We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reef Lodge Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
4 Wickham St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT
Reef Lodge Backpackers

112 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    30
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
27
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the reef lodge for two and a half weeks and loved it. When I arrived Samone was helpful and friendly at check-in - even though she had to explain to the person in front of me three times that they had to give a key deposit. My room was comfortable and clean, although it has to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night when we stopped over in Townsville and it was one of the worst nights sleep I've ever got. Arriving at 1am, I took the last bed in a 6 bed dorm which was made up and didnt have any things on. At 5am I got rudely awoken by someone telling me it was their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Chloe for taking the time to leave a review, sadly this review seems to be based on your unfortunate experience rather than our hostel. Not to mention some of your statements are not true. Firstly I did not say that people would “OFTEN” sneak into rooms, I said on "OCCASION" this would happen. Backpackers would lock themselves out... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here just for one night as a stop over to Magnetic Island. It was exactly what we needed. Comfy rooms, clean bathroom and a clean we equipped kitchen. Free WiFi was great and the communal area was nice. There wasn't much atmosphere but as we were only staying one night that didn't bother us. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Kristin, It is always nice to get some nice positive feedback from people so thank you for taking time to leave feedback about the Reef Lodge, We hope that you found everything to your liking. Hope your trip to Magnetic Island was pleasant and your holiday in Australia goes well. all the best Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Clean, staff were ok, fairly helpful. Free Wifi Nice communal areas Good location, next to the beach. Fans & Air Con, comfortable sleep. Townsville isn't up to much but a fine place to stopover while passing through or towards Magnetic Island (don't go to Molly's restaurant over the road)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Reef Lodge is a great place to stay in Townsville. It is: • Clean • Safe • Well managed • Centrally located. It is a pleasant 5 minutes walk to the combined bus terminal/Magnetic Island ferry terminal and city centre dining area. It is about two minutes walk to the beautiful Strand beach walkway. It also gives access to walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Reef Lodge is clean,convenient and well run .However while we were there the owner became quite officious and continued to argue with some English backpackers over having a quiet friendly drink with us after the designated time to go to bed!!!!! His attitude left me feeling uncomfortable and as we were all older people .....it was unnecessary officialdom . The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

I don't mind a hostel if it is poor due to its facilities or rooms or environment, however when the staff make a staff horrible I cannot tolerate it. From the "Welcome" at the front door to the "everything is a hassle" attitude throughout our stay. We were greeted by the lady at the front desk which had the worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Connor, So sorry to hear about your experience with your stay 5 months ago, although a little embellished. We are small family owned hostel and try our best to cater to our clients. The reason we get an E.T.A. is so we can take a lunch break that best fits arrival times. As you stated a 1pm arrival we... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

The best hostel I've been too yet! Air con works like a dream, room and kitchen is always clean, the movie area at the back is ideal but could do with more seats, good pool table. It's in a decent spot as well 5 minute walk to the high street/Coles and 2 minutes from the beach. They help everyone by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and sorry if some things seemed a little strict. Our aim is to keep a quiet, homely environment for people to relax and enjoy the place, hence we have the rules about no excessive noise and alcohol after 10-30pm. Hope the rest of your holiday goes well and have a great time in Australia. All... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

This backpackers was truly the best backpackers I've ever stayed in - i should have written this review a long time ago... I will be visiting this hostel again it was Very clean very comfortable Great Decor and its clear the owners have put a lot of time money and effort into the place. Its well looked after well maintained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Hayley happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Reef Lodge budget accommodation in Townsville. Its always nice to hear from people and getting positive feed back for all our efforts. Hope the rest of your trip went well. all the best from Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Great hostel, Staff are really friendly, clean rooms and beds, large kitchen and a cool tv area. Good location as its close to the ferry port for magnetic island. I would definitely recommend staying at this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Emily for going to trouble of leaving your thoughts on the Reef Lodge Backpackers here in Townsville. It is always nice to here about the things you are doing right and that people have enjoyed their stay. All the best for the rest of your travels. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities