We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 73 Surfers Paradise hotels

Islander Resort Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Islander Resort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Islander Resort Hotel to your Saves list
53%
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jeanie W Glenning Valley, Australia
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    65
    45
    23
    28
See reviews for
38
61
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Glenning Valley, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love this place. Have stayed here 5 times now and will go back again and again. It is so handy to everything, being one street away from Cavill Avenue, across the road from Woolworths, the pub and games room downstairs, friendly and very helpful reception staff, and the beach is just a short walk up the road. If you're... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bendigo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As per the title footy trip friendly! certainly not the flashest places I have stayed but a block off the beach, near Cavill Mall a pretty good location. It can be very busy and noisy but if you are in a bigger group it wont matter. Found the bar and security staff really good, talking about the bar it's open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel last night. There was 2 females under the age of 21 and to say this is a backpackers we thought it was disgusting. I could go on for ages but ill just highlight the main issues. -our room seemed like it was an old prison cell! -the walls were mouldy and plaster missing out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights in the 1 bedroom apartment. Thank you for giving us a high floor, the view of the city was beautiful! Even thou the place is a bit older looking that didn't bothered us, the apartment had everything we needed especially kitchenette with microwave to prepare milk & food for my baby. If you are after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

It sounds like the Islander Resort Hotel was perfect for your needs Kimmi_N. Thank you for your feedback. We agree that our apartments are great for preparing food and relaxing as a family. We pride our property on being a clean and convenient place for people to stay; and just walking distance to shopping, dining and the beach. We look... More

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We paid $145 for one night's stay including breakfast for two and we were given room 101 on the tenth floor. We purchased internet immediately as we had told them during our booking that this was important. Upon entering our room, we discovered we could not get internet because our room ended with the numeral 1. I explained that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your valuable feedback DecemberM. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please be assured that we have have passed on your comments to reception to address the delay in your internet refund. We pride ourselves on our staff and the excellent service they provide; in order to uphold this we rely on feedback like... More

Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Can you believe that I am writing this at 4.49 am because I cant get any sleep. I have been up since 2.30 am and cant get back to sleep because their are a bunch of intoxicated guests screaming and yelling in the hallway outside my room. Called reception you said, 'why are you telling me this', then hung up.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clint F, Thank you for your constructive criticism, I am deeply sorry for the disruption caused to your sleep due to surrounding guests. The property has 24 hour Reception and Security of an evening, these matters should have been dealt with pro-actively prior to it affecting your stay. However we have investigated your call to Reception and it is... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been there last 2 weeks..It was a so called simple-simple hotel.. What i like the most was the location.. Near to beach.. Near to city.. Near to bus stop.. I booked apartment with 1 bedroom. I got 1 king size bed.. 2 single bed(outside).. one sofa... This hotel provide equipment for you to cook.. Will stay in this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is great. But apart from that there's not that much more to say. Very average dated rooms. Very loud. The hotel is in the very centre of surfers paradise. Right next to shops and restaurants. And just a few minute walk to the main beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Miapod12; we really appreciate your comments. You are correct that being so central to Surfers Paradise the hotel does experience some noise pollution from time to time. If you had of raised this with reception they may have been able to move you to another room higher up or with an alternative aspect to reduce the... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Pro: 1. Location is excellent. It is just situated opposite Hard Rock Café and Surfers Paradise Mall. The beach is just less than 2-3mins walk away. Everything from cafes, pubs, restaurants and souvenir shops are within walking distance. The tram stop is also nearby. Hotel has a small pool if you dislike swimming in the sea. It has a small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

The location of this hotel is ideal! Shops, pubs, restaurants, the beach, just everything is at walking distance which was great. The room I stayed in, I am not a big fan of. It just seem too old and run down. It could need some renovation. As it appeared to be old and run down, it didnt appear to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your honest review Myra M! It sounds like you had a great time in Surfers Paradise staying at the Islander and being so close to everything. We also appreciate your comments regarding the room you stayed in. You are correct in saying that we are an older style building but on the plus side the resort... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Islander Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort Hotel

Address: 6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Islander Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Surfers Paradise
Islander Surfers Paradise
Islander Resort Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay