We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Surfers Paradise accommodations

Backpackers In Paradise

3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   40 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Backpackers In Paradise
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Backpackers In Paradise to your Saves list
65%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Maddy S
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    39
    14
    19
    25
See reviews for
2
15
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When we arrived we were hesitant, everyone seemed to be in groups and because the tables are quite spread out we thought it might be tough meeting people... However, the staff were so friendly and welcoming (even the cleaners) we had no trouble meeting people. Waterpong was a highlight- lots of fun!! The pool is nice and the sofa area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hostel just one night but we really did enjoy our stay here. As we wanted privacy we booked double room just for me and my partner. Room was little bit smaller but had everything what you need. We shared bathroom with another 2 rooms what isn't too bad. Everything was clean and staff was friendly. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your awesome review. This feedback really helps us strengthen our hostel in regards to customer service and all of our facilities. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us & i will pass on all feedback to the staff you mentioned in your review :). Thanks again & enjoy your travels.... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay in surfers paradise while backpacking, specially if travelling solo, this place offers great deals at night clubs and day trips and there is lots of fun people to hang out with. Rooms are very clean and there are a lot of bedroom options, you can stay at your own room or share with up to 20... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your awesome review. This feedback really helps us strengthen our hostel in regards to customer service and all of our facilities. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us & i will pass on all feedback to the staff you mentioned in your review :). Thanks again & enjoy your travels.... More

Roma, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I had such a great time here I thought I would share it with everyone I first arrived here on my own late at night after a long flight I was greeted by alex behind the desk he was really helpful and helped me to come out of my shell and get involved more. they have great facilities here and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your awesome review. This feedback really helps us strengthen our hostel in regards to customer service and all of our facilities. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us & i will pass on all feedback to the staff you mentioned in your review :). Thanks again & enjoy your travels.... More

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

travelling alone can be daunting but having made it to surfers paradise, im happy that i came to this hostel, where the staff and all the guests are very welcoming and friendly, they have good facilities; swimming pool, cinema sized screen, convenient shop and bar (although slightly overpriced and could do with more choice, but woolworths is just down the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your awesome review. This feedback really helps us strengthen our hostel in regards to customer service and all of our facilities. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us & i will pass on all feedback to the staff you mentioned in your review :). Thanks again & enjoy your travels.... More

Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Creates opportunities to meet long term friends from all over the world. Everything from day time beach pleasure to night time club action is within just a few steps away. Alex at the front desk, is an absolute legend! He will go out of his way to make sure you have a solid stay not only at the hostel but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi Sean, Firstly thank you for taking the time to write us a fantastic review about the Hostel. It is great to hear that you had a great time at Backpackers in Paradise. We will pass on the comment to Alex. It''s great to hear that you found a 4-bed the right room for yourself to stay in. Thanks again... More

Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

When I moved to the Gold Coast 8 months ago, Backpackers in Paradise was my first home. Now, as I say goodbye to the Gold Coast, I'll always call BiP my home away from home. I was first drawn to the hostel for its low rates and central location Surfers and its public transport. But the friendly staff and comfy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your awesome review. This feedback really helps us strengthen our hostel in regards to customer service and all of our facilities. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us & i will pass on all feedback to the staff you mentioned in your review :). Thanks again & enjoy your travels.... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Came here with a group of 15 people. We were sorted into rooms and all was good, up until this small English woman storms into our room in a rude manner and says she's taking all our alcohol without explaining why. Which obviously confused us but we weren't offered an explanation or even given one when we asked. She was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Firstly I would like to respond by letting you know that this review would not have gone up if you and your group did not brake the rules of our hostel. Due to having a fully licenced bar on site there is a no byo rule. After we had confiscated one lot of alcohol from your group we... More

Geelong, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The main feature of this hostel is the fact that is cheap. Not too far away from trams, restaurants and the beach, the hostel is great if you are a surfer looking for the perfect wave... but is not bad even if you are just looking for a pillow to lay your head on :) Nice beer garder, vivid hostel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there :). Thanks firstly for reviewing us & secondly for the positive feedback, It's great to hear our guests have enjoyed the party vibe & our location which is something were often complimented on. As for our price it's great to hear you think we are good value for money :). We are sorry you thought our hostel was... More

Launceston, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The room we chose are the ones with 20 people around you but know what? It was incredibly clean and spacious for a 20 pax backpackers standard. Especially the bathroom, they are cleaned everyday and it was always clean and hairless when I'm using it during late night(means that everyone should have done their washing).Beds are fairly good and you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there :). Thanks firstly for reviewing us & secondly for the positive feedback, It's great to hear our guests have enjoyed the party vibe & our location which is something were often complimented on. As for our price it's great to hear you think we are good value for money :). Thanks again & we hope to see you... More

Do you own or manage Backpackers In Paradise?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Backpackers In Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers In Paradise

Address: 40 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Backpackers In Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Backpackers In Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers In Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Backpackers In Paradise