We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort

28 Hamilton Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile

Raj and his lovely wife are great managers with great people skills but not in your face. Hey helped me out when ever I needed it. The kitchen is well equipped and the common spaces were well looked after and comfortable. Great location being one block from the beach and just out of the heart of town so as not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Renae S
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

Prices is really good for goldcoast cheap drinks and free pool table , kitchen was really handy as well wile traveling , friendly staff really helpful, beach is like 2 min walk and 5 min walk to city centre, definitely great place for the price .. Will be back when in goldcoast

Helpful?
Thank gagzi86
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a private 2 person room with the bunk beds. Room was small but tidy. Bathroom was slightly dirty and mouldy. If visiting in winter months be sure to bring your own blanket. We're only provided with one small fleece. Went to reception and managed to get another but was still freezing. The lady working reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ebrewe
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Would recommend if you don´t have anywhere to sleep or if you don´t care where you sleep. Might have been a nice hostel/hotel once upon a time but now it´s not even a half decent hostel. Bathroom smell mold and you could see that the end of the drapes was just covered by mold. Sink in the bathroom is smaller... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia H

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Greater Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

Good location(near tram station) We three stay in a 4bed dorm with a discount price. The Room is a bit small But suitable for 3 people If 4 people there will be very crowd… Everyroom contain a bathroom and toilet. Except the room is small, everything is good~! Staff are very nice and kind :) And there is a free... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oliver_yuen
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Perfect location in the middle of Surfers Paradise, 30 meters from Q1 and 200-300 meters from the beach. Free wifi and pool in the reception. The staff is super friendly, at least the lady that might be from India. Free parking under the backpackers as well. Never visited the kitchen but the rooms have new keys that you just have... More 

Helpful?
Thank empaemp
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

the service was excellent, the room were very clean and well organised, it was a great value, so we booked again for April, the location it is great close to everything, the beds were very comfortable and the room was very well designed. thank you

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Chriscara
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Literally 2 minutes from the beach!! If your going to Surfers to do the beach and nightlife thing, this is the place to stay. Rooms/bedding were kept clean, Large kitchen facility, really great outdoor area, free pool table, free wifi in the lobby, and the bar is reasonably priced - great for a few pre drinks before heading out to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank livriz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

The location is very good. The room not bad but the kitchen is very dirty and smelly. The bathroom is very small and not clean. I would not recommend it to any one.? . The staff would ask for key deposit, you better make your deposit with credit card.

Helpful?
3 Thank Adil1980
Jokalsi, Owner at Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Adil Thank you for your review. Firstly when you sign in at the hostel it is stated everywhere that if you don't check out at 10am you will lose your key deposit. And honestly I have never kept anyone's key deposit in the past 11 months I have operated the business but you left your helpless father here to... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here on our way to Brisbane. Enjoyed our stay, staff were lovely and really helpful. Location was good and everything was really close. Very chilled atmosphere in communal areas and clean too. One of the better hostels we have stayed at so far.

Helpful?
Thank tiddles333
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 2,003 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#54 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#48 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#31 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#37 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay