We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aquarius Backpackers

Hotel website
44 Queen Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aquarius Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Aveiro
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Reception staff was nice, but the hostel it's not that good. My 6 bed room was small and extremely hot during the night, having some fans around isn't enough. The bed was comfortable. It was quiet, and overall atmosphere was quite boring. Wifi was crap.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nexp
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The toilets are shared for all. Only 1 male and 1 female toilets available. So it takes sometimes to get to shower or toilet. Others than that, it's okay for budget accommodation. Suggest everyone to get up 1-2 hours earlier than your planned schedule.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sanleri
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This would not have occurred if the staff member had been trained to recognise online prior payments. My daughter had to call me from Qld to pay again. Very embarrassing. Really watch online pre payments and check your accounts. Having said this the manager was helpful.

Helpful?
Thank qwertyu7865
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I again apologise about the mistake that we made and did everything to make sure this was rectified promptly. Whilst I had sorted this on my end the following day unfortunately I think we all know that banks don't work on normal people time and I am sorry... More 

Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Good Things ・near by Trum Station Bad Things ・room is too bad. too small:I can't pack my lagguage. ・there is no aircon.Summer season is too hot. ・Stuff is not kind.but japanes guy is soso.High-handed attitude of the manager of women.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ayumi_739494
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and appreciate the input you have left us. I do apologise if you believe that I was being heavy handed however xmas day is the only day that the hostel is closed so that the... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Clean and comfortable stay.. Daily offers like club crawl etc. are must to avail to enjoy Gold Coast fun spirit. Courteous staff, great facilities to cook, washing laundry and barbecue. Internal bar and pool facility was additional pleasure

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank koshis436
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so please that you enjoyed your stay with us and from all the staff at Aquarius we would like to wish you happy travels. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

I stayed at Aquarius for 14 days in the christmas season 2015. It was really nice and I got to know new people every day. People are very nice and easy to talk to. You'll be talking to the staff all day since they're all living there just like you. People arrange to go to the beach and stuff like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stefan M
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Stefan Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback we appreciate it and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. From all the staff at Aquarius we would like to wish you Happy Travels More 

Saarbrucken, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

We really liked our stay here. The rooms are really nice and clean. It's Not the cold feeling of a dorm. We stayed at a 4-bed dorm. And in the rooms Are also she shelves to put your stuff on. The only thing I didn't like that there was just One toilet And two showers on the whole level. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny0890
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and from all the staff at Aquarius we would like to wish you Happy Travels More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

-1 for the long registrations during check ins +4 good facilities. We were three person and we booked the 8 persons room. They were out of space so they upgraded us to a 4 person rooms for free ! Grateful for that.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WilsonSim91
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also apologise for the long check in. We have been using a new check in procedure and were still working out the kinks. From all the staff at Aquarius we would like to wish you all Happy Travels More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

I had a pretty negative experience with this place, which is surprising as I just needed somewhere to sleep for a couple of nights and had no expectations. Unfortunately my negative experience started before I even arrived; I received an email demanding that I get to the hostel before 6pm as staff would be leaving at this time to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank cruels10
Uki
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

Good service need someone on desk all the time waited ages to check out rang bell 4 times. Bathroom was also smelly smelt like off milk. Beds were good. They suited my need of having to check in early in the morning due to work

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lindsey504
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Lyndsey Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. My apologies for the delay in checking out. We do have a doorbell but sometimes it doesn't connect and I was out the back cleaning the pool. I assure you that if I had heard it I would not have left you waiting. I'm not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Aqua Street, Southport
2.2 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#48 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#37 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
3.1 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#31 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#49 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay