We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 90 Surfers Paradise accommodations

Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach

Mariners Cove, 70 Seaworld Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach to your Saves list
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
46%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
7
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You get what you pay for with this one. Average hostel with friendly staff. It's clean enough and in a decent location - walking distance to Sea World. Our room, a private double was clean but wasn't the best looking of rooms. Also, I would hardly call Surfers a "Paradise".

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here thinking it was close to the Surfers Paradise however it is not within walking distance. Paper tickets are expensive on the bus. I however managed to spend around $30 for 9 short trips on the Go Card and went all the way to Brisbane and back for free and used the transport system to my advantage. Waiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We did stay in this YHA for 3 nights, the overall experience is not good compare with all other YHA hostel we stay before. The room is really disappointed, we did booked a double room and it's feeling like a jail, only one small windows, not enough fresh air, very noise in the morning outside.. The staff is nice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

What an awesome hostel. It's location is slightly far out from Surfers Paradise to walk to but there is a complimentary shuttle bus running fairly regularly in and out of town. It's located in pleasant Mariners Wharf which is actually a great escape from the crazy hustle and bustle of Surfers. It's a slightly strange layout with reception being in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

bit disappointing on first entering room. It really is drab. looked very unclean. It was, I don't mind the bathrooms being untidy because they are used a lot, but you can sort the shower curtains out, They don't fit. I do however like my beds clean (preferably without someone elses hair still on the mattress). They do need new bedding,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Paid 6 dollars on the bus to get to the hostel from the centre of town. The hostel is far out from anywhere except McDonald's and a shopping centre no good for those on a budget. The beach is average and about a ten minute walk. The hostel itself is not well decorated or homely in the least. The bathrooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

stayed here saturday just gone til tuesday in a 4 bedded female dorm. on the positive side: staff are friendly and polite. helpful when it comes to tours etc. there is a free shuttle bus that runs approx 4 times a day (last one into surfers paradise at approx 4pm i think). it is in a nice location with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach, responded to this review

Dear Melly29Ireland, Thank you for your feedback and the comments complimenting our staff. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to write to us. SInce your stay I have spoken to the hostel manager, who was very disappointed to read about the experience you had while staying at Surfers Paradise YHA. The manager... More

Salzburg, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

First of all the hostel is so far away from the city centre that you either have to take their shuttle (which only leaves 3 times a day) or you have to take the bus, which is 5,70$. But the location unfortiunately wasn't the only bad thing about the hostel. The kitchen was beyond filthy, the sheets were dirty and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach, responded to this review

Dear Nina, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We take all customer feedback very seriously. At outset I would like to let you know how disappointed I was to read your comments about the cleanliness of the kitchen and the bathroom. Since your feedback I have spoken to the hostel manager, who has confirmed with me... More

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed three nights at the Surfers YHA and found a few problems with it. The hostel itself is too far away from Surfers Paradise so you cannot take full advantage of surfers without taking a bus into town. There is only four shuttles into tone and back a day and they finish at 4pm. The hostels facilities are very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach, responded to this review

Dear mjd6888, Thank you for your feedback and the praise you gave our staff. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to write to us. At outset I am disappointed to hear of the uncomfortable nights sleep you had due to the mattress protector, as this is not the usual feedback we received... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It is near the worlds which is why we decided to stay there. The hostel was fairly clean and not bad over all; the kitchen and bathrooms were ok. There was plenty of cutlery. However the walk to surfers is very long and not very well lit, so doesnt seem like the safest 45 min stroll. The internet was awful!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach, responded to this review

Dear Maria, I am writing in response to your customer feedback received on trip advisor regarding your stay at our Surfers Paradise YHA. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us. At the outset, I would like to let you know that I am disappointed to hear of the experience you... More

Been to Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach

Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Yha At Main Beach Hotel
Surfers Paradise Yha At Main Beach Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise YHA At Main Beach Gold Coast
Address: Mariners Cove, 70 Seaworld Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 90 Specialty lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something for every backpacker at Surfers Paradise YHA hostel; white sandy beaches, 24 hour shopping, theme parks (Seaworld down the road) and national parks, adrenalin kicks on the ground, in the air and underwater, city sights and rainforest hinterland. Surfers Paradise is all about action, excitement and adventure! The tour desk at Surfers Paradise YHA can help organise all your tours and activites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.