We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 75 Surfers Paradise hotels

Islander Resort Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Islander Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Islander Resort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
A recent review
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    41
    22
    25
See reviews for
35
55
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a week and half at the end of January, I stayed in the hostel, it's very basic and I guess you can't except much. When I arrived it was 4 in the morning and someone else was in my bed number so I stayed in the clean bed but the next day I had a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The room was clean though looks bit old. Strategy wise is good, you may find convenience store, plenty of restaurant nearby including Hard Rock and walking distance beach. During midnight, you may hear people drunk walking around in the hotel especially on weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were a little concerned upon arrival that we had booked a back packers hostel The term "resort" was used generously! However, the room was clean and comfortable ( once the reception staff resolved the problem of initially sending us to a room that had not been made up from its previous guests!) The internet only works on the lower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Islander is a good place if you are a backpacker. Rooms were fairly clean. Bathroom was quite poor, the taps didn't seem to work very well If not at all some times, and the shower wasn't much better. The shower head was that low I had I bend down to wash my hair standing at 5 foot 5. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were traveling through on a road trip and stayed for one night after finding a deal on Last Minute. The hallways and room smells funny, has a general run down feel complete with leaky taps and a dirty shower (the shower had hairs in it). The balcony railings felt flimsy and unsafe. The air conditioner was noisy and affected... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DCandBH, Our sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations, we do appreciate your feedback and will ensure it is forwarded to the Hotel owner for future planning. Regards Dean Cooper General Manager More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

For $119 a night it's actually quite crap, bathroom is literally falling apart and rotting, there is a flat screen tv but it looks like it doesn't belong here because the rest of the room is soo bad. The only sink is the rusty bathroom one so they expect you to use that for drinking water and the kettle :/

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here for about 2 weeks. Great location, room clean better than some backpackers. Staff were helpful especially about printing CV and extending our stay. The pool cleaned everyday and steam room and spa relaxing. Price great for what you can get. Could get noisy but we were at the beginning of schoolies and building work on the roads but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I can't even begin to describe how bad this hotel was. I would never ever go back, or even recommend it to anyone. The rooms smelt, they were run-down, bathroom taps were leaking, toilet didn't flush properly, holes in kitchen cupboards, unclean forks and knives and just an overall unpleasant place to stay! The staff member was rude, rolled her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Narre Warren, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have been to the islander 6 times with my boys, then hubby and kids and then also as a group with my 2 oldest daughters and 5 grandkids at the time. My eldest daughter has been with her kids 3 times. She stayed elsewhere when she first starting going up then one day decided to try the islander where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marianne M, We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and feedback, it is so refreshing to hear that you have had such a pleasant and enjoyable experience on multiple visits. We feel our staff are special and it is always a pleasure to hear such positive comments about our team. We look forward to welcoming you on your return this... More

Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This place is paradise in surfer paradise! Everything is so convenient with a simple walk up the road. The staff were great, the view was excellent and we can't wait to go back and stay again! The room had an ensuite and bar fridge and it's own safe that was cheap to use! With bus stops 2 minutes away having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KiwiJo2013, Location, Location, Location!. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Surfers Paradise and the Islander. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and the new light rail system will be passing our door by mid-2014 which will make transportation a breeze. The closest station is on the next corner so your go card will interface... More

Been to Islander Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Islander Hotel
Islander Hotel Surfers Paradise
Islander Surfers Paradise
Islander Resort Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Address: 6 Beach Road | (Cnr Surfers Paradise Bvld), Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 75 hotels in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Resort Hotel is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, only a block from the famous Surfers Paradise Beach and the excitement of Cavill Avenue. The hotel is located on the corner of Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd, only a short walk to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Accommodation consists of Standard Hotel Rooms or One Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature a private balcony, tea/coffee facilities, air conditioning, refrigerator, clock radio and in-room safe. Apartments also have full kitchen facilities.Guests can enjoy free use of full resort facilities including tropical outdoor pool, spa, steam room, tennis and squash courts. Other hotel facilities include 24 hour internet café, on-site bottleshop, 24 hour reception, tour desk, on-site car rental, laundry facilities and limited undercover parking. Vegas in Paradise Restaurant, Bar and Gaming lounge is located on the ground floor and a new outdoor café is now open serving fresh coffee and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Islander Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.