We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Islander Resort Hotel

Hotel website
6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Save 15%
Islander Resort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
A recent review
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    72
    56
    27
    38
See reviews for
45
71
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (226)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were gross, toilets had major problems, and rooms were generally dirty. Good value if you plan on never being IN your room though. Big spacious areas for kitchen and sitting rooms, quiet TV room, spa and large swimming pool. Not very good place to meet other travellers as the rooms are secluded and it's tough to make friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elisabeth O Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have 24 hour reception and a manager on duty at all times so it's disappointing to hear you felt the rooms weren't clean enough and there were issues with the toilet; if our managers... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location was absolutely great, beaches 5 minutes walking, surrounded by restaurants of all kind of food and public transport to the theme parks were so close. Right on the heart of surfers paradise. The room was really nice, we stayed 3 people in a room with a double and a single bed. They put a rollaway bed but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JuanitaCastano Thank you for your review; we really appreciate our guests feedback. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay at the Islander Resort Hotel. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the team at the Islander. We hope you'll be back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards Brooke More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice comfortable place to stay in central surfers. Great bar downstairs with a decent pub style bistro and close to all attractions. Pool is nice and clean and the bar does great happy hour drink specials!

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aaron S Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your stay at the Islander Resort Hotel. It sounds like you had a great time staying with us. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the bistro and bar staff - we think they're great too and the meals are really yummy! We hope... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dont expect much from the islander. But if you're looking for somewhr cheap with good location, i strongly recommend Islander. Includes laundry facilities, free Sauna, pool and the breakfast that came along w the package wasnt that bad. Fruits, coffee/tea, juices, cereals and they offer vegetarian options. What we loved about it was the fact that we could literally walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liyana Y Thanks for your feedback. You've 100% nailed what's so great about the Islander: The location, our amazing staff, and budget friendly accommodation. We are smack bang in the heart of Surfers Paradise and walking distance to all of the key attractions in Surfers. Just in case our guests do want to catch the tram into Broadbeach or... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Islander Resort Hotel and Hostel is by far the best stay I've had in my two years travelling around Australia. The rooms are a little dated compared to some of the competition in Surfers, but the price can not be beaten. The rooms are cleaned daily, and the hotel and hostel patrons have access to a pool, spa and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trevor F Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a great time staying at the Islander. We believe in offering the best value for money accommodation in the heart of Surfers Paradise. We know that even with our great rates we need to have... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

so lets get this right they are saying they are a 3 star place OMG that could not be further from the truth Now my daughter and i arrived at this so called 3 star place we were guttered to be honest the shower was dirty and to say the least the water was either way too hot or too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kaylene 2015, Thank you for recognising our amazing staff who have attempted to rectify your issues. Due to Cyclone Marcia, we have had enormous amounts of rain on the Gold Coast which has resulted in many areas feeling damp, including hotel corridors. You will be pleased to know that we have replaced 5 floors with new hallway carpets and... More 

Gawler, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After leaving another hotel on check in, Staff were great and very accommodating. They gave us a great price and welcomed us. Room was great and very comfortable besides 2 issues. 1. shower head came to shoulder level making it very hard to wash hair 2. room cleaning not included in price (stayed for 6 nights) charged $2.20 for 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kerri B Thank you for your feedback. We're very happy we were able to assist with your stay on the Gold Coast after you had to move from another hotel. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback about our staff to the reservations and reception team; we pride ourselves on our friendly staff at the Islander. It sounds... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Rooms are average as the shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned air con doesn't work at all. Went to iron my shirt it had brown rust coming out of it when I rang housekeeping to get another iron no ok e answered ruined my new shirt!!!! Never staying again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goulburn, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

My partner, myself and his brother booked for 3 nights. We ended up checking out the first morning. We got there to check in and we're told we booked a room for 2 and another shared room with the backpackers.This was incorrect as I double checked the booking on line before hand. I was not paying for 2 rooms. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pink2388, Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback on your recent stay with us at the Islander Resort Hotel. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at the Islander. It sounds like a mix up with your booking agent and our records caused the wrong room to not be ready when you checked in.... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I was not expecting 5 star accommodations here, but to say it needs renovating is an understatement. I don't think anything has been touched since it was built. It was not clean. I will not be staying again. That said, if you don't mind dinginess it was a great location, friendly staff and free underground parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jcjamia Thank you for your review of your stay at the Islander. We're sorry that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. We're a 3 star resort with a fantastic location right in the heart of the Gold Coast. Our focus is on providing value for money clean and comfortable accommodation. There are plans to complete a soft re-furbishment... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question