establishment. The corridors were long and cold. The lift 100 years old. The aircon/heater was noisy and produced no heat. The only good thing was the shower. There was plenty of hot water!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I'm in two minds about this hotel - Good things: location is excellent, SO central, two blocks from Rundle mall, and it's a lot cheaper than surrounding hotels. The place has a delightful vintage / heritage feel - if you go in not expecting a shiny new modern hotel then you will hopefully appreciate the grungy vintage aspect to it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We held our daughters 21st at the Amba Bar, what a great venue! The retro furnishings and private bar and bathroom facilites were amazing and just what our daughter wanted. Our decorations were kept to a minimum. Plenty of space and seating. The staff were great and Nigel was only too happy to do what ever to make her night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

From the moment we walked in we could tell we were in for a horrible stay. Customer service we recieved combined with a horrible stench spelt a recipe for disaster. We took a rickety old "manual" lift upto level two and needed to walk up several flights of stairs to level 3 with all our luggage. The room was nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Booked for lunch on the balcony. Great position and good wine. Food was slow to be served. Potato skins were great. Vegetarian main course was excellent. Steak was a very bad cut of meat and full of fat and was inedible. I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toowoomba
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

From the moment you walk through the door, the stench of stale cigarette smoke and last nights beer permeates throughout the foyer. The tile are old and cracked, the furniture in dire need of restoration. Then you climb into a rickety old elevator, which actually is quite entertaining.... But the smell, oh the smell, it is overwhelming.... The rooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The good: Location.. Located in the city centre.. Accessible to nearby public transport & shopping areas.. The bad: Where do I start.. The hotel stinks.. One lift that goes up to the 2nd floor but my room's at the 3rd floor, thus had to carry my luggage up.. Room was very small for 3 pax.. Not even enough space to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was unimpressed by the Hotel. We stayed with our two kids and got to our room to find it small with 3 beds (double and 2 singles) squashed in. Dinner that night was poor. Meals were cold and flavourless. And for the price we paid(roughly $25-30 per meal) you would think it would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ambassadors, Owner at Ambassadors Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. The hotel does hold regular private functions on Friday and Saturday nights, however our functions that night ended at midnight ( they never go past 1am), the noise you would have been hearing... More

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was very disappointed with the breakfast at your Hotel on Anzac Day. The service was great and the meal looked very appertising but it was stone cold. Other guests we had a drink with prior to going upstairs for breakfast said they were going elsewhere as last year the meal was cold. I wish I had listened to their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ambassadors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Hotel

Address: 107 King William St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassadors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Hotel Adelaide

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay