We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backpackers In Paradise

40 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Backpackers In Paradise
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Backpackers In Paradise
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    50
    20
    25
    37
See reviews for
2
25
57
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (205)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hostel is the worst ever! The sheets were dirty and smell bad, we scratch ourselves all over the night, we couldn't sleep because people were laughing, yelling and playing guitar around 3-4am. The morning we found vomit everywhere in the toilets. That was the worst night ever that we spent in a hostel. We've been travelling for years and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is perfect if you want to have a few relaxing days in Surfer's paradise. Quiet, clean, cute place. Receptionist staff is super friendly and gave us a free upgrade of our room to a double room, which made the stay even better. However I think the staff working in the common areas was less friendly and somewhat careless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Honestly the best Backpackers I have ever stayed at in my life! The friendliest most helpful staff you will ever meet, great prices, unreal facilities with a pool, spa, bar, pool tables, ping pong, and so much more, reps that can take you out partying in the best spots in surfers paradise every night of the week! It just doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great time here the guy on reception upgraded me rooms just because he was in a good mood on his birthday, then took everyone out on a club crawl, I'm travelling alone so he introduced me to the staff and gave me free drinks on the crawl. The bar was pretty cheap and the bar man had good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

In their advertisment it said "where the party is" and that is definitely not true, haha. It was pretty busy, but quiet. No drinks allowed. Room was cool (def a plus), but my bed was sunken down in the middle, lockers were broken, bathroom old and filthy, and roomies rude and loud. The kitchen was ok but got really crowded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_BIP, General Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi Louise, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are currently in the process of refurbishing the room you were staying in. This week we have changed all the mattresses and we are putting in a new shower next week. Our lockers are unfortunately constantly being vandalised and we try to fix them asap. Ask for... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Had such a great time at back packers in paradise, rooms were nice and such friendly staff! The blonde girl at reception was super lovely and helped us out heaps! But big ups to the bartender lee! Made us feel so comfortable and had the best Customer services skills we have come across whilst being across the ditch! Would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

such a great atmosphere with great people :-) got upgraded for free!!!! has so many amazing opportunities to meet people (big night out) bartender had a great personality along with great looks! strongly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Such a great hostel so much fun , friendly staff , lovely and clean great nights out ! Frank and Anna the reception staff were amazing such great help I would really recommend it you'll have so much fun :) has a pool and bar as well and a shop everything is there for u best hostel x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_BIP, General Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Adam Cobb General Manager Backapackers In Paradise More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Ok for one night. My partner and I had a double room, the room was not very clean, very dusty and floors needed mopped. Bed was comfortable. The bathrooms need cleaned or cleaned more regularly because they were dirty and showers had no water pressure. The location was around 5-10min walk to surfers paradise beach and the main shopping area.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_BIP, General Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Skillzy1992 thankyou for taking the time to review our hostel. We have recently employed a new cleaning manager to improve our standards and we are working closely to make Backpackers in Paradise one of the finest hostels in Surfers Paradise. We hope you choose to stay with us next time your in Surfers Paradise Kind Regards, Adam Cobb General Manager... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

This hostel is quite cheap and so expectations were not high. I stayed in a 14 bed dorm, no air con and not even a light which could be annoying after dark when you have to use to a torch to find your things. If you could get a bed by a fan it was ok, otherwise very hot, People... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities