We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heron Island Resort

4.0 of 5 Via Gladstone, Heron Island, Queensland 4000, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Heron Island Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Heron Island Resort
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    232
    89
    36
    39
See reviews for
214
296
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (644)
  • Mar-May only
    (157)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (178)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (191)
All months
Murwillumbah
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a very relaxing 5 day stay on Heron Island. With perfect weather it is absolutely beautiful and even on less perfect days (wind and the odd scudding rain passing through) it is still a great place to be. Two hours on the boat coming over from Gladstone - can be a bit bumpy, so be prepared for that if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a beautiful resort in a beautiful location. It's a 2 hour boat ride or 30 min seaplane ride away from Gladstone. We came here for the snorkelling experience and it did not disappoint - we've been to Belize and Hawaii but by far this was the best. The grounds are immaculate and there is wildlife everywhere (mostly noddies... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goiania, GO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very amazing experience. Unique place, nice hotel and beautiful beaches. The right place to relax and have fun with a great variety of water experiences. The best place to snorkeling and dive! I'll came back for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The resort is now "good" but not "very good". Our first stay (2006ish?) before they were taken over by Delaware was excellent. Now in 2014, staff appears less well trained, food lower quality and the wine very expensive. Instead of addressing me as "sir" it now is"buddy" or "man". We have been to Heron about 4 times or so over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments and observations, we appreciate the feedback very much. Please accept my personal apologies for generally not meeting your expectations, particularly the way in which you were greeted. It is correct that we have a small Cellar List of wines that do cost $100 and more, although you haven't mentioned our main WIne List that has... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Heron gets a 4 star rating from me based on the amazingly beautiful location. I've dived up and down the East Coast and I've never seen the abundance of Rays as I saw under the jetty on a diving refresher- it took my breath away. I also went on a snorkel trip and whilst the coral isn't the best I've... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

How great is that vast array of marine life so close to shore and so accessible, we agree it is amazing. Your feedback on our Restaurant is appreciated, and I have discussed it in detail with our Food & Beverage group. Since Chef Colin Apatu started with us here at Heron Island in April which coincided with the introduction of... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I went to Heron Island for 4 days in July and the temperature was a very pleasant 21 degrees each day. We left our car and caravan in the lockup at Gladstone near the ferry terminal and this worked well. On arrival we received a warm welcome and were pleases to find that each accommodation unit was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Terrific to read that you, and subsequently your daughters family, had enjoyable stays on Heron Island. The lock up car parking available at Gladstone Marina really is a good and secure facility for people on self drive holidays and taking a detour over to the Island, I'm glad you mentioned it. Hope to see you back soon........ Cheers Ross Greenaway... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is second to none - walk off the beach straight into the reef - priceless. The fauna - outstanding and mesmerising. The Marine Centre is also fantastic, and the Marine Centre's staff is top notch, even though they tend to be a tad young - to their credit, they make up with confidence and enthusiasm for their age. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we are happy to hear your family enjoyed the Island and all it has to offer. Our team are generally young and their enthusiasm and interest in the island usually shines through, it is disappointing that we did not show that to you on this occasion. Hopefully you will return and we can prove... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Complaints about this place are unfounded. It has massively improved in the last few years under new management. Great food - menu is limited, but EVERYTHING has to be brought in by boat, and all waste, etc shipped out - this is a marine reserve! The chefs do a great job, we loved the food, the accommodation (beach side suites)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Phil, and thank you for the review. It certainly is a logistical challenge daily to run a destination out to sea with no natural resources, and at the same time meet a raft of strict environmental requirements and regulations - your comprehension of these is appreciated. We are only successful because of our wonderful team that work on-island -... More

Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our second visit to Heron Island was once again a great relaxing experience well away from the hustle and bustle of city life and work annoyances. It is a small coral cay 72 km off the coast of Gladstone in Queensland, surrounded by a fringing reef which is an excellent spot for snorkeling and diving. The available activities are all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi John Appreciate the review, thank you and we are delighted you both had such an enjoyable second visit. In November we will be introducing Stand Up Paddle Boards and some amazing new 100% transparent Perspex 2 seater Kayaks - both still in keeping with our environment but will allow people greater scope to explore the Reef....... Cheers Ross Greenaway... More

Baku, Azerbaijan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Heron Island is an amazing place. My husband and I visited in November 2013, he proposed to me on the beach on the morning of the 7th. We were completely alone apart from the odd gull and noddy tern, even though it is a small Island it does not feel at all crowded. The turtles were laying at night and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rassinda and thank you for the positive review. It's great to read that you have now braved the ocean.........come back for the Dive Course! Cheers Ross Greenaway Regional General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Heron Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron Island Resort

Address: Via Gladstone, Heron Island, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Heron Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heron Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heron Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Island Hotel Heron Island

571 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (537)
Viewed
Room/suite (64)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (112)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (250)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay