We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BreakFree Aloha

8 Tickett Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Aloha Holiday Apartments)
Hotel amenities
BreakFree Aloha
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015
Christine M Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    9
    2
    12
See reviews for
11
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Aloha apartments was a slice of heaven in the heart of Surfers Paradise. Presentation of the office area and the expertise of the staff was our first introduction to the Aloha Apartments. Apartment was on the 10th floor with beach & streetscape views. Totally awesome sunrises and wonderfully, clean, tidy appointed rooms. Kitchen was supplied with all we required for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Whist certainly not a 4 or 5 star hotel, it certainly had some great characteristics that made it a good place to stay. The view was brilliant looking out over the beach, the rooms are well maintained and clean and also the pool / spa area was wonderful and relaxing. Beautifully located right in the centre of the Gold Coast,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a 2 bed/2 bath room on the 12th floor with sea views to die for! Beautiful Sunrise's and sunsets, the night market and surfers beach. Everything is on your doorstep and found the only time we needed the car was to get to harbour town, The new G link tram is a short walk away. The apartment itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were very happy with the Aloha its a easy walk to all we required in surfers and the view was fantastic, recommend room 1005, bonus we got a king bed!! No car required as its so close to shops restaurants beach and transport. The Staff were great and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Excellent customer service. The room was very clean, Beds were so comfortable. Great Sauna, Pool & Spa, 2 min walk to caville ave. Excellent security within the hotel. Rooms were quiet large and Modern and being a family of 5 we had so much room to move. Very well equipped with utensiles as well as modern Bathroom, Kitchen areas. Def... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am happy we met your expectations and that you and your family had a pleasurable stay at BreakFree Aloha, thank you for being such a happy customer - and yes our location is just perfect!!! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the... More 

Briabane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The management at aloha are horrible. Everything was a hassle for them. They were rude cold and it felt like we were not welcome at all. The worst part was when my 17 year old daughter was locked out of our room after reception had closed and management charged her $100 to get let back in. They only accepted cash... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

I am sorry for your poor experience. I must say that I am surprised about your comments, we hold our team to a high standard and I am disappointed to hear that the service you received didn't meet the level of customer service that we absolutely aspire to. I would like to know who charged you a $100.00 call out... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

WARNING TO ANYONE THAT HAS or IS MAKING RESERVATIONS ...... We had made reservations for the end of june 2014 to stay here , but were not advised that the pool heater is broken and may not be fixed in time. Pretty rude that some future guest had been notified and offered to change hotels , why others would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

I am truly sorry to hear your holiday is ruined. Jan (Front Office Manager) and myself spoke to you and you mentioned that we at Aloha had been very helpful. I explained that we were in the process of contacting bookings to advise we were having problems with the pool heating, there was no intention to deceive anyone, it is... More 

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights and found numerous things wrong with our room. The kitchen and bathrooms were modern and if clean would have been lovely to use. The shower screen were it joined the bath was mouldy and filthy. The square sink was so bad in one corner it was like it had been missed each time it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves on our commitment to customer service and I have passed you pleasing comment onto Jan. I am disappointed and concerned that we did not meet your expectations with the Housekeeping issues you have mentioned and will be taking that up with the contractor... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Thirteenth floor, views of the beach, Sunrise lying in bed Epic, The rooms were really good not perfect. Bit lived in, But I wasn't there to visit a room, I would stay here again. Central to everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review BreakFree Aloha, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and like your coment "EPIC", it made me smile reading this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest Regards Diane Heath General Manager More 

Maitland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Would advise people to stay away from the breakfree aloha. From the moment we walked in we felt very bullied by the receptionist. As we entered the very old and disturbing elevator and entered into our room, we were very shocked to see how dated and NOT like the pictures the room was. The cleanliness of the room was poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

I note your comments on the level of service you received and wish to offer my sincerest apologies, we at BreakFree Aloha pride ourselves on our courteous and friendly service and try and do the little things that can make a differece for our guests such as the early check-in I was able to give you. I noted your comment... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
3:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question