We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aquarius Backpackers

Hotel website
44 Queen Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4215, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Aquarius Backpackers
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    47
    19
    17
    15
See reviews for
2
15
51
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
China Grove, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel overall was clean. Front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. Did not use pool but area was clean and well maintained. The rooms are a bit noisy with windows open at night due to closeness to busy street. The plus side of this was tram stop and bus stop very close by. Easy to get to Surfers... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We wish you a safe and fun travel around Australia. Hope to see you again one day. Thanks Management. More 

New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

good clean place and enjoyable, nice people around you, nice connectivity to surrounding place of gold coast, we stayed dere for 4 days and enjoyed the whole experience and like all abt backpackers living.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Its great to see you enjoying our hostel and its great facilities. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and may see you again. Thanks Management. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

I was trying to check in at 8pm after a horribly exhausting day and the staff at reception was unsure of letting me in because i didnt have a key. I asked if I can still check in and with a big sigh shes like,do you have a booking?? I said no,so there was a bed and only one other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It gives us the opportunity to better our customer service skills and the way we run the hostel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here and can only apologise if any of the staff have come across as cranky of rude. We understand what... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Enjoyed, good services. Would recommend & return. One night round 4, discovered I was locked out of my dorm. Make sure to know the specific hours you're checked in. Some staff difficult to understand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would return. Although there may be some communication barriers at times we enjoy having a diverse range of staff at Aquarius and helping them to better their English. Thanks again Happy travels from the staff at Aquarius More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Stay here for a few nights. It seems nice at first and then after a while you get to notice little negative things which add up to bring this hostel down in my eyes. - No air conditioning and one fan on the wall which was fought over by 4 people in my room trying to cool down. -Very authoritative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry that you didn't quite like your stay at Aquarius. The airflow is definitely something we are working on in the hostel. Unfortunately I believe you stayed with us when majority of our fans had died and we were waiting on new ones to arrive. We close... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We stayed at Aquarius for 5 nights just last week. We were extremely impressed with the cleanliness of the place, as well as the friendliness of the staff. We paid a little bit extra to have our own room which was definitely worth it! Only downfall was being quite a way out of the main part of surfers, as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to other people. Happy travels from all the Aquarius Staff More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of January 2015 and loved it. The only real downside was how far away from Surfers Paradise main beach it actually is. They do run free shuttles throughout the day, but unfortunately the last one leaves Surfers at 6pm. The hostel is SO clean and the bathroom was amazing! I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are extremely please that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to wish you all the very best on your future travels Thanks Aquarius More 

Canberra
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Their wifi signal was very weak and it didn't work at all. Be careful about your bed in summers if you go there! There was a big fan right over my head over the bed they gave me which was working all along the night I stayed there. The staff are friendly, but i won't recommend there to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate your comments as ig gives us the opportunity to better our facilities and our service. Thanks Aquarius More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

The whole stay I felt at home, everyone was extremely efficient and welcoming. The staff clearly is one of the highlights of the hostel as well as the cleanliness. I definitely recommend this hotel, the

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Sofia Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that the staff are one of the highlights. We would like to wish you all the best in your future travels. Thanks from all the staff at Aquarius More 

Poynton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in December, and my poor experience started as soon as I was collected from the bus depot, where the member of staff driving started telling me during the journey what a nightmare it was working there and how he could not wait to leave ASAP - not exactly filling me with confidence! When I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Aquarius. We appreciate the comments as it gives us the opportunity to better our facilities and our services. Unfortunately at the time you stayed we were having a changeover in staff and it seems that it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question