We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Island Resort

3 Sunset Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Island Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    26
    9
    5
    11
See reviews for
29
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a family of 6 staying in a two bedroom apartment. 2 kids were on the foldout sofa. This was ok for a 6 night stay as we were hardly in the room however it was a bit tight. The property had no elevator and arriving early hours in the morning with 3 kids trying to drag big suitcases... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Management lives on site and is available to deal with any issues that may arise during your stay. The resort is promoted as a three-floor walk-up, but if any guests have difficulty with stairs we encourage you to let us know in advance so we can meet your requirements. Unfortunately the fire service does not... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Having read other reviews following our stay we wish we had done so before booking! We are also reluctant to write our review given other negative reviews have received manager responses which tend to blame the occupiers rather than accept the feedback as opportunities to improve however we want to share so other families can make informed choices. After a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

It is quite extraordinary that because the manager collects a newspaper from the local corner store every morning that this is seen as not living on site! We live on site and are available at all times to deal with any concerns our guests may have. The apartments are self-managed although introductory complementaries are provided. We would suggest that a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

My husband and I stayed a week in the two bedroom apartment overlooking the swimming pool. We walked into Surface Paradise every day and had coffee and bought supplies to cook. Our stay was very relaxing and we will go back there next year and extend our time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Stayed for 8 days from May 2. Booked through Expedia. Good deal. Excellent apartment. Good location. From arrival to departure it was a trouble free stay. Location was perfect. Walking distance to Surfers Paradise but peaceful. Apartment clean. Enjoyed the balcony. Would book it again next time we're heading for the Gold Coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunsetis, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Hex2050 for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

I can recommend this place to you ,everything you need , clean and priced well, management are helpful and the building well maintained, location is a short walk into surfers p. i will be staying again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunsetis, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you ljgallery for taking the time to write a review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We were happily upgraded from a dodgy unit on the third floor ( Ceiling fan in bedroom squeaked incessantly no matter what speed and TV reception was awful, balconies x 2 were about 1 metre wide ) to a delightful one bedroom apartment on the ground floor where everything was just about perfect including a decent patio with enough room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We want our guests to have a pleasant stay so we always endeavour to rectify any issues or concerns if they arise as soon as they are brought to our attention. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

If you want cheap and dirt, and dont mind the public use what you have to pay for, then this is the place to stay. Management needs help with consumer service. Not safe for families, everything about this apartment was wrong. Public, walking off the street to use what people whom work hard to pay for hoildays, have free excess... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Sunset Island Resort management is very security concious and only the resort guests have the use of the facilities - pool, spa and bbq. More 

Essex, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Lovely clean apartment. The pool area was very chilled and had a Jacuzzi and bbq. It was a good location along a quiet road but close enough to the town/beach about a 5-10 minute walk. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Have stayed previously with my mother and came back again with my family. The 2 bedroom apartments are a good size not at all cramped. Perfect weather topped off a perfectly relaxing impromptu few days away. Thanks once again, we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always delighted to see returning guests. We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time away. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We loved everything in this place. From the bedroom, kitchen, lounge and bathroom, everything was tidy and neat. We really wanted a decent and quiet place to stay because we have our little bubs with us and this place didn't disappoint us. The pool and spa was a great retreat and a good place to meet and chat other guests.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review Misisleah. Sunset Island Resort is located in an ideal position.. close but not too close to the heart of Surfers Paradise, allowing our guests to relax and unwind in a peaceful environment. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,713 reviews
1.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & ...
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay