We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 75 Surfers Paradise hotels

BreakFree Aloha

8 Tickett Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Aloha Holiday Apartments)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BreakFree Aloha to your Saves list
BreakFree Aloha
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
50%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
timmyalan Ballarat, Australia
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    7
    2
    10
See reviews for
8
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for five nights and found numerous things wrong with our room. The kitchen and bathrooms were modern and if clean would have been lovely to use. The shower screen were it joined the bath was mouldy and filthy. The square sink was so bad in one corner it was like it had been missed each time it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves on our commitment to customer service and I have passed you pleasing comment onto Jan. I am disappointed and concerned that we did not meet your expectations with the Housekeeping issues you have mentioned and will be taking that up with the contractor... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Thirteenth floor, views of the beach, Sunrise lying in bed Epic, The rooms were really good not perfect. Bit lived in, But I wasn't there to visit a room, I would stay here again. Central to everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review BreakFree Aloha, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and like your coment "EPIC", it made me smile reading this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest Regards Diane Heath General Manager More

Maitland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Would advise people to stay away from the breakfree aloha. From the moment we walked in we felt very bullied by the receptionist. As we entered the very old and disturbing elevator and entered into our room, we were very shocked to see how dated and NOT like the pictures the room was. The cleanliness of the room was poor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

I note your comments on the level of service you received and wish to offer my sincerest apologies, we at BreakFree Aloha pride ourselves on our courteous and friendly service and try and do the little things that can make a differece for our guests such as the early check-in I was able to give you. I noted your comment... More

Rathdowney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed for three nights just prior to Christmas. We had a beach views unit and hadn't requested it. Loved the complex. Kids swam and played tennis no concerns at all. Great value. Great location. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Aloha and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest Regards Diane Heath General Manager More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Annually my family and I make the trek from Sydney to the beautiful Gold Coast for our summer fun in the sun holiday. This year (2013) was one to forget thanks to the Breakfree Aloha apartments. Upon arrival we had to deal with no visitor parking forcing us to pay for parking around the corner just to check in. Not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

We, at Aloha are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met, we were aware of your booking requests and do regret that, (due to extremely high occupancy levels at the time of your stay,) we were unable to honour your request of the ocean view but we were pleased that we were able to fulfil your other requests... More

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

For those who are considering staying at the Aloha, you need to set expectations for staying in a hotel that is 30 years old. As with a number of Gold Coast hotels of this vintage, the apartment I stayed in was spacious with 2 big bedrooms, 2 bathrooms as well as a washing machine and dryer in the main bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to have met your expectations and that you have re booked another stay at Aloha we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location is fantastic! Super close to the shopping center, restaurant, supermarkets, opposite to the beach. The cleaner and the receptionist are super friendly and helpful. Good view. The only thing is the room itself, old mouldy curtains, rusty fridge, rusty outdoor furniture. However, the cleaner has done a great job to make it tidy and clean for us to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review BreakFree Aloha on Trip Advisor. We do pride ourselves on our commitment to customer service and knowing what matters. Our housekeeping team have very high standards which can be felt in our rooms and yes the view from the apartments is "great". We note your comments on the standard of the room... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The first thing that we experienced was a strong mildew smell. The curtains and windows were dirty and the outdoor furniture was rusted. Had to keep windows and doors permanently opened to get rid of the smell. The balcony was shared with the next apartment that housed permanent residents who were noisy, and disturbed us throughout the night on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

We are concerned that you were disappointed with your stay at BreakFree Aloha, I can assure you that this is not a regular occurrence but was due to the recent extreme weather events that we have experienced on the Gold Coast, and I am pleased to report that management has addressed all issues mentioned in your review. Thank you for... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This must be surfers great kept secret.Stayed for four nights and absolutely loved it.It looks as if the management have taken note of the previous negative comments and the great improvement overall was obvious.You will not find a better place for the price you are paying.My apartment on the tenth floor was amazing.Keep up the good work guys I will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, We agree with your comment "You will not find a better place for the price", we are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to BreakFree Aloha in the near future. Warm Regards Diane Heath General Manager More

New Zealand
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights mid January. This is a tired apartment block, and it looks that way, maybe a fresh paint would improve this. No Air conditioning, your kidding in the middle of summer. Why didn't they say when booking, there was none. It's OK to be honest. The room was dirty around the edges of the carpet,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaGC, General Manager at BreakFree Aloha, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you were not happy with your recent stay. Aloha is a 3.5 star rated apartment and we do not advertise anywhere that our apartments are air conditioned, your travel agent would have been aware of this. The apartments are individually owned and the owner of this unit likes to create a beach style theme and as... More

Been to BreakFree Aloha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Aloha

Also Known As:
Aloha Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Aloha Holiday Apartments Hotel
BreakFree Aloha Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Address: 8 Tickett Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Aloha Holiday Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#59 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking to party till dawn or be in the midst of all the excitement, we are in the perfect position for you. There is security parking under the building and tour buses pick up right at our front door for your convenience. We are proud of our local knowledge and can assist you with any information on the Gold Coast during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your BreakFree Aloha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Aloha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.