We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beach House Motel

66 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beach House Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Beach House Motel
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

A very good stay at this motel that is being fully refurbished. Our room had been recently refurbished so was clean, neat and nice. Good airconditioning to beat the tropical heat and easy access to out car. 2 minutes walk to the many eateries,pubs on the Strand. It was a good stay and compliments to Theresa the manager who was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

the best location; close to everything you want to do in Townsville. Loved crisp white sheets and black bed throws .. looked great. Very clean and everything there in a basic motel room. Hosts very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Great value. Very welcoming and helpful. Thanks Theresa. We will be back in a fortnight. Have stayed previously as it such a beautiful and convenient location. Nothing like a stroll along the Strand to start the day. Go the COWBOYS Value ++ Thanks again Merv & Carmel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Terrie could not have been more helpful at the time of booking. We were trying to coincide our stay withy a trip in the area and had to move the date of arrival several times-this was no problem and we were not made to feel like we were causing a fuss. When we arrived Terrie was seeing to another customer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tully, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

this is a very clean place, beds are comfortable, bathroom was clean and well supplied, only problem is the entry to the shower is very narrow and as it is a solid wall, you cant do anything about it. the T.V aerial plug was broken, therefore it was hard to get good channels. there are 23 parking spots for 26... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Port Douglas, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Beach House Motel on the Strand at Townsville is an old but clean motel in a wonderful location. We have stayed, mostly just overnight, several times over a more than twenty year period and favour it for it's convenience and value

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Middlemount, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Although location was great the rooms were a little disappointing. We had asked for 3 beds, a double and two singles but arrived to find only 2 beds. Power points were in poor supply with only one in the sleeping area and one in the bathroom. They advertised 'Pay TV' but in actual fact if you weren't a sports fan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theresa W, Owner at The Beach House Motel, responded to this review

In acknowledging Nicole’s review I am compelled to highlight that: a) Nicole had booked and paid through Booking.com for three people in a standard twin room (Queen and a Single bed) at a special rate of $135.00. b) When Nicole arrived she was given a queen and a double bed. c) So there does not appear to be an abundance... More 

Cairns, Qld
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We chose to stay at The Beach House Motel because of the location and it really is an EXCELLENT location. However, the room was a lot more "basic" than we're used to in terms of style and I suppose that it a real point of difference between a hotel and a motel. But the little things in the room were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Good choice for a quick overnight stay, friendly phone call day before to check up and make sure arrangements for collecting key were in place :-) Simple, great location for early morning run, rooms clean and tidy and priced well. Will stay again on business trips where I just need convenience, location, friendly service at a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great location on the Strand and close to lots of restaurants and the water. Room was quite basic and fairly clean - I had to move the tray with the cups on it and there was a heap of sugar underneath. Not a room you'd want to spend too much time in but good if you want somewhere to sleep

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question