We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Townsville accommodations

Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation

Save
You added Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation to your Saves list
4 Wickham St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Hotel amenities
Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsville
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
18
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel's rooms and facilities are faultless really, as is its location. My only problem was checking in and having to wait two hours (at normal check-in time- 2pm- also). They give you a number but the sign said we they wouldn't be back until 3pm so we waited anyway. It was almost four when the lady arrived, and she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You can't miss this place with its huge reef painting. Staff were average, not particularly welcoming. Room nice, TV, fridge and wardrobe. Kitchen large and clean. There's around 3 different living areas which is nice. Toilets clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

From Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Sorry that we were a bit average with our staff rating. 12 hour shift can do that to you :-D Glade you enjoyed the Reef murals and the amenities were nice and clean. Have a great holiday in Australia. all the best :o) More 

Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there for two nights in a double room. We paid 62$ per night and it was absolutely worth it. We had aircondition, a fridge and a tv in the room and it was all clean. It's not far from the port to magnetic island, that is very good if you are planning to do a day trip there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you Nivispluma for taking the time to write a review for the Reef Lodge Backpackers in Townsville. Thank you for the nice words and feedback as well as the hi 5 rating. Hope you have great trip. All the best Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a perfect hostel. Nice chilled out layout. Rooms all tidy n air con saving you from melting at night.(make sure you get a room with air con) a perfect common area to either chill solo or meet other travellers. And a firm but fair host dean made this one a must for anyone visiting townsville :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Matt and thank-you for taking the time to leave a review and the great score. Happy that you enjoyed your time here. All the best on your travels from Reef Lodge backpackers Townsville More 

geroge4982
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for one night before departing for Magnetic Island and there is not one thing I can fault. Dean the owner was absolutely lovely and so helpful and knowledgable about the area and finding what we could do around town. The hostel itself is in a great location and centrally located to all the restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi George4982 for the great reveiw and for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback. Hope you enjoyed Townsville and Magnetic Island and enjoy the rest of your holiday in Australia. All the best from The Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

If you plan on staying or visiting Magnetic Island and time allows I definitely recommend staying at Reef Lodge in Townsville. It is in my opinion one of the best backpackers between Sydney and Townsville because of things like: location (walking distance to Sea Link Ferry and bus terminal) as well as supermarkets and The Strand; low noise level; the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Emma B. Thank you for the very comprehensive review. Could not have done better myself. Happy to read you enjoyed your stay in Townsville. All the best from Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville More 

Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We stayed at reef lodge for 2 nights, the backpackers is cleaned and well maintained they offer a pool table, really cool TV area and a gym, they have great facilities and a beautiful atmosphere. The owner was incredibly nice and very helpful and the rooms were perfect. Thanks for a great stay in Townsville and I would recommend to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Samantha happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review us. all the best from Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

Great hostel, rooms and bathrooms where clean. Staff helped me out more than once with room when another hostel in magnetic island messed up my booking. Kitchen very well equipped & doesn't require deposits etc which I find very helpful. Close to the bus station, bars/resturants and a short walk to the beach. Would recommend this hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you Kimce for taking the time to leave us feedback on TripAdvisor. Hope the rest of your holiday went well and you enjoyed your time in Australia. All the best From Reef Lodge backpackers Townsville More 

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

A very nice and well looked after hostel in the center of town, the staff are very knowledgeable and helped us find our way. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable, I would highly recommend if your staying in Townsville.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Harry G. Happy to see you enjoyed your stay while you were here and your high recommendation for staying here. All the best from Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville More 

Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Hostel was unique with Asian vibe and great value for money. Location is excellent, near bus stop and shops. Customer service would have been better and it's a bit weird that you have to like them on Facebook before you can use the wifi. Although, hostel is good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Veeve, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Glade you liked the place. A simple like on Facebook makes for Free and unlimited WiFi. I would have thought good value for money. Happy you found it good value for maney. All the best from Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Lodge Budget Accommodation

Address: 4 Wickham St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Number of rooms: 27

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay