We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Surfers Paradise hotels

Islander Resort Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free drink on arrival
Islander Resort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Joe R Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    66
    51
    23
    31
See reviews for
40
63
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (202)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place, secure, clean, very close to the beach, night markets are great on the esplanade. Transportation is close and services available are good. Rooms are cleaned daily and privacy is good. Nice place to stay and affordable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ahmedabad
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During our stay in Gold Coast from 19th to 22nd Noveember,2014 we stayed in this resort hotel. Resort is full of activities with students. Too noisy. Breakfast served is of average quality. For hot milk one has to wait. Room size is just sufficient. Sitting capacity in the reception lounge is limited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a so-so "motel" but generally clean to put up a night or 2 for the budget conscious. Breakfast was hot & adequate. Noise from the road can be heard, but it doesn't bother us. We booked a day tour (4WD hummer) across the hotel. It was pretty good. There is the ferries wheel also walking distance. Also the Surfer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Its dirty... I was there 3 days never seen anyone clean anything! The carpets in the room were so gross and there was mold in the showers! Staff was not helpful at all! Didn't know any of the local attractions besides the beach! Needs major work!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a few nights in a dorm. Good beds and space in the room. The cleanliness was ok, but the bathroom was not clean at all. We had a balcony which was good. The kitchen was good with many supplies but not too clean. The location is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

I arrived at 4am, I was in a foul mood so was initially unimpressed by a less than stella employee 'helping' me, but he was just grumpy so that's objective; I was checked in, given my key and after crashing for 4hours in a rather comfy bunk in a 4 bed dorm I was feeling much better about the place!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CharlotteFoxy, Thank you for your wonderfully kind words about our helpful staff and property cleanliness. 4am arrivals are never easy and I appreciate the "objective" take on the check in process, we will be sure to learn from this!. If you can recall your room number, I will have our Wi-Fi team troubleshoot the connectivity issue, I can be... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

What a revolting over priced complete scam , paid close to 400$ to stay for 3 nights , didn't even last 1 hour , service was rubbish upon arrival. Get to the room smelt like a dirty pub and piss , the carpet was revolting the bed was a Skelton of springs the whole room was falling down around us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear smntar, We are deeply sorry that we did not meet your basic expectations and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this caused your Gold Coast visit. Your harsh words have not gone unnoticed and I am pleased to see that a full refund was provided. We will ensure your feedback is forwarded to the Hotel owner. More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night, 3 guests. We only got 3 towels and called reception to ask for more towels and they said we couldn't because it was our check out date. How on earth do you use 2 towels for 3 adults!!! Also cockroaches everything, was disgusting and not worth even $10

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear such harsh comments about the Hotel. I can only assume that the Towel was a misunderstanding as we certainly allocate towels on a per person basis. I do apologise for this inconvenience and your overall experience, as with most properties we have a full pest management program in place. Please feel free to contact me... More 

Glenning Valley, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We love this place. Have stayed here 5 times now and will go back again and again. It is so handy to everything, being one street away from Cavill Avenue, across the road from Woolworths, the pub and games room downstairs, friendly and very helpful reception staff, and the beach is just a short walk up the road. If you're... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the wonderful feedback thanks Jeanie W. The Hotel has many return visitors that know they can access a relaxed and comfortable environment away from home. As you have noted, central Surfers Paradise is at your door step and offers an enjoyable experience for all age groups. We look forward to accommodating you on your next visit and thank... More 

Bendigo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

As per the title footy trip friendly! certainly not the flashest places I have stayed but a block off the beach, near Cavill Mall a pretty good location. It can be very busy and noisy but if you are in a bigger group it wont matter. Found the bar and security staff really good, talking about the bar it's open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Islander Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort Hotel

Address: 6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Islander Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Surfers Paradise
Islander Surfers Paradise
Islander Resort Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay