We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backpackers In Paradise

3.5 of 5
40 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Backpackers In Paradise
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Backpackers In Paradise
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    49
    20
    25
    36
See reviews for
2
24
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In their advertisment it said "where the party is" and that is definitely not true, haha. It was pretty busy, but quiet. No drinks allowed. Room was cool (def a plus), but my bed was sunken down in the middle, lockers were broken, bathroom old and filthy, and roomies rude and loud. The kitchen was ok but got really crowded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_BIP, General Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi Louise, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are currently in the process of refurbishing the room you were staying in. This week we have changed all the mattresses and we are putting in a new shower next week. Our lockers are unfortunately constantly being vandalised and we try to fix them asap. Ask for... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had such a great time at back packers in paradise, rooms were nice and such friendly staff! The blonde girl at reception was super lovely and helped us out heaps! But big ups to the bartender lee! Made us feel so comfortable and had the best Customer services skills we have come across whilst being across the ditch! Would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

such a great atmosphere with great people :-) got upgraded for free!!!! has so many amazing opportunities to meet people (big night out) bartender had a great personality along with great looks! strongly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Such a great hostel so much fun , friendly staff , lovely and clean great nights out ! Frank and Anna the reception staff were amazing such great help I would really recommend it you'll have so much fun :) has a pool and bar as well and a shop everything is there for u best hostel x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_BIP, General Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Adam Cobb General Manager Backapackers In Paradise More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok for one night. My partner and I had a double room, the room was not very clean, very dusty and floors needed mopped. Bed was comfortable. The bathrooms need cleaned or cleaned more regularly because they were dirty and showers had no water pressure. The location was around 5-10min walk to surfers paradise beach and the main shopping area.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_BIP, General Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Skillzy1992 thankyou for taking the time to review our hostel. We have recently employed a new cleaning manager to improve our standards and we are working closely to make Backpackers in Paradise one of the finest hostels in Surfers Paradise. We hope you choose to stay with us next time your in Surfers Paradise Kind Regards, Adam Cobb General Manager... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

This hostel is quite cheap and so expectations were not high. I stayed in a 14 bed dorm, no air con and not even a light which could be annoying after dark when you have to use to a torch to find your things. If you could get a bed by a fan it was ok, otherwise very hot, People... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

Nothing excellent to say about this hostel. The door to our room was broken and took a good minute of attempting to open it everytime. Which isn't that bad, however when you are in a dorm room of 14 and there are 14 people trying to get in a various points during the day/night, it becomes rather painful and frustrating.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

I did not like the hostel, nor the people there or the staff. I also was not too crazy about surfers paradise itself. The rooms were not too clean, because there is no professional cleaning stuff but fellow backpackers clean for two or three hours per day and can live for free. Nobody checks their work and thats what it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

I really liked the outside area, you get in touch with the people very easy. The rooms are big enough and cleaned daily. Just the kitchen and the tables aren't clean, that could be improved. Backpackers in Paradise is also pretty close to the city and the beach, so it's a good choice if you want to chill out and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Me and my mate stayed here firstly in january then again recently. We were put in a 4 bed dorm originally but had a bit of trouble with some uptight guests so Alex upgraded us to a twin room which was just us two. From then on we had a great time. We extended for australia day and honestly it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question