We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Townsville accommodations

Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation

Save
You added Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation to your Saves list
4 Wickham St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Hotel amenities
Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsville
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    29
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
21
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great facilities, great for chilling out. However, during our stay it was really quiet, not many people around. Had left my backpack in the room just because we knew girls in the room and when it was time to leave I had been treated at a naughty school child for leaving my bag as we apparently 'got told when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Mia, thank you for taking the time to get onto TripAdvisor and yes we do specifically ask people not to store bags in rooms as we do have an area for people to leave their bags, which is over looked by a security camera. We also offer lockers in the front reception area for people who feel they would... More 

England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a night either side of going to Magnetic Island and found it to be pretty good. Not the warmest of people running the place but give you all the info you need. To be honest the review written by Matt C on the 6th February sums up the place spot on so take a read of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to leave comment on the hostel. Glad you enjoyed your stay and have a great stay in Australia. All the best Dean Reef Lodge Townsville. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the nicest hostels I have stayed in whilst travelling on the East Coast. The rooms were spacious and very clean, and there were nice sofas in covered areas outside. The kitchen was also much cleaner than most of the traveller hostels around! The location is also perfect, being close to the ferry terminal and close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Beck, Thank you for the great vote of confidence and you great review. We love to hear when we are getting things right. Yes the city is quiet on a Monday if you are looking to go out. Day of rest :-D Happy you enjoyed your self here and have a great time traveling Australia. All the best Dean... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hey there, I was staying for one night at first and extended to 3 nights, just cause I had a very relaxed time. The hostel is so much better than all those YHA places I have stayed at so far. And even Townsville to me was a great spot to stay at, just cause so many backpackers skip it. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Tom, it is always nice to receive a review from such positive people. So happy you enjoyed your time in Townsville and that you found the time to stay a little longer. Have a great holiday in Australia and all the best in your travels. Dean Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville More 

UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We liked having a fridge and kettle in our room, but the place almost felt like a motel for pedestrians, with people walking past the window. We never used the kitchen, but it seemed big enough with lot of equipment. Laundry is about $10 if you want to use the dryer. The big thing we didn't like was the bsthrooms,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. Not sure what to say about some of your comments. Did you know this was a backpackers hostel and not a motel? There are 2 single private shower cubicles in each bathroom. Happy you liked the kitchen, kettle and fridge. Anyway, thanks again, hope you both enjoy the rest of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only stayed the one night before heading over to Magnetic Island. The room was OK, nice to have a fridge in the room and AC too. Kitchen was big and spacious, places to eat outside and hammocks etc. Location is god, 10 min walk to ferry terminal/Greyhound bus stop, and close to the high street. We didn't have a problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Matt, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback your experience staying here. Generally I don’t make big responses to reviews but I feel you have made points I should address. Our biggest concerns are to ensure everyone has a safe and relaxing stay. In the past people have thought they were above the comfort... More 

Butler, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bathrooms, in my opinion, are the downfall of most hostels. This hostel did not fit that category though, so I was quite pleased. They have a soap dispenser in the shower and most of the bathrooms are individual/self-contained units and had plenty of hooks (which are often lacking in other facilities), which I always appreciate. The only thing I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for an in depth review on why you liked the place. It is always nice to hear what we are doing right. It is always interesting to hear what people find important and the general positive feedback we get from people such as yourself. This is always nice, as it makes a very pleasant change from the negative... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel is clean, cheap and very central (between Ferry+coach terminal and the CBD) Also, there are many hammocks to relax. The owners are very friendly and well organized. I recommend to stay in a dorm with aircon as it gets very hot outside during the day and it doesn't really cool down at night (at least in January).

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a nice review on the Reef Lodge Backpackers here in Townsville. Yes this is a very hot time of the year with December January and February are generally our hottest months. So happy you enjoyed your stay in Townsville and hope the rest of your trip goes well. All the best Dean More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

This hostel's rooms and facilities are faultless really, as is its location. My only problem was checking in and having to wait two hours (at normal check-in time- 2pm- also). They give you a number but the sign said we they wouldn't be back until 3pm so we waited anyway. It was almost four when the lady arrived, and she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you Frank for taking the time to leave your comment. We always appreciate feedback. Sadly as owner / operators we do on occasion have to leave the office unattended. e.g. (go to the doctor) sadly sometimes these appointments go over there time. The reason we ask for arrival times is to try and ensure we are at the office... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015 via mobile

You can't miss this place with its huge reef painting. Staff were average, not particularly welcoming. Room nice, TV, fridge and wardrobe. Kitchen large and clean. There's around 3 different living areas which is nice. Toilets clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

From Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Sorry that we were a bit average with our staff rating. 12 hour shift can do that to you :-D Glade you enjoyed the Reef murals and the amenities were nice and clean. Have a great holiday in Australia. all the best :o) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation

Address: 4 Wickham St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Number of rooms: 27

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay