We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paradise Island Resort

Hotel website
1 Paradise Island, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Announcement
FREE CAR PARKING!!!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Island Resort
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Paradise Island Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    13
    5
    5
    12
See reviews for
11
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The manager Matt was arrogant. Not helpful at all. Total waste of time. Pool was dirty. Room was not clean. Beds were disgusting, they were worn and ripped. Carpet was also worn and tacks were coming through. Rust and dust on door frames. walls were badly marked. Would not recommend anyone to stay there. Noisy. Visited by police often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in a studio apartment for 3 nights. It was clean and tidy and had everything I needed and it suited me just fine. It had a small fridge, microwave, kettle and some crockery & cutlery. I was on the Gold Coast for work and on my own but there was more than enough room for 2 people and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks DSB for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our studio apartments are perfect for a short stay for one or 2 people (we can fit one extra rollaway for kids if required). There's no cooking facilities in the rooms (just the basics you mentioned), but we're such a short walk to restaurants that it doesn't... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Place looks like it could do with a bit of a face lift. Although it does appear they are in the process of that. Room was neat and tidy, close to most things, but the main thing was it was well within our budget. Would have liked free wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Walkersland, Thanks for your 5/5 review of our Resort. We certainly do hope to provide good value for money, and you're right, we could do with a bit of a face lift. The good news is that is already happening. We recently completed the painting of all of the interior common areas of the Resort (corridors, doors and lobby),... More 

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Paradise Island Resort has a four star location and a two and a half accommodation. Our check-in was cordial and efficient and all was well until we opened the door to our room on the first floor. Whilst the cleanliness of the unit was OK we found non matching furnishings, non matching cutlery and crockery. The lounge was extremely tired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Robert, Thanks for a very honest review. Yes, unfortunately a couple of our rooms are a bit tired. With the rooms being independently owned it can be a battle sometimes to get owners to spend money updating their properties. We have been working very hard since December to get the message across to all owners that we need to... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My lovely man and I flu over from Auckland NZ arrived early at the resort (23 July) very tired and staff wasted no time in allowing us to book into our apartment early so we could get settled and rest up a little. This place was suitable to our requirements and needs. We were very impressed from the moment we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Karen, What a great review of Paradise Island Resort. Thank you very much. We'd love to have you back again. I'm sure your teenagers will make great use of our facilities: games room, gym, tennis court, pool, spa. You're right about the restaurant, it is disappointing and would definitely be a great spot for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were check in after 5pm, there was no one in the reception. We called the intercom, was advised to get the key from a satety box located next to the entrance. We tried so hard to open the box, but it didn't work. Luckily, a lady who work in the resort just started her shift, she helped us to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Maryanne, I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at Paradise Island Resort. Unfortunately, our receptionist was correct about booking rooms together. If your agent does not specifically arrange it prior to booking then we cannot guarantee it on arrival, particularly when we are fully booked. For special requests like this it's much more reliable... More 

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't waste your money staying here. Stayed 5 nights last week of July. Booked 6 weeks in advance. Staff are nice and helpful with your enquiries. Pool is nice. And that's where the goodness STOPS!! I'm not the kind of person that ever complains but this place was below average. Bed was so uncomfortable the first night I got a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Nath, Thanks for your review, although I must say, our entire team were very surprised to read it. For the time you and your partner were here it seemed that you were having a great time. Strange that you would say that you're not the kind of person that ever complains then spend so much time on this review.... More 

Denpasar, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

My partner and I have stayed in Surfers Paradise many times and this place is up there with the best. We were very impressed from the moment we were checked in by the friendly helpful staff. It really has a holiday resort feel about it. So central to everything the coast has to offer. We had booked a rental car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you ProViper for another great review. We're so glad we have been able to continue to provide a high level of service for you. You're right about the car; while we do offer free carparking, you'll hardly need it. We're a short walk to Cavill Mall, the Beach, Q1, shops and restaurants. Otherwise the bus and tram stops are... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

The apartment was very clean, well furnished ,had great views, awesome parking and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was only a short walk into the city centre. Good restaurants and takeaways 2 mins walk away. Easy drive to fun parks. Coffee cart at reception. We would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Clare, Thanks for your great review of Paradise Island Resort, and we'd love to have you stay with us again. Glad to hear that your room is clean as this has been a criticism of the resort in the past. Our new cleaners are working very hard to improve the poor standards set by the previous management team. Unfortunately... More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

I stayed at paradise Island Resort for 6 nights on level 2 room 224B, on arrival we were greeted by reception and informed of all the hotels inclusions including steam room Gym and pool. The room itself was located facing the river and Surfers paradise buildings, not a bad spot in deed, the room smelt a little like marijuana apparently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Zoe, Thanks for letting us know about your stay at Paradise Island Resort. I can assure you that "clean enough" is not good enough for us. I have passed on your feedback to housekeeping in the hope that these kinds of things do not happen again. Although our accommodation is quite basic, one thing that we should be able... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Islander Resort Hotel
Islander Resort Hotel
#21 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Australis Sovereign Hotel
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santana Holiday Resort Apartments
Santana Holiday Resort Apartment...
#6 of 13 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Budds Beach Apartments
Budds Beach Apartments
#98 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
#71 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Paradise
Beachcomber Resort Surfers Parad...
#88 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay