We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backpackers In Paradise

3.5 of 5 40 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Backpackers In Paradise
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Backpackers In Paradise
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    40
    15
    21
    30
See reviews for
2
19
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (168)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I appreciate that this is a budget hostel so wasn't expecting it to be amazing, but the staff that are supposed to be 'cleaners' are non existent. A couple of times someone came in to my room (4 bed dorm with one completely obnoxious and inconsiderate roommate) but all they did was change the bin and straighten the towel outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is probably thr worst hostel in Australia. Totally dirty, with no kitchen (its not possible to call it kitchen), with terribles toilets and with stupid stuff. To make it worst, its plagued of cockroachs. Please dont stay in this terrible place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hello, We thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and we are very sorry to hear about your experience here. I would like to note that we do have a full use kitchen, yes it may get a bit dirty but we have cleaners on all day that go do a sweep of the kitchen every while... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this hostel is in my top two or three, so far in my travels.I only stayed 2 nights, but had a great couple of nights out with the hostel. I came here due to some reccomendations & wasn't disappointed. The hostel is smack bang in the middle of the city.Its got a big courtyard & there's always a nice chilled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hey There!! Thank you for the awesome review!! We are so thrilled you had a radical time here with us!! You are always more than welcome to come back!! We hope the rest of your travels go amazing for you! And hope to see you again!! Regards Backpackers In Paradise More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in a lot of hostels in my life, but this one is truely the worst one of all i have experienced. The room was just filthy, I went to the shower and I felt cleaner before than after. The same goes for the kitchen, or should I say the area where I could find a couple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there, We thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Firstly I would like to point out the fact that our kitchen has over a hundred backpackers using it who sometimes people do not clean up after themselves we understand that it will get messy from time to time but we do have cleaners on all day.... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

People were smoking the fun stuff right by the pool and in the public areas. We got 5 cockroaches in our room in two days, the bathroom windows didn't close, so the cockroaches came in there and from under the door. There's more, a big spider also came crawling in from under the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear about your experience. There are over 150 backpackers ranging from the ages 18-30 here and we can not control or keep an eye on everyone all the time, we do not tolerate any drugs or personal alcohol on premises and we try very hard... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at this hostel and at first I was fairly impressed, the reception is sat in the middle of the outdoor common area which was well painted in bright colours, clean sofas, lots of benches and tables, fairy lights and music playing, I felt a good vibe... then I went to my room. I have never slept so poorly in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great stay over the last weekend, we moved to this hostel after staying at another in Main Beach. The atmosphere was this backpackers best tribute. The courtyard was good for socializing and was always good music playing. The room was a little hot and we did have some food stolen out of the fridge, but overall I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your time to review our hostel! We are so pleased that you were satisfied with your stay! Glad to hear you had a great time, thats what we want for all our guests!! Please come back anytime! Regards Backpackers In Paradise More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in this hostel for 3 nights, because we wasn't there during the day I can't comment on the atmosphere by the pool etc but in general the staff and guests seemed friendly. Any problems we had were sorted out by the reception guy joe bridge, always smiling and ready to help where ever he can, even to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hey there! Its so great to hear that you had a great experience! That is what we aim for here! Joe is a great assets to our hostel and we will relay the message of great work onto him! Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel! Regards Backpackers In Paradise More 

Ripon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked to stay here for 5 nights but ended up checking out after 3.... It just really wasn't our type of place! The kitchen it tiny and absolutely filthy!! Honestly the worst kitchen I've seen whilst I've been travelling Australia - it was foul. Our room was actually ok... We paid a little extra for a double room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markus_bip, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We apologize for the experience you had. Our kitchen is on the small side yes but you have to remember the kitchen is being shared between 150 backpackers and not everyone cleans up after themselves. We do have cleaners that are on all day and try to keep... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place was ok. It's a backpackers, it's what you'd expect for the money. I asked reception staff twice about checking out and told them that I was leaving early (5am) as I had a plane to catch. They told me this would be no problem. However when I checked out I was told that I couldnt get my key... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Backpackers In Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers In Paradise

Address: 40 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Backpackers In Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Backpackers In Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers In Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay