We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backpackers In Paradise

40 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Backpackers In Paradise
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Backpackers In Paradise
Add Photo

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    73
    53
    20
    25
    36
See reviews for
3
26
57
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (207)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week with a big group of friends, great way to start our trip to Australia! The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were a decent size and sociable. There's a pool, little bar and TV room, 5 mins walk from shops and beach so decent location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ve been living here for the last moths. Nice people! Nowadays is low season but there is new interesting people to meet everyday. It has ping pong, pool and green place near the pool and comfortable couchs and hammocks to sleep a siesta. It is 3 blocks from the best places to go out at night in Surfers Paradise.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good sized rooms, clean, friendly and helpful staff, go out with the hostel don't be tricked into street bar crawls!, no alcohol allowed due to there being a bar. TV, no free wifi but cheap to buy. Laundry facilities. Party hostel. Would go back again. Good location. Kitchen small cannot always find cutlery no oven just hobs. Only downside one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

This hostel is perfect if you want to have a few relaxing days in Surfer's paradise. Quiet, clean, cute place. Receptionist staff is super friendly and gave us a free upgrade of our room to a double room, which made the stay even better. However I think the staff working in the common areas was less friendly and somewhat careless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

Honestly the best Backpackers I have ever stayed at in my life! The friendliest most helpful staff you will ever meet, great prices, unreal facilities with a pool, spa, bar, pool tables, ping pong, and so much more, reps that can take you out partying in the best spots in surfers paradise every night of the week! It just doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

Had a great time here the guy on reception upgraded me rooms just because he was in a good mood on his birthday, then took everyone out on a club crawl, I'm travelling alone so he introduced me to the staff and gave me free drinks on the crawl. The bar was pretty cheap and the bar man had good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

In their advertisment it said "where the party is" and that is definitely not true, haha. It was pretty busy, but quiet. No drinks allowed. Room was cool (def a plus), but my bed was sunken down in the middle, lockers were broken, bathroom old and filthy, and roomies rude and loud. The kitchen was ok but got really crowded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_BIP, General Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi Louise, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are currently in the process of refurbishing the room you were staying in. This week we have changed all the mattresses and we are putting in a new shower next week. Our lockers are unfortunately constantly being vandalised and we try to fix them asap. Ask for... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Had such a great time at back packers in paradise, rooms were nice and such friendly staff! The blonde girl at reception was super lovely and helped us out heaps! But big ups to the bartender lee! Made us feel so comfortable and had the best Customer services skills we have come across whilst being across the ditch! Would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

such a great atmosphere with great people :-) got upgraded for free!!!! has so many amazing opportunities to meet people (big night out) bartender had a great personality along with great looks! strongly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Such a great hostel so much fun , friendly staff , lovely and clean great nights out ! Frank and Anna the reception staff were amazing such great help I would really recommend it you'll have so much fun :) has a pool and bar as well and a shop everything is there for u best hostel x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam_BIP, General Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Adam Cobb General Manager Backapackers In Paradise More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay