We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 90 Surfers Paradise accommodations

Aquarius Backpackers

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   44 Queen Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aquarius Backpackers to your Saves list
Aquarius Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
63%
A recent review
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    7
    12
    14
See reviews for
1
11
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Awesome hostel. Great staff. Great facilities. Staff run fun games and activities at night! All you can eat pizza was amazing! All rooms and bathrooms were incredibly clean. Clean beautiful pool and sun. Would defiantly stay again and recommend to everyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gympie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hi, the staff were very friendly, the building was well placed and clean. lack of parking. The building has a lot of fire-doors which hamper any fresh air movement, the only air movement was a small fan which was was not worth anything. I had the worst night in a lot of years. It would be a great place to... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I ve allready wrote a review on this famous place. If you ask me again, it means you didn t noticed that of maybe it was removed. Anyway, till now, I have a very bad souvenir of that place where I spent 4 nights last January. Most of all because I ve been overcharged 50 AUD a night for a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it. Staff are lovely, really friendly and actually interact with the guests which is something other hostels lack. Free wifi and tons of movies to choose from which is obviously a bonus. They have free transfers to and from the transit centre if you need to catch a bus/are being dropped off... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at Aquarius for 3 nights and really enjoyed it! The hostel is really clean, they've got their own bar, pool table, great kitchen, 500 films to choose from and FREE WiFi - which is near impossible to find in Australia! Yeah the location isn't the best but they offer a free shuttle bus service to Surfers Paradise frequently... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Average rooms, average staff, average facilities. The only thing that wasn't average was the location. Granted I may not have tried hard enough, but surfers paradise was very far away from the hostel, never actually made it to the beach. The room was very small and cramped but had fans (only for the top bunkers though) which I loved. Disappointed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nateaquarius, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Megan, Thanks for your review - Here at Aquarius Backpackers we do take your feedback seriously. I am sorry to here that you did not have an awesome time with us like fellow travellers. We offer a FREE shuttle bus 7 times a day to Surfers. I am bit concerned on the point you made of the staff not... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The staff are friendly, the place is clean, the location is convenient and it is well equipped: washing machines, dryers, kitchen. Lots of activities to do: darts night, quiz night, big night out. I would definitely stay here again if I needed to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nateaquarius, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ivan, Thanks you so much for the awesome feedback! We do tried to offer loads of things to do at the hostel! Even if they are FREE or at a small cost! We are all about the traveller. Big Night is definitely the popular nights of the week (Wednesday and Saturdays). Make sure you head to the facebook page... More

Hull, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The room was nice and clean with shelf space, which made things easier with a backpack. The only thing was no air con in the rooms, which was quite uncomfortable. Though there were fans in the room which made it a little better. Free WiFi!!! The location is not great, but it didn't spoil the stay, as there is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nateaquarius, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Holly, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Feedback is very important to us at Aquarius Backpackers. This what we use to make a bigger and better hostel. We are currently looking at installing air con in rooms at the moment but this comes at a very very high cost. Hopefully in the near future this will happen. Once... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Aquarius, the staff well very friendly and always happy to help. The kitchen was also really big and clean and the lounge was good for relaxing. It was a bit quieter as the hostel was further out of town but we quite liked this as we heard that staying in actual Surfers Paradise was... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
nateaquarius, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time and leaving us feedback - we are Glad you enjoyed your stay at Aquarius Backpackers - We also LOVE our big new kitchen as well!! We understand how important it is to have a fully stocked kitchen. The Free shuttle bus is all part of the service! We really hope to see you... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Their service is fantastic!!!! The location is not good,but we could take free buses to surfers paradise;)) I like clean rooms and bathroom ,Thank you very much;)) I had very good time and good trip!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
nateaquarius, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing us a review - We are very glad you had a great time at Aquarius and on the Gold Coast - We look forward to seeing you back one day! :) More

Been to Aquarius Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers

Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Address: 44 Queen Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 90 Specialty lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Backpackers 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf, sand, nature, adventure, shopping, nightlife, theme parks, FUN... it's here and waiting for you!Aquarius Backpackers is a BaseMates hostel located in Southport Surfers Paradise is a lovely boutique hostel that caters for all those who share a love of travel. Situated on the famous Gold Coast, we offer a very friendly home away from home experience. Here you will find clean, modern, safe and friendly accommodation. We are closely situated to all your needs - shopping centres - banks - post offices - pubs, and above all, our world-famous beaches and lush green Hinterland.We offer dormitory style accommodation with either 4 or 6 share as well as private queens and twins. We also cater for all female & male rooms. With a fully equipped kitchen, you’ll be cooking up a feast in no time. Why not take a dip in our beautiful outdoor pool and spa or sit back in our big comfy leather couches, relax & watch a DVD from our 500+ library. Rates also include linen & FREE wireless internet. Join the crew and meet people from all around the world! Have a drink and a boogie at our licensed bar - Jacks Spot. It’s open seven days/nightly from 7am – midnight. Check out our fantastic hostel today and see for yourself what your missing out on! Recommended by Lonely Planet!“ In an area where backpackers are a dime a dozen there’s always the danger that budget accommodation just won’t make an effort. Not so for this colourful Hostel where cleanliness is as important as having a good time - and that’s considered very important”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.