We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Breakfree Peninsula

Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Breakfree Peninsula
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We experienced a wonderful family holiday at the Peninsula. Our room was spacious for four of us and had a good view and much needed air conditioning. Would definitely rebook as you do not need a car because it is so convenient to everything.

Helpful?
Thank Angelique F
Ulverstone, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at Breakfree Peninsula for 7 nights in late Jan '16, and had a fantastic spacious 2 bedroom apartment with views to dream of! Location was perfect, an easy 3 minute walk to Cavill Ave, and directly across from the beach. The 3 pools were great too, and kept our kids entertained. The only slight negative from the stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tas-Aus-family
PeninsulaGC, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for staying at BreakFree Peninsula, I have to agree our location is perfect with everything you could want for in walking distance, the beautiful pristine beaches, shopping, dining, it really is a wonderful place to play and stay. I apologise to you for the level of service you received from my team on the front line, there... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Do not expect service and neither a warm friendly staff. The apartment I had on level 1 was old and superficially cleaned. The corridors smells rubbish. At the arrival we had to run to the supermarket and buy air sprays. Service to the room is only after 8 days of stay so for any shorter stay you have to dry... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jana C
PeninsulaGC, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review

It saddens me to hear that you will not be recommending BreakFree Peninsula to others. I note your comments regarding the level of service you received and wish to offer my sincerest apologies, we pride ourselves on our courteous and friendly service and I have raised these matters with the team. Your booking was over our highest peak season where... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

We stayed in apartment 18A for 4 nights recently, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Location wise, it is one of the best we have stayed in in Surfers Paradise, with only a few minutes to the left to get to Cavill Avenue, spectacular views of the beach, and close topublic transport (we didn't hire a car for our stay, just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy B
PeninsulaGC, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, we are happy you enjoyed your time here at BreakFree Peninsula. Next year we will be doing foyer refurbishment and this will bring a lovely modern feel to an iconic Gold Coast building. It pleases me to hear that you will be returning, we look forward to welcoming you back. Have a lovely Christmas... More 

Wairarapa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

the view was amazing there was a balcony that ran the length of both bedrooms and the lounge so when we were sleeping you could get fresh air we had 2 bathrooms and it was at a very reasonable price we were directly across the road from the beach and we didn't find there was much if any road noise... More 

Helpful?
Thank maramamax
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Simply outdated, cables hanging out of the wall for the tv, bathroom and kitchen needs some work, fixtures broken, pictures on the wall are from my grandmas house, and there's a a random mattress just sitting in the lounge room??? at least it's in a good location

Helpful?
1 Thank justin_005
PeninsulaGC, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review

I am regetful that you did not bring this to my attention during your stay as we could have been given a chance to rectify the problem, I do apologise to you for any inconvenience that you entcountered during your stay. I would ask you if you could kindly email me the apartment number you stayed in as I need... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

Will not recommend this place to anyone. Paid for a two bedroom apartment only got one. Could've stayed at the Q1 and be guaranteed a perfect room for the same price. Old and rusty. Utterly disappointed to say the least. No aircon in the lounge/kitchen area. I now understand why there are no photos of the bathroom on your facebook... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nima S
PeninsulaGC, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review

I am writing in response to the reviews you have posted on social media and Trip Advisor. I am regretful that these issues were not brought to my attention during your stay and I am sorry that you would not recommend BreakFree Peninsula. Your paperwork from your agent confirmed you had booked and paid for a one bedroom apartment, we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

The view was magnificent, the living room looked out over the beach and we had a balcony with 180 views of the ocean and hinterland. Spacious apartment with a modern kitchen. Bathrooms weren't so crash with a little mould in the showers and ceilings. Beds were comfortable and our pillows were so beautiful to rest our heads on after a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha_E15
PeninsulaGC, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review

Hi ... thanks for your review, you know it's been a good holiday when you don't want to go home....with our great views looking out to the Pacific Ocean and spacious apartments in a perfect location...no body wants to go home!!! I aplogise about the bathroom, you should have let us know and we would have rectified the problem for... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

This was our second stay at Breakfree Peninsula, although this time we upgraded to a deluxe apartment - 11B. After arriving very late, we were glad of the smooth after-hours check in and was pleasantly surprised at the modern apartment which was very spacious, nicely decorated with a new kitchen and very clean. One of the most comfortable bed and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JayJay015
PeninsulaGC, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor... I like your tip on booking our deluxe apartments....guaranteed ocean views, air conditioning, with a modern feel for a few extra $$$ it is absolutely worth it...I am happy your after hours check in went nice and smooth and you were able to relax with a comfy bed and pillows... The choice... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015 via mobile

My family & I stayed for 5 days in a 2 bedroom deluxe apartment & what could we say but..... WOW! The 180 degree gorgeous view, the prestine, clean & modern condition of our apartment! We thoroughly enjoyed the pools, loved being so close to the beach & Caville Avenue. Already looking at when we can rebook! The staff were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sacha W
PeninsulaGC, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Looks like we have ticked a few boxes - I am so pleased you liked our deluxe apartments they are definately worth the few extra $$$, those magnificent ocean views combined with our perfect location are a definate 'WOW' factor. I will pass your comments onto my team, they... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

210 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (193)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
#38 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#39 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#24 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#16 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
#55 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Regency Apartments
Surf Regency Apartments
#42 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay