We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Island Resort

4.0 of 5
3 Sunset Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Island Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunset Island Resort
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
26
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were happily upgraded from a dodgy unit on the third floor ( Ceiling fan in bedroom squeaked incessantly no matter what speed and TV reception was awful, balconies x 2 were about 1 metre wide ) to a delightful one bedroom apartment on the ground floor where everything was just about perfect including a decent patio with enough room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We want our guests to have a pleasant stay so we always endeavour to rectify any issues or concerns if they arise as soon as they are brought to our attention. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

If you want cheap and dirt, and dont mind the public use what you have to pay for, then this is the place to stay. Management needs help with consumer service. Not safe for families, everything about this apartment was wrong. Public, walking off the street to use what people whom work hard to pay for hoildays, have free excess... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Sunset Island Resort management is very security concious and only the resort guests have the use of the facilities - pool, spa and bbq. More 

Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Lovely clean apartment. The pool area was very chilled and had a Jacuzzi and bbq. It was a good location along a quiet road but close enough to the town/beach about a 5-10 minute walk. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Have stayed previously with my mother and came back again with my family. The 2 bedroom apartments are a good size not at all cramped. Perfect weather topped off a perfectly relaxing impromptu few days away. Thanks once again, we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always delighted to see returning guests. We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time away. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We loved everything in this place. From the bedroom, kitchen, lounge and bathroom, everything was tidy and neat. We really wanted a decent and quiet place to stay because we have our little bubs with us and this place didn't disappoint us. The pool and spa was a great retreat and a good place to meet and chat other guests.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review Misisleah. Sunset Island Resort is located in an ideal position.. close but not too close to the heart of Surfers Paradise, allowing our guests to relax and unwind in a peaceful environment. More 

Geelong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I am so greatfull to have experienced such a beautiful stay at Sunset Island Resort. I don't have anything bad to say from start to finish my partner and myself felt so welcomed and comfortable here. Beautiful pool and heated spa with BBQ area. We had a nice river view from our apartment which was on the 3rd level. Also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Robert for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay once again. We look forward to seeing you again next year :) More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here for 7 days, and once again the staff and the self contained facilities (a proper full kitchenette!) have provided us with a great relaxing stay that is close to the main city of Surfers Paradise. Our most recent room was overlooking the pool area which was excellent as you would not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

It was wonderful to see you again and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. We look forward to catching up with you again next time. More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We recently spent 2 weeks here and found this to be an excellent location as it was close to Surfers, but far enough away to not hear all the noise. The one bedroom corner apartment on the 3rd floor was light and airy and we appreciated having a full kitchen for cooking when we didn't feel like going out. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are set back from the noise of Surfers so that our guests may relax in peace. We hope too see you back again in the future. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We had a great family holiday in a 2 bdrm aptmnt. The facilities were just right for us, able to make breakfast in the morning, head out for the day and walk to Surfers in the evening. Also great to have secure, free parking. We loved being able to walk to Cavill Ave and to the shops and supermarket. Unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again soon. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
58 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We managed to get a booking for 7 nights here at short notice, and really enjoyed it. The units are spacious, quite modern and well equipped with free car parking underneath. The managers are lovely people ( I guess they would be as they are originally from New Zealand!!!). Nice sunny pool area and spa also. They even kindly gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank your wonderful review we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question