We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 74 Surfers Paradise hotels

Mantra Sun City

4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mantra Sun City to your Saves list
Mantra Sun City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
64%
Ranked #36 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
sara3232 Moree, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (523)
  • Photos (277)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (127)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    161
    80
    60
    55
See reviews for
194
144
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moree, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked here during a Mantra sale but would pay full price any day. Booked the ocean view apartment which was clean and tidy and very spacious with full kitchen, laundry etc etc. The photos of the outdoor pool don't do justice as it is just awesome. With 2 decent sized watersides, it makes a great/entertaining place for children... Not to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Front desk rude.. room not clean they take a holding deposit off $200 and dont tell u till pay forit and when u leave they call and charge u for extras on the doposit held you pay for it .dont stay there

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I found the staff very helpfull and accomodating, the apartment was nicely decorated and spacious and views were fantastic. However we were very dissapointed with the cleanliness, especially due to the price we paid for one nights stay. The kitchen and bathrooms were dirty and we sighted approximately six cockroaches in the kitchen. Unfortunately due to the cleanliness we will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My parents fell in love with place. They live in Brisbane amd are always in surfers they love it but never stayed at Sun City before. They loved it so much they r going to move there. It's 5 mins walk from Cavell but now there is a tram which stops right at front door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review

Dear lausJ, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your parents recent short break. I'm very pleased that they enjoyed their stay and the positiona and facilities of Mantra Sun City resort. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you when you're visiting them once they move. Regards Damian Sillars General Manager Mantra Sun City... More

Milton, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We four women (aged 66 - 73) were very happy in our two bedroomed apartment. The kitchen was fine with fridge, toaster, kettle etc. and pantry and the space in the lounge and bedrooms was just great. TV's in all rooms. Bathrooms and water pressure good too. We were pleased to have our own laundry with washer and dryer, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Polly EG, Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent 9 night stay with us at Mantra Sun City resort. We are very pleased that the four of you enjoyed the fully self contained apartment, resort facilities and the local restaurants and shopping. I'm also personally pleased that the My:G was open and you... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked in on the 9th of August. The reception staff were amazing and so so lovely. We were on level 8 in room 803. The place was lovely. Two bathroom, two bedrooms and a walk in robe in the main bedroom. The views even from the 8th floor was amazing. Will be staying here again for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Tori N, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City resort. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards Damian Sillars General Manager Mantra Sun City resort More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On check in, the room was not ready and we were told we would be called when it was although nobody called. When we finally checked in the keys didn't work for the room which meant a second trip from the 22nd floor with all our luggage. Not a great start. Even though the room was a good size it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review

Dear mden60, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Sun City resort. Fristly I would like to apologise that you were not called when your room was ready and secondly that the keys did not initially work, this is most unfortuante. I also wish to apologise regarding the cleanliness issues mentioned above;... More

Brisbane
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic location and the most stunning views, the cleanliness of my room was also a plus - wouldn't change them for anything, however the room was tired with cracks in the walls, paint peeling off around light switches and fixtures, the blankets were rough and unpleasant. The buffet breakfast was the most disappointing for me. $24 for sloppy scrambled eggs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review

Good morning KristenMB, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City resort. I appreciate your feedback on the room and that the views and cleanliness were positive; I am disappointed to hear about the cracks and paint peeling, our painter is currently working throught the rooms and I'm sure will get... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great big apartment on the 14 floor with great views. Staff so friendly with attention to detail & customer service a priority. Highly recommend this place, perfect location and a bonus with the new tram directly out the front eliminating the need for car hire. we will defiantly be back. Only Negative I can mention was the $20 per hour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Beau W, Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent experience with us. I'm pleased you enjoyed the property but great to read that our team provided great customer service was, fantastic. I'm sorry that the late check out fee is in place, this is just ta cost recovery from a housekeeping productivity perspective.... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although we booked late, the room was extremely overpriced for what it was. While it was a good size, it was very dated and the beds were hard and uncomfortable. They were only made up with a sheet, any blankets we needed we had to get out of the cupboard. The bathroom was a good size however there was only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Damian_Sillars, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Chris L, I thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Mantra Sun City resort. I appreciate your feelings that the room was overpriced as you booked late; as occupancy increases on the Gold Coast we increase our prices based on supply and demand. I thank you for your feedback on the common... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mantra Sun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Address: Ocean Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

277 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (254)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (38)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Surfers Paradise with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise #12 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise #24 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
199

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mantra Sun City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer