We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Heron Island hotels

Heron Island Resort

4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Via Gladstone, Heron Island, Queensland 4000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Heron Island Resort to your Saves list
Heron Island Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heron Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
sueandjim78 Highfields, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (595)
  • Photos (534)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (192)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    219
    87
    35
    38
See reviews for
187
283
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highfields, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went for a Wedding and EVERYTHING about the wedding was wonderful. The buffet breakfast the next morning was everything you would expect, however things went rapidly down from there. As is was raining we has four hours to kill from when we had to vacate our rooms to when we could leave on the boat. Boring. We thought the highlight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have just returned from this Island with my daughter and all I can say is Wow. Everything about it was good. First we were picked up by bus at the airport, which took us to the marina where we checked in and didnt see our case again until it was brought our room. Stepping onto the island we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, and we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday on Heron Island. We do have logistical challenges due our location being 85 kms off shore, and we operate a supply barge weekly from Gladstone. Despite these logistical challenges I can assure you all our pricing is kept to the most reasonable levels possible. Hope to see... More

Creswick, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from 12 wonderful days on Heron Island. Going in winter to escape Victoria's cold weather, the night time minimum was high than our day time is at home just now. The staff are friendly, food is great... the seafood platter at lunchtime was fresh, a little different each day we had it and includes prawns, Moreton bay bugs,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rose and Jeff It was great that you had so long on island, and had a great stay. We all enjoyed meeting you both and we hope you can make it back to escape a few weeks of next years Creswick Winter! Cheers Ross Greenaway Regional General Manager More

Castro Valley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the price, I was expecting a 5 star resort. It's not and at first I was somewhat disappointed. Afterward, it was a lot better. My wife & I tend to be cheap! Our friends that we went with insisted this was the place to go. The not-so-good - it is not particularly fancy, there are more birds than stars... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bill, and thank you for the review. You certainly have captured the essence of the Island and our environment, and we are delighted it suited your needs and despite your initial observations we did meet your expectations. We do in fact make all our own water, power and waste disposal and import all goods weekly on our Barge -... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a brilliant short break on Heron. Just enough to do to be busy but plenty of time to relax. Really enjoyed the spa. All the resort staff were very friendly and helpful. Yoga would be a good addition to the activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jane We are all pleased that you had a good time, and relaxed! Appreciate your positive feedback regarding the Island and our team. Best regards Ross Greenaway Regional General Manager More

Fremantle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oh what sheer luck . I was not long in Australia when the opportunity came up to go to The GREAT Barrier Reef. The place was Heron Island. Young and adventurous at that time I couldn't wait as all I had known was what I'd learned at school in Scotland , A lovely boat trip from rockhampton over the magnificient... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

It's a long way from Scotland and we are delighted that you made the journey, hope you can return again this year too.......... Best regards Ross Greenaway Regional General Manager More

Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A peaceful and beautiful place to hang out and relax. The easiest and best diving one can imagine from shore based accommodation rather than a live aboard. Awesome snorkelling and reef walking. A nice bar and resort but don't go if you are just craving 6 star luxury - it is very comfortable, clean and nice and for my money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate the comments and positive remarks regarding our staff and services. It truly is a special place and its great that you had such positive diving experiences. Trust we'll see you back soon...... Best regards Ross Greenaway Regional General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Island is very beautiful and the resort has the potential to be world beating. The food was great and the available services and activities were good. The accommodation is a little crowded and they could take some tips from some of the better African safari camps that make you feel as though you're really secluded and have complete privacy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Herbie Thank you for taking the time to review us on your return home. We have worked hard on our services and facilities and it is encouraging that we did a good job during your stay.... Cheers Ross Greenaway Regional General Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were excited about our trip to Heron Island and it delivered! Such an amazing place to relax and unwind. Highlights were swimming with reef sharks and sting rays! Yes we were freaked out but it was awesome! Great spot for kids. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Christine We all look forward to welcoming you and the Family back soon! Cheers Ross Greenaway Regional General Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One more thing ticked off the bucket list and so worthwhile. Arriving at the Baillie Bar and being presented with a cool drink then casting your eyes on the view was amazing. I had to remind myself where I was - on a tiny island, on the Barrier and all this great stuff around me - quite amazing. All the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Clare Its is so good to read that the location had such an impact on you, it is so unique yet accessible. I will pass your comments onto our staff as I know they will appreciate that feedback. Jason is sensational, we agree......... I guarantee next visit the coffee will be hot and perfect! Best regards Ross Greenaway Regional... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Heron Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Heron Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron Island Resort

Address: Via Gladstone, Heron Island, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Heron Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heron Island Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Heron Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Island Hotel Heron Island

534 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (500)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (110)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (63)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (218)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heron Island is a true coral cay right on the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef of Australia. Here you swim off the beach to an endless garden of coral. Activities include guided island and reef walks, semi-submersible cruises, bird watching and beach picnics, plus a Kids program. Voyages Heron Island is famous around the world for its scuba diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
109

See which rooms travelers prefer