We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aquarius Backpackers

2.0 of 5 44 Queen Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Aquarius Backpackers
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    46
    16
    16
    15
See reviews for
2
14
50
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Aquarius for 5 nights just last week. We were extremely impressed with the cleanliness of the place, as well as the friendliness of the staff. We paid a little bit extra to have our own room which was definitely worth it! Only downfall was being quite a way out of the main part of surfers, as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of January 2015 and loved it. The only real downside was how far away from Surfers Paradise main beach it actually is. They do run free shuttles throughout the day, but unfortunately the last one leaves Surfers at 6pm. The hostel is SO clean and the bathroom was amazing! I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are extremely please that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to wish you all the very best on your future travels Thanks Aquarius More 

Canberra
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Their wifi signal was very weak and it didn't work at all. Be careful about your bed in summers if you go there! There was a big fan right over my head over the bed they gave me which was working all along the night I stayed there. The staff are friendly, but i won't recommend there to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate your comments as ig gives us the opportunity to better our facilities and our service. Thanks Aquarius More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The whole stay I felt at home, everyone was extremely efficient and welcoming. The staff clearly is one of the highlights of the hostel as well as the cleanliness. I definitely recommend this hotel, the

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Sofia Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that the staff are one of the highlights. We would like to wish you all the best in your future travels. Thanks from all the staff at Aquarius More 

Poynton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in December, and my poor experience started as soon as I was collected from the bus depot, where the member of staff driving started telling me during the journey what a nightmare it was working there and how he could not wait to leave ASAP - not exactly filling me with confidence! When I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Aquarius. We appreciate the comments as it gives us the opportunity to better our facilities and our services. Unfortunately at the time you stayed we were having a changeover in staff and it seems that it... More 

Southport, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I never write reviews but this place was so much fun, is so clean -- one of the cleanest backpackers I've been to in Australia, and their events each night were fun and everyone hangs out and plays pool or listens to music or watches movies together and uses the pool and hottub, I just wanted to write a review... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Kiki Thanks for taking the time you leave us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Aquarius, It must have something to do with the awesome staff. We wish you all the best on your future travels More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

This place is like staying in a hotel!! everywhere is clean there is comfy beds clean showers and the rooms great. For anyone staying on the gold coast you can't choose a better place with so many movie selections and easy access to trams and buses and surfers is 3 stops away this place is ideal

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with and would like to wish you all the best on your future travels. Thanks Aquarius More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Staff are very friendly and helpful. A little on the more expensive side for backpackers to what I'm used to back home but is decent for the area. Only problem is rooms are really hot in the summer and no air con in the rooms. All in all great place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us you feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and appreciate the feedback as it gives us the opportunity t work on things that you didn't quite like. The team at Aquarius would like to wish you all the best in your future travels More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in January for 2 nights. Location was a bit too far out from the centre however was right next to a shopping centre with a supermarket, and a team station for way access to town and the beach. The hostel staff were very friendly and got given a tour when arrived, and my bag was even carried to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are pleased that there were some aspects that you enjoyed about the hostel and appreciate the feedback on the things that were not so great as it gives us the opportunity to better our facilities. The temperature and air flow in the rooms is definitely something we are... More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

-It's close to tram station (southport south Stn) and shopping centre (Australia Fair) just few minutes walking to reach. They provide free shuttle service between hostel to Surfers Paradise,Greyhound/Premier coach as well. -It's a tidy,clean place, full-set facilities of kitchen, comfortable sofa in the TV room with big screen TV, swimming pool... -The receptionists were lovely and help us a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad to hear that the staff were very helpful as this has been something that we have been focusing on. We would like to wish you all the best on your future travels. Thanks Aquarius More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aquarius Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers

Address: 44 Queen Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay