We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Islander Resort Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
3128 Surfers Paradise Boulevard | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Special Offer
Stay 2 nights & Save 15%
Islander Resort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Tiffany-lee M Noosa, Australia
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    77
    56
    29
    39
See reviews for
46
74
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (235)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Noosa, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's position is perfect! Its obviously no 5 star hotel so the amenities are average but for $100 a night in the middle of Surfers Paradise what do you expect! If I was looking for a romantic weekend away I probably wouldn't consider staying here but if you want to hit the nightclubs and party this is the place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tiffany-lee M Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the Islander Resort Hotel. We really appreciate guests taking time to tell us how they found their stay - it sounds like you had a fantastic time! We pride ourselves on our central Surfers Paradise location and strive to offer value for money accommodation with very competitive rates.... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friends and i stayed here for 2 nights. We stayed in a 4 person room with an en suite bathroom. The room was clean and tidy with ample living space. We even had a fridge and a tv to use in the room! The beds were comfortable however, they were ancient. They were extremely low down and not very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear laurag201596 Thanks for taking the time to submit your review of your stay at the Islander Resort Hotel. It sounds like you booked one of our four share dorm rooms with private bathrooms. These rooms are very budget friendly as they do not offer air conditioning. We do have pedestal fans available for guests in these rooms - I... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our 1st surprise was arriving to find the word BACKPACKERS emblazoned across the hotel. Help - that's not what we were planning! The online booking through agoda said 1pm check-in. Not so, 2pm. It said Free Parking. Not so, LIMITED free parking. Once we parked we felt we couldn't leave in our rental car as the possibility of not being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear anjietc Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate guests taking the time to submit feedback so we can improve on future guests experience. It sounds like you booked a backpacker private double/twin for your stay at the Islander Resort Hotel & Backpackers through Agoda. These rooms are cheaper as they don't supply AC (we do supply a pedestal fan)... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The toilet was filthy. As we checked in the service desk was way understaffed, and we were made to wait several times while phone was answered etc. The 'free' parking is LIMITED, and when full, can be paid for next door. Add this to a wifi charge (which was poor in the room) and you don't really have a cheap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear geebass Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay with us at the Islander Resort Hotel. Our apologies that our service didn't meet your expectations. In light of your feedback we have been working with our front office team to address staffing issues and check in times - there will be times when... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I sadly was forced to stay in the dump after a last minute trip to the Gold Coast fell in my lap. Half way through check in - the police and ambulance was called due to an issue in one of the rooms. I then asked for directions to a convenience store and was told "how would I know" When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lukebellanix, I am sincerely sorry to hear about your frustration and disappointment with your stay and our team. I have investigated this matter and can confirm that you were not in discussions with the General Manager as written. There are certainly numerous take outs which we can evaluate and improve on relative to the original complaint, but we will... More 

Beerwah, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at this hotel before and love the location for the price. We had a room with a double and a single bed. The room is clean with a small balcony. It has a jug, bar fridge and flat screen tv. Right in the middle of Surfers Paradise and walking distance to everything you need including Woolies. You can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela M H Thanks for your feedback; it sounds like you had a great time staying at the Islander. We 100% agree with you that our location is amazing...Surfers Paradise is literally on your doorstep! I believe you booked a backpacker private double/twin with private bathroom during your stay. These rooms don't have air conditioning but we supply a... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its not the classiest place. Its like an acceptable prison. However, its a great location. Good to stay for a few days (not too many), great to meet beautiful people and party with them. Squash court and pool and spa. I have to share a story...this hostel was the first place I stayed in Australia, and the last place I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the islander around december 2014. room was a good size and had all i needed in it. there where a few downsides however. The whole hallway had an strong smell of damp clothes the whole time i was there. The room however did not smell and thats the main thing. i did hear a lot of other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tacocat1 Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us at the Islander. We believe we offer some great facilities and an awesome central Surfers location for a budget friendly price so it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to hear of your feedback concerning the hallway carpets. Please be... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Rooms were gross, toilets had major problems, and rooms were generally dirty. Good value if you plan on never being IN your room though. Big spacious areas for kitchen and sitting rooms, quiet TV room, spa and large swimming pool. Not very good place to meet other travellers as the rooms are secluded and it's tough to make friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elisabeth O Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have 24 hour reception and a manager on duty at all times so it's disappointing to hear you felt the rooms weren't clean enough and there were issues with the toilet; if our managers... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

The location was absolutely great, beaches 5 minutes walking, surrounded by restaurants of all kind of food and public transport to the theme parks were so close. Right on the heart of surfers paradise. The room was really nice, we stayed 3 people in a room with a double and a single bed. They put a rollaway bed but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JuanitaCastano Thank you for your review; we really appreciate our guests feedback. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay at the Islander Resort Hotel. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the team at the Islander. We hope you'll be back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards Brooke More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question