We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reef Lodge Backpackers

4 Wickham St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Reef Lodge Backpackers
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    29
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
25
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reef Lodge is clean,convenient and well run .However while we were there the owner became quite officious and continued to argue with some English backpackers over having a quiet friendly drink with us after the designated time to go to bed!!!!! His attitude left me feeling uncomfortable and as we were all older people .....it was unnecessary officialdom . The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't mind a hostel if it is poor due to its facilities or rooms or environment, however when the staff make a staff horrible I cannot tolerate it. From the "Welcome" at the front door to the "everything is a hassle" attitude throughout our stay. We were greeted by the lady at the front desk which had the worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Connor, So sorry to hear about your experience with your stay 5 months ago, although a little embellished. We are small family owned hostel and try our best to cater to our clients. The reason we get an E.T.A. is so we can take a lunch break that best fits arrival times. As you stated a 1pm arrival we... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best hostel I've been too yet! Air con works like a dream, room and kitchen is always clean, the movie area at the back is ideal but could do with more seats, good pool table. It's in a decent spot as well 5 minute walk to the high street/Coles and 2 minutes from the beach. They help everyone by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and sorry if some things seemed a little strict. Our aim is to keep a quiet, homely environment for people to relax and enjoy the place, hence we have the rules about no excessive noise and alcohol after 10-30pm. Hope the rest of your holiday goes well and have a great time in Australia. All... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This backpackers was truly the best backpackers I've ever stayed in - i should have written this review a long time ago... I will be visiting this hostel again it was Very clean very comfortable Great Decor and its clear the owners have put a lot of time money and effort into the place. Its well looked after well maintained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Hayley happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Reef Lodge budget accommodation in Townsville. Its always nice to hear from people and getting positive feed back for all our efforts. Hope the rest of your trip went well. all the best from Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hostel, Staff are really friendly, clean rooms and beds, large kitchen and a cool tv area. Good location as its close to the ferry port for magnetic island. I would definitely recommend staying at this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Emily for going to trouble of leaving your thoughts on the Reef Lodge Backpackers here in Townsville. It is always nice to here about the things you are doing right and that people have enjoyed their stay. All the best for the rest of your travels. More 

Nelly Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

What's very nice about this hostel is that once you enter to the inside courtyard it's an outdoor oasis. Rooms all open to the outdoors where there are interesting places to sit on different levels. Stayed in a Dbl room, with air-con, TV & fridge. Shared bathrooms are conveniently located close to the rooms. They are kept very clean. Kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you fore taking the time to leave your feedback about the Reef Lodge Backpackers in Townsville. It is always nice to hear when you are getting it right and that people do appreciate what we are doing. So happy you enjoyed your stay thanks again and all the best. More 

Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We booked a double room at this hostel, with A/C and a own fridge. Good and clean kitchen with a normal oven. This is very unique for hostels in Australia. Also a small fitness room and reading room with alot of trafel information. Including free wifi and good laundry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Matsoe, Thank you for taking the time to leave a nice review hope the rest of your time in Australia goes well and have great holiday. All the best Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville P.S. Didn't know that good ovens were so scarce in Australian hostels. More 

Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

The whole time I stayed here, it was very clean and the rooms were spotless! The owner was very helpful and polite and easy to talk to. The layout of the hostel was great, and there was plenty of space to chill and easy to make new friends! Good location at a good price. Recommend it to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Abbey, thank you for the lovely review. Hope the rest of your travels all go well and you enjoy your holiday. All the best Reef Lodge Backpackers Townsville More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Great facilities, great for chilling out. However, during our stay it was really quiet, not many people around. Had left my backpack in the room just because we knew girls in the room and when it was time to leave I had been treated at a naughty school child for leaving my bag as we apparently 'got told when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Mia, thank you for taking the time to get onto TripAdvisor and yes we do specifically ask people not to store bags in rooms as we do have an area for people to leave their bags, which is over looked by a security camera. We also offer lockers in the front reception area for people who feel they would... More 

England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for a night either side of going to Magnetic Island and found it to be pretty good. Not the warmest of people running the place but give you all the info you need. To be honest the review written by Matt C on the 6th February sums up the place spot on so take a read of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeanNixonHarding, Owner at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to leave comment on the hostel. Glad you enjoyed your stay and have a great stay in Australia. All the best Dean Reef Lodge Townsville. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question