We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks Gateway on Palmer

Certificate of Excellence
2 Dibbs Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    117
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
48
75
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our stay was fabulous. The room was perfect and would definitely stay again. Perfect location right on Palmer Street nesr all the restaurants and a short stroll to the nightclubs. Staff were friendly and helpful. Everything you want and need for a great holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

■Room was clean and tidy. ■The room was located in the centre of the hotel - so there was no natural light. ■Location was good, close to meetings I had to attend. ■Breakfast buffet had a good selection.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review

Hi Lindsay, I’m delighted to hear you found our hotel clean, tidy and so well suited to your requirements. We are fortunate to have a couple of great breakfast options within a short walk offering both buffet's and al a cart menu options. I was surprised to hear that you found our rooms lacked natural light, given all of our... More 

Leigh Creek, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a 1 bedroom apartment for a recent overnight stay in Townsville at the Oaks. Accommodation was clean, tidy and modern with all facilities in good shape. View of the river and balcony overlooking the pool.close to the city and dining options all within walking distance. Well priced and positioned, we'll be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review

Hi Matthew, I am so glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. The team always appreciate both positive and constructive feedback. Our spacious one bedroom apartments and location certainly are one of our best benefits. See you next time you are in Townsville! More 

Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good business hotel in good location. One disappointment: when asked to pay $150 security deposit on my credit card, I asked if it would be cancelled on check-out. I was told it would take the bank 3-5 working days for the bank to release the funds. I explained that normally hotels just cancel the payment on check-out. I was told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review

Hi, I’m delighted to hear you liked our hotel and it’s great location. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with how our team has responded to your queries regarding the pre-authorisation. We endeavour to get this returned to you as promptly as possible, and when you raised the issue the staff member you spoke to should have... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Central location, with free parking. The apartments are spacious and comfortable. Appointed with everything I need for my three night stay. The onsite gym is good, the view overlooking the pool was awesome, but it would have been nice to have some sounds in the Gym either music or a TV. Enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review

Hi, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our property is certainly very popular with business and leisure travellers alike. Our gym gives business travellers the basics they need to be able to continue their routine while they are on the road. Next time you come, please don't hesitate to bring your ipod to... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great apartments; plenty of space and modern clean facilities. Very close to great restaurants. Really close to the heart of the mall and not too far from the Strand. We never stay anywhere else in Townsville. The apartments are fully self contained.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review

Hi, I’m delighted you choose to stay with us whenever you visit Townsville and thank you for posting a review highlighting some of our great benefits. We certainly think our location is second to none in Townsville and our spacious fully self-contained apartments offer our guests exceptional convenience. We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next... More 

Nerang Qld Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On my second visit to the Oaks Gateway not much had changed, although I think the room was a little better than the last one. Certainly the location is great; above the restaurants on Palmer street and very close to the city and night life. The Oaks is quite a nice hotel with really nothing to complain about. If I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review

Hi Steve and Tania, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. I’m delighted you were happy with your room and liked the location. We are certainly fortunate that the standard of restaurants around us is exceptional, and seems to be getting better all the time. And the fact they are all within a few seconds walk avoids... More 

Ayr
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely looking hotel with a stunning pool and beautiful rooms. But our room on the Palmer St side of the building was directly over the large airconditioning motors, and despite being on the 7th floor, the continuous noise was loud enough to distract from our enjoyment of the balcony. Also, the fold out lounge was VERY uncomfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear your stay was not as good as it could have been and that you slept poorly. Had you contacted reception, we would have been happy to provide additional pillows for you to ensure you enjoyed your stay. We are also currently putting together a replacement plan to ensure all of the sofa beds are replaced... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night on business and the room was clean and well equipped , although it was looking "tired" in places. On arrival , I was informed that due to space, I had been placed in a two bedroom apartment as opposed to the one bedroom unit I had booked but a note on the kitchen bench-top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review

Hi Alan, I am glad we were able to meet your request of a room away from the lifts. Every effort is made to ensure we meet as many guest requests as possible. We are continually conducting maintenance in our rooms, particularly now that they are a little bit older to ensure we keep them as fresh and tidy as... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my pick of Townsville accommodation on Palmer St having stayed, in the past few months, here as well as Quest and the Grand Hotel. The room was large, clean and not stuffy and opened onto a fairly large balcony - unfortunately I was on the second floor and facing Palmer St so no view to speak of but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksGateway, Manager at Oaks Gateway on Palmer, responded to this review

Hi Shannon, I'm delighted to hear we are your preffered accommodation provider in Townsville! The size of our apartments are one of the many great advantages of our rooms. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy our pillows. We do replace these on a regular basis to ensure they are in excellent condition however as you say, personal... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities