We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 74 Surfers Paradise hotels

BreakFree Aloha

8 Tickett Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Aloha Holiday Apartments)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BreakFree Aloha to your Saves list
BreakFree Aloha
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
48%
Ranked #60 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Lisa A Melbourne, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (38)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    7
    2
    12
See reviews for
10
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were very happy with the Aloha its a easy walk to all we required in surfers and the view was fantastic, recommend room 1005, bonus we got a king bed!! No car required as its so close to shops restaurants beach and transport. The Staff were great and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Excellent customer service. The room was very clean, Beds were so comfortable. Great Sauna, Pool & Spa, 2 min walk to caville ave. Excellent security within the hotel. Rooms were quiet large and Modern and being a family of 5 we had so much room to move. Very well equipped with utensiles as well as modern Bathroom, Kitchen areas. Def... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am happy we met your expectations and that you and your family had a pleasurable stay at BreakFree Aloha, thank you for being such a happy customer - and yes our location is just perfect!!! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the... More

Briabane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The management at aloha are horrible. Everything was a hassle for them. They were rude cold and it felt like we were not welcome at all. The worst part was when my 17 year old daughter was locked out of our room after reception had closed and management charged her $100 to get let back in. They only accepted cash... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

I am sorry for your poor experience. I must say that I am surprised about your comments, we hold our team to a high standard and I am disappointed to hear that the service you received didn't meet the level of customer service that we absolutely aspire to. I would like to know who charged you a $100.00 call out... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

WARNING TO ANYONE THAT HAS or IS MAKING RESERVATIONS ...... We had made reservations for the end of june 2014 to stay here , but were not advised that the pool heater is broken and may not be fixed in time. Pretty rude that some future guest had been notified and offered to change hotels , why others would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

I am truly sorry to hear your holiday is ruined. Jan (Front Office Manager) and myself spoke to you and you mentioned that we at Aloha had been very helpful. I explained that we were in the process of contacting bookings to advise we were having problems with the pool heating, there was no intention to deceive anyone, it is... More

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for five nights and found numerous things wrong with our room. The kitchen and bathrooms were modern and if clean would have been lovely to use. The shower screen were it joined the bath was mouldy and filthy. The square sink was so bad in one corner it was like it had been missed each time it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves on our commitment to customer service and I have passed you pleasing comment onto Jan. I am disappointed and concerned that we did not meet your expectations with the Housekeeping issues you have mentioned and will be taking that up with the contractor... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Thirteenth floor, views of the beach, Sunrise lying in bed Epic, The rooms were really good not perfect. Bit lived in, But I wasn't there to visit a room, I would stay here again. Central to everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review BreakFree Aloha, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and like your coment "EPIC", it made me smile reading this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest Regards Diane Heath General Manager More

Maitland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Would advise people to stay away from the breakfree aloha. From the moment we walked in we felt very bullied by the receptionist. As we entered the very old and disturbing elevator and entered into our room, we were very shocked to see how dated and NOT like the pictures the room was. The cleanliness of the room was poor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

I note your comments on the level of service you received and wish to offer my sincerest apologies, we at BreakFree Aloha pride ourselves on our courteous and friendly service and try and do the little things that can make a differece for our guests such as the early check-in I was able to give you. I noted your comment... More

Rathdowney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed for three nights just prior to Christmas. We had a beach views unit and hadn't requested it. Loved the complex. Kids swam and played tennis no concerns at all. Great value. Great location. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Aloha and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest Regards Diane Heath General Manager More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Annually my family and I make the trek from Sydney to the beautiful Gold Coast for our summer fun in the sun holiday. This year (2013) was one to forget thanks to the Breakfree Aloha apartments. Upon arrival we had to deal with no visitor parking forcing us to pay for parking around the corner just to check in. Not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

We, at Aloha are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met, we were aware of your booking requests and do regret that, (due to extremely high occupancy levels at the time of your stay,) we were unable to honour your request of the ocean view but we were pleased that we were able to fulfil your other requests... More

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

For those who are considering staying at the Aloha, you need to set expectations for staying in a hotel that is 30 years old. As with a number of Gold Coast hotels of this vintage, the apartment I stayed in was spacious with 2 big bedrooms, 2 bathrooms as well as a washing machine and dryer in the main bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to have met your expectations and that you have re booked another stay at Aloha we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BreakFree Aloha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BreakFree Aloha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aloha

Address: 8 Tickett Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Aloha Holiday Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your BreakFree Aloha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Aloha Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
3:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#16 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise #20 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are looking to party till dawn or be in the midst of all the excitement, we are in the perfect position for you. There is security parking under the building and tour buses pick up right at our front door for your convenience. We are proud of our local knowledge and can assist you with any information on the Gold Coast during your stay. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

See which rooms travelers prefer