We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort

28 Hamilton Ave, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015
Oliver_yuen Greater Sydney, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    10
    10
    4
    24
See reviews for
3
9
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Greater Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

Good location(near tram station) We three stay in a 4bed dorm with a discount price. The Room is a bit small But suitable for 3 people If 4 people there will be very crowd… Everyroom contain a bathroom and toilet. Except the room is small, everything is good~! Staff are very nice and kind :) And there is a free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Perfect location in the middle of Surfers Paradise, 30 meters from Q1 and 200-300 meters from the beach. Free wifi and pool in the reception. The staff is super friendly, at least the lady that might be from India. Free parking under the backpackers as well. Never visited the kitchen but the rooms have new keys that you just have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

the service was excellent, the room were very clean and well organised, it was a great value, so we booked again for April, the location it is great close to everything, the beds were very comfortable and the room was very well designed. thank you

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Literally 2 minutes from the beach!! If your going to Surfers to do the beach and nightlife thing, this is the place to stay. Rooms/bedding were kept clean, Large kitchen facility, really great outdoor area, free pool table, free wifi in the lobby, and the bar is reasonably priced - great for a few pre drinks before heading out to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

The location is very good. The room not bad but the kitchen is very dirty and smelly. The bathroom is very small and not clean. I would not recommend it to any one.? . The staff would ask for key deposit, you better make your deposit with credit card.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jokalsi, Owner at Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Adil Thank you for your review. Firstly when you sign in at the hostel it is stated everywhere that if you don't check out at 10am you will lose your key deposit. And honestly I have never kept anyone's key deposit in the past 11 months I have operated the business but you left your helpless father here to... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Spent 2 nights here on our way to Brisbane. Enjoyed our stay, staff were lovely and really helpful. Location was good and everything was really close. Very chilled atmosphere in communal areas and clean too. One of the better hostels we have stayed at so far.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

Very nice stay in this hostel. Very friendly from the moment we walked in. We stayed in very clean double bunk bed private room. Great facilities and extremely helpful and friendly staff. Would def stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Staying here at the moment and it's worth a visit just to meet the staff! So friendly, take you to your room, tell you the names of the other guys in your room! Nice relaxed vibe n decent kitchen if ur looking to save money n 5 min walk to cbd. Lockers in rooms n free wifi!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hostel was taken over by new management at the start of the year and is now called Gold Coast Backpackers (no 'International'). The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and from the reveiws I've read about the hostel before they took it over, must have done a great job renovating the place. The location is excellent, right in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in early October 2013. First night, we had a 3-bed dorm. Didn't like it at all... Was kind of creepy, us two girls sharing with one guy! The rest of our stay, we changed to a twin. The beds were obviously old. They sagged in the middle, had broken bits of metal sticking out and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay