We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 103 Surfers Paradise accommodations

Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort

28 Hamilton Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort to your Saves list
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    10
    4
    24
See reviews for
2
9
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Literally 2 minutes from the beach!! If your going to Surfers to do the beach and nightlife thing, this is the place to stay. Rooms/bedding were kept clean, Large kitchen facility, really great outdoor area, free pool table, free wifi in the lobby, and the bar is reasonably priced - great for a few pre drinks before heading out to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

The location is very good. The room not bad but the kitchen is very dirty and smelly. The bathroom is very small and not clean. I would not recommend it to any one.? . The staff would ask for key deposit, you better make your deposit with credit card.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jokalsi, Owner at Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Adil Thank you for your review. Firstly when you sign in at the hostel it is stated everywhere that if you don't check out at 10am you will lose your key deposit. And honestly I have never kept anyone's key deposit in the past 11 months I have operated the business but you left your helpless father here to... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Spent 2 nights here on our way to Brisbane. Enjoyed our stay, staff were lovely and really helpful. Location was good and everything was really close. Very chilled atmosphere in communal areas and clean too. One of the better hostels we have stayed at so far.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

Very nice stay in this hostel. Very friendly from the moment we walked in. We stayed in very clean double bunk bed private room. Great facilities and extremely helpful and friendly staff. Would def stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Staying here at the moment and it's worth a visit just to meet the staff! So friendly, take you to your room, tell you the names of the other guys in your room! Nice relaxed vibe n decent kitchen if ur looking to save money n 5 min walk to cbd. Lockers in rooms n free wifi!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hostel was taken over by new management at the start of the year and is now called Gold Coast Backpackers (no 'International'). The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and from the reveiws I've read about the hostel before they took it over, must have done a great job renovating the place. The location is excellent, right in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in early October 2013. First night, we had a 3-bed dorm. Didn't like it at all... Was kind of creepy, us two girls sharing with one guy! The rest of our stay, we changed to a twin. The beds were obviously old. They sagged in the middle, had broken bits of metal sticking out and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The rooms themselves have nothing spectacular, except that most of them are ensuites and I particularly love anyplace that allow me to walk from bath to bed in pijamas. It is very clean and the mattress are great! Just a little tiny, but it is all right. What really made me love this hostel so much was their recepcionist darling-honey... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Room was of a good size bathroom was small but good and the shower was amazing. The owners were really nice every time we saw them and always had a chat with guests which was great. The only real let down was the cleanliness of the room, Which I will not go into much detail about. But they were always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ingham, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in late March 2014. Run by Jo and Raj who bought it in January. New carpet, freshly painted, crisp clean shets, well looked after and friendly. I am an older traveller and was impressed. The recreation area is large with a pool table, plenty of outdoor seating and large lounge. It is situated near the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort

Address: 28 Hamilton Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast International Backpacker Hotel Surfers Paradise
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort Surfers Paradise

16 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay