We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 92 Surfers Paradise accommodations

Backpackers In Paradise

3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   40 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Backpackers In Paradise to your Saves list
Backpackers In Paradise
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
64%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Sebastian L Roma, Queensland, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (151)
  • Photos (55)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    14
    19
    25
See reviews for
2
14
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Roma, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had such a great time here I thought I would share it with everyone I first arrived here on my own late at night after a long flight I was greeted by alex behind the desk he was really helpful and helped me to come out of my shell and get involved more. they have great facilities here and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

travelling alone can be daunting but having made it to surfers paradise, im happy that i came to this hostel, where the staff and all the guests are very welcoming and friendly, they have good facilities; swimming pool, cinema sized screen, convenient shop and bar (although slightly overpriced and could do with more choice, but woolworths is just down the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Creates opportunities to meet long term friends from all over the world. Everything from day time beach pleasure to night time club action is within just a few steps away. Alex at the front desk, is an absolute legend! He will go out of his way to make sure you have a solid stay not only at the hostel but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi Sean, Firstly thank you for taking the time to write us a fantastic review about the Hostel. It is great to hear that you had a great time at Backpackers in Paradise. We will pass on the comment to Alex. It''s great to hear that you found a 4-bed the right room for yourself to stay in. Thanks again... More

Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I moved to the Gold Coast 8 months ago, Backpackers in Paradise was my first home. Now, as I say goodbye to the Gold Coast, I'll always call BiP my home away from home. I was first drawn to the hostel for its low rates and central location Surfers and its public transport. But the friendly staff and comfy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here with a group of 15 people. We were sorted into rooms and all was good, up until this small English woman storms into our room in a rude manner and says she's taking all our alcohol without explaining why. Which obviously confused us but we weren't offered an explanation or even given one when we asked. She was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Firstly I would like to respond by letting you know that this review would not have gone up if you and your group did not brake the rules of our hostel. Due to having a fully licenced bar on site there is a no byo rule. After we had confiscated one lot of alcohol from your group we... More

Geelong, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The main feature of this hostel is the fact that is cheap. Not too far away from trams, restaurants and the beach, the hostel is great if you are a surfer looking for the perfect wave... but is not bad even if you are just looking for a pillow to lay your head on :) Nice beer garder, vivid hostel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there :). Thanks firstly for reviewing us & secondly for the positive feedback, It's great to hear our guests have enjoyed the party vibe & our location which is something were often complimented on. As for our price it's great to hear you think we are good value for money :). We are sorry you thought our hostel was... More

Launceston, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The room we chose are the ones with 20 people around you but know what? It was incredibly clean and spacious for a 20 pax backpackers standard. Especially the bathroom, they are cleaned everyday and it was always clean and hairless when I'm using it during late night(means that everyone should have done their washing).Beds are fairly good and you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there :). Thanks firstly for reviewing us & secondly for the positive feedback, It's great to hear our guests have enjoyed the party vibe & our location which is something were often complimented on. As for our price it's great to hear you think we are good value for money :). Thanks again & we hope to see you... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I've travelled all the way up from Melbourne to Cairns on the east coast and stopped in many places and backpack. But for me this one is the best one. Very nice area and people there are so kind and relax and ready to help!!! (Or give a teeshirt with the backpack logo :) ) I didnt stay that long... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there :). Thanks firstly for reviewing us & secondly for the positive feedback, It's great to hear our guests have enjoyed the party vibe & our location which is something were often complimented on. As for our price it's great to hear you think we are good value for money :). Thanks again & we hope to see you... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here a few times over the years, great thing is it's the same place every time! Staff are great, always fun stuff and activities going on. Little bar on site is tops. Only down side is the beds are a little old and the place could do with a through spring cleaning. That being said I will still stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the good review. Its a true pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay & found all of our staff friendly. Enjoy your travels & hope to see you again sometime soon :) The B.I.P team More

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here two nights. V Good location. Could afford a smaller dorm but wanted to experience the fun of a 20 bed mixed dorm- there aren't many of those around. I slept surprisingly well except for being woken up by a couple doing the unmentionable!! (Well I suppose I 'asked' for it by staying in a big dorm!). Seriously?! I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the good review. Its a true pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay & found all of our staff friendly. Sorry about the noisy guests, occasionally this does happen & we apologize. Enjoy your travels & hope to see you again sometime soon :). The B.I.P team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Backpackers In Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Backpackers In Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers In Paradise

Address: 40 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Backpackers In Paradise 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Backpackers In Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers In Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Surfers Paradise with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Backpackers In Paradise staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer