We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paradise Island Resort

Hotel website
1 Paradise Island, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradise Island Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Paradise Island Resort
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    5
    9
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed with some friends in early April, the resort was great ! friendly staff on check in who helped us with tickets and wheres good to check out. the room was nice, shame that the restaurant was closed because of clive palmer, the pool and spa were amazing. Definitely will be back to this resort, so close to everything and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sophie, We're so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us, and that you have taken the time to report back to us. As a Manager, it's great to get such positive feedback about our reception staff. I also think they're doing an awesome job. We're working on re-opening the restaurant, hopefully next time you're back we'll... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you for another wonderful stay. Couldn't believe it was the same place when we walked in - refurbished rooms are looking great. This resort has an excellent location, walking distance to Surfers Paradise but surrounded by peaceful waterways and private gardens. Great to see the new managers giving the building the TLC it needs. Customer service couldn't be faulted.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

What a great review. Thanks Zoe. We really have been working hard since mid-December to improve the quality of stay for our guests, and feedback like yours makes it all worthwhile. We've come a long way in a short space of time. The general look and feel of the Resort has improved dramatically (and will look even better after the... More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we loved the location of the resort. It was right near Surfers which was nice and parking was included which help keep expenses down for us Upon arrival we checked in and got a room that had not been cleaned what so ever. We luckily got another room (the lady at the front was. Wry good about it) but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Caity, Thank you for your feedback. Our location and our free parking are two great features of our Resort. Thanks for pointing that out. I'm sorry the rest of your stay was not up to your expectations. We have been working very hard to improve the Resort since the change of management in December, but these things do take... More 

Albion Park, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in a brilliant position...I loved sitting on the verandah every afternoon after a long day at nursing school....the price was exellent...the room was nice....the pool area is beautiful and this place is very quiet...nice and peaceful...I stayed for 2 weeks and the only thing negative I have to say is that there was no house keeping in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi jaknamaste, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our Resort. We do have some great features which you've highlighted, including our location and our awesome swimming pool. It is very peaceful laying by the pool. We also have a gym with sauna, a spa, tennis court and free secure parking. Hopefully soon we'll... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Getting a good room here is a lottery. Even the manager agrees some rooms are worse than others. Don't bother about trying to sleep in on your holiday, these guys fire up the vacuum cleaners in the early hours of the morning right outside your door...once again don't complain because the manager really doesnt care...stay away

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Shaun. Thanks for your review although it is a little disingenuous isn't it. You have never actually stayed at our hotel as a guest have you. Using TripAdvisor as a weapon in a personal matter is in poor taste. The new management care deeply about the feedback from guests as we have shown time & time again. Sure some... More 

Barellan Point
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 via mobile

the view was obviously just of the other high rises, the amenities weren't that wonderful. Staff were a run around would never give you a straight answer and they took 3 weeks to refund my deposit. But it's all in the price you pay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lachlan, Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort, although I notice you stayed at the Resort almost a year ago. A lot has changed around here in a year. The Resort is under new management and looks and feels a lot different than it did back then. We have been working very hard upgrading rooms, providing... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

we stayed here for 3 nights early march, we were a bit worried after reading previous reviews. my husband had stayed here on a previous occassion. we arrived very early and left our bags planning to return at check in time which was 2pm we checked in later at 2pm and were greeted by a young lady who was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Brettnsue, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. Yes, we've had a few reviews in the past which are less than satisfactory, but you're right, we are working very hard to turn things around. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations. Some of the rooms are a little tired, but we make sure they are... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

we had a studio room on 2 nd floor there was no phone no sky tv we only caught 12 cockroaches when I told the cleaner she said she would look into the problem. 1 toilet roll to last a week. cane furniture very sad looking very disappointed would not stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi IAN, I am sorry your room did not meet expectations. We are a 3 star resort, and do not offer SkyTv. Our units are unserviced, so we only provide housekeeping services for stays of longer than 1 week. As our rooms are individually owned they are furnished and fitted out as per the owners taste. We are in the... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend here for a week in March. Very handy being so near everything it was my first time in Australia so I didnt know much about the place but the staff were so helpfull and friend especially Erin rooms were nice and clean I'm fussy where I stay and would definitely recommend the place

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Theak, Thanks for taking the time to review our Resort. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to have such positive feedback after all of the hard work we have put in since our change of management in December. Our cleaners will be happy to hear that their standard is high enough for someone... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my family stayed here for a week and we loved the place. Right across the road from the centre of surfers but far enough away from the noise. The staff were so friendly especially the irish girl Erin was so nice and dis everything she could for us . rooms were lovely and cleab would definitely recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagementP_IResort, General Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi robynlewis, What a great review for our Resort and our staff. We have been working very hard since our change of Management in December to ensure that our guests have a happy and memorable stay at Paradise Island Resort. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Location is a great feature. But so is our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question