We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 74 Surfers Paradise hotels

Islander Resort Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Islander Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Islander Resort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
Ranked #50 of 74 hotels in Surfers Paradise
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
runner75_12 Toowoomba, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (178)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (109)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    61
    41
    22
    25
See reviews for
35
57
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for about 3 nights, however we weren't impressed with the hostel. The staff weren't very helpful or friendly. I think the main issue with it was that it was so big that it was hard to meet anyone. Not to mention for such a tiny hostel they had a tiny kitchen! Although the rooms were very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was clean and tidy , shower nice and hot and bed comfy,central to everything, walking distance to shops , undercover parking.service was great, open 24 hours , we will definitely be back to stay .

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Runner75_12, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Islander and look forward to welcoming you on your return. As noted we offer a premium city centre location with excellent facilities for a budget Hotel. The new light rail line opens on the 20th of July and the closest stop is less than 100 meters from our... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This old girl is certainly showing her age. Half of it has been turned over to backpacking and is a bargain although not really a back packing atmosphere. it is very close to the action and the beach. The people are friendly but the whole place is certainly run down. The wi-fi is appalling so do not pay for it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lee L, Thank you for taking the time to note concerns about your recent stay, you are correct in noting that we are an old property, but we do feel we still offer excellent value for money given our price point and city centre location. The property consists of a Hotel tower offering Hotel rooms and One Bedroom apartments,... More

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stay here for 5D4N,book two rooms that come with breakfast,my mum room air con heater is not working,when you use the basin tap,the water come out is rusty/dirty water but they fix it during room cleaning which was good. The bed is comfortable. I think they need to refurnish the hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ng76sk, Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience. We are sorry that you experienced a problem with your heater but do offer 24 hour Reception to report any problems on future visits. I am pleased to hear that Maintenance attended to the water problem. Kind Regards Dean Cooper More

suffolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed here for a week and half at the end of January, I stayed in the hostel, it's very basic and I guess you can't except much. When I arrived it was 4 in the morning and someone else was in my bed number so I stayed in the clean bed but the next day I had a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The room was clean though looks bit old. Strategy wise is good, you may find convenience store, plenty of restaurant nearby including Hard Rock and walking distance beach. During midnight, you may hear people drunk walking around in the hotel especially on weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were a little concerned upon arrival that we had booked a back packers hostel The term "resort" was used generously! However, the room was clean and comfortable ( once the reception staff resolved the problem of initially sending us to a room that had not been made up from its previous guests!) The internet only works on the lower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Islander is a good place if you are a backpacker. Rooms were fairly clean. Bathroom was quite poor, the taps didn't seem to work very well If not at all some times, and the shower wasn't much better. The shower head was that low I had I bend down to wash my hair standing at 5 foot 5. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were traveling through on a road trip and stayed for one night after finding a deal on Last Minute. The hallways and room smells funny, has a general run down feel complete with leaky taps and a dirty shower (the shower had hairs in it). The balcony railings felt flimsy and unsafe. The air conditioner was noisy and affected... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DCandBH, Our sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations, we do appreciate your feedback and will ensure it is forwarded to the Hotel owner for future planning. Regards Dean Cooper General Manager More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

For $119 a night it's actually quite crap, bathroom is literally falling apart and rotting, there is a flat screen tv but it looks like it doesn't belong here because the rest of the room is soo bad. The only sink is the rusty bathroom one so they expect you to use that for drinking water and the kettle :/

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Islander Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Surfers Paradise with
any amenities

Been to Islander Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort Hotel

Address: 6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Islander Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Surfers Paradise
Islander Surfers Paradise
Islander Resort Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Islander Resort Hotel is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, only a block from the famous Surfers Paradise Beach and the excitement of Cavill Avenue. The hotel is located on the corner of Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd, only a short walk to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Accommodation consists of Standard Hotel Rooms or One Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature a private balcony, tea/coffee facilities, air conditioning, refrigerator, clock radio and in-room safe. Apartments also have full kitchen facilities.Guests can enjoy free use of full resort facilities including tropical outdoor pool, spa, steam room, tennis and squash courts. Other hotel facilities include 24 hour internet café, on-site bottleshop, 24 hour reception, tour desk, on-site car rental, laundry facilities and limited undercover parking. Vegas in Paradise Restaurant, Bar and Gaming lounge is located on the ground floor and a new outdoor café is now open serving fresh coffee and snacks. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
100

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer