We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Surfers Paradise hotels

Islander Resort Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 2 Save 15%
Islander Resort Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Trevor F
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    70
    55
    26
    38
See reviews for
45
69
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (222)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Islander Resort Hotel and Hostel is by far the best stay I've had in my two years travelling around Australia. The rooms are a little dated compared to some of the competition in Surfers, but the price can not be beaten. The rooms are cleaned daily, and the hotel and hostel patrons have access to a pool, spa and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

so lets get this right they are saying they are a 3 star place OMG that could not be further from the truth Now my daughter and i arrived at this so called 3 star place we were guttered to be honest the shower was dirty and to say the least the water was either way too hot or too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kaylene 2015, Thank you for recognising our amazing staff who have attempted to rectify your issues. Due to Cyclone Marcia, we have had enormous amounts of rain on the Gold Coast which has resulted in many areas feeling damp, including hotel corridors. You will be pleased to know that we have replaced 5 floors with new hallway carpets and... More 

Gawler, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After leaving another hotel on check in, Staff were great and very accommodating. They gave us a great price and welcomed us. Room was great and very comfortable besides 2 issues. 1. shower head came to shoulder level making it very hard to wash hair 2. room cleaning not included in price (stayed for 6 nights) charged $2.20 for 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kerri B Thank you for your feedback. We're very happy we were able to assist with your stay on the Gold Coast after you had to move from another hotel. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback about our staff to the reservations and reception team; we pride ourselves on our friendly staff at the Islander. It sounds... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are average as the shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned air con doesn't work at all. Went to iron my shirt it had brown rust coming out of it when I rang housekeeping to get another iron no ok e answered ruined my new shirt!!!! Never staying again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goulburn, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner, myself and his brother booked for 3 nights. We ended up checking out the first morning. We got there to check in and we're told we booked a room for 2 and another shared room with the backpackers.This was incorrect as I double checked the booking on line before hand. I was not paying for 2 rooms. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pink2388, Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback on your recent stay with us at the Islander Resort Hotel. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at the Islander. It sounds like a mix up with your booking agent and our records caused the wrong room to not be ready when you checked in.... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was not expecting 5 star accommodations here, but to say it needs renovating is an understatement. I don't think anything has been touched since it was built. It was not clean. I will not be staying again. That said, if you don't mind dinginess it was a great location, friendly staff and free underground parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jcjamia Thank you for your review of your stay at the Islander. We're sorry that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. We're a 3 star resort with a fantastic location right in the heart of the Gold Coast. Our focus is on providing value for money clean and comfortable accommodation. There are plans to complete a soft re-furbishment... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel could do with some renovating however it's clean the rooms are large and l even have an ocean view!! The plus here is the location. It's only 1 block from the ocean and cavall avanue. There are restaurants everywhere as well as a supermarket and massage salons. The only negative for me was no free wifi. For the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear natmelb, Thank you for taking the time to review our property while noting our amazing city centre position offering “Location, Location, Location”. We are working hard on our Wi-Fi delivery and as yet are not able to offer an all-inclusive rate, we can however offer it a budget price point of $10.00 for three days. We look forward to... More 

Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is possibly the worst 'hotel' in Surfers Paradise. All the backpackers come here because it's cheap. It's right in the heart of Surfers Paradise. It's a tacky pink colour - Can't miss it. It's a very old hotel. All the walls are brick and the rooms are very dated. The brick walls makes it feel more like a prison... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucy L, We appreciate all feedback and welcome the opportunity to use the information provided to improve our product. This one has hurt our feelings though, our pink building is iconic in Surfers Paradise and pending refurbishment plans include this colour palette. Schoolies week is accommodated at the property, but future guests need to be mindful that this event... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Putting up with Surfers Paradise and all that comes with it is one thing, but would not stay another night in this place. No air con at all so the room was boiling, no wifi in the rooms, (the tv had 4 channels). Dated bathrooms, very very basic room, uncomfortable bed and a really noisy hotel due to its central... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were expecting an 8 bed dorm and got to our room and it was more of a two bedroom apartment with 2 bunks in each room. Very spacious, good location and the room got cleaned daily. Was really good value for money in comparison to some of the dorm rooms we have stayed in and paid more money for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annamaria370, We appreciate your excellent feedback on the spaciousness of our rooms and daily housekeeping services . We believe we offer great value for money as well and thank you for recognising this!. Regards Dean More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Islander Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort Hotel

Address: 6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Islander Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Surfers Paradise
Islander Surfers Paradise
Islander Resort Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay