We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise

4.5 of 5 Cnr Surfers Paradise Boulevard and Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    277
    171
    73
    43
See reviews for
192
248
52
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (748)
  • Mar-May only
    (165)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (189)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (192)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (202)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Chennai India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very nice place to stay ..on the beach .... spacious Rooms ..the ocean view room was great ... Location is the highlight...Very friendly staffs where you can get all important information... Breakfast was good . Love to stay again....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Shivvuu, Greetings and thank you for this wonderful review of your recent visit. It was great to hear that you loved the location, room and view. I was so pleased you found our staff to be friendly and informative. I will pass your kind comments on to the team. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights ...fantastic location , the concierge was so helpful ,we had a Hi ace van that was too high for the parking station ..so we were able to park in the drive thru reception area , great friendly staff ,rooms need a make over ..tv old style kept turning off.. but overall fantastic would stay again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Wizznhendo, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review of your stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your very kind words about our concierge, and I am so glad that on that occasion we were able to assist with... More 

Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent four nights here with my wife , customer service is good they are all very friendly, location wise your smack bang in the middle of surfers paradise on top of a shopping centre and within a two min walk from cavill ave mall which is very handy the beach is close too. The room in itself was nothing extravagant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Daniel A, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise. It was great to read your kind comments about our staff, location, and service. I was disappointed that some aspects of your room and décor did not meet your expectations. There are photos posted on our... More 

Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The cleanliness of a hotel is always our main concern. We were happy to stay there because of the amazing view and great location. After staying for a couple night there, we started to feel uncomfortable and itchy. At first, we thought all rashes might be caused from mosquito bite because it looked very similar to mosquito bite so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Yv0nne_C23, Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise. I was concerned upon reading this review because of course the hotels highest priority is the comfort and safety of our guests. However, as I investigated further my mind was put at ease. We of course had the room inspected immediately, again the safety and comfort of all our guests is... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a great value hotel in a great location, right on Cavill Avenue with water views. It is a moderately priced 4 star hotel with room service available and friendly staff. It now has a coffee shop in reception. If you are after a 5 star resort this is not for you, but at well under $200 for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Austtraveller92, Greetings and thank you for this great review of your recent visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the room, to the location, staff, and views. I really appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience with us. Thank... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

great concierge, but the not reno'd rooms are worse than motels!! old and smelly musty. totally not worth the money! service was pretty good though, and location is hard to beat, but still definately not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear morningdewdrops, Thank you for taking the time to create this review of your recent visit. Thank you especially for your very kind comments about the service you encountered here. I was disappointed that some aspects of your room and décor did not meet your expectations. There are photos posted on our website of both the newly renovated rooms and... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. Hotel staff were nice, hanlans resteraunt was nothing great, breakfast buffet was horrid !! Especially for the price, everything was cold and old, the bacon was just fat, no decent size edible bits. DEFINATLEY not quality. We were on the 23rd floor. The view was amazing but the room was nothing great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Ashldnk, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise. I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be so friendly, and the location perfect for your needs. I was disappointed that your experience with the room did not come up to your expectations. I... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights in a 'newly renovated room' and couldn't say one bad thing about the motel or service. Really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back!! Breakfast was very yummy! Loved the location!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Canberrakidz, Thank you so much for creating this wonderful review of your recent visit to the hotel. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to our staff members. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was my husband's surprise birthday treat.... Room: excellent stay, room was big and clean facing the beach. Staff : was friendly and helpful bfast/food: plenty of choice but walking distance to food paradise eg.KFC, Hardrock cafe, kebab, pizza etc Location: in the middle of suffers paradise, easy access and 5-7 minutes walking distance to the "lookout point" tower.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Priyaraj, Thank you for this great review of your stay with the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise. I am so glad you enjoyed the time you spent here. Thank you as well for your very kind comments about our staff members. I will be sure to pass on your praise. I trust you had a pleasant trip home and... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay here again as I had such a good experience here the last time because my friend and I were upgraded to the newer rooms, which was great. This time wasn't so great. Starting with the good points its in a great location, right in the middle of surfers and in walking distance to everything. The lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Amelia2809, Thank you for taking the time to create this review on your return visit to the hotel. I am glad to read that your first visit with us was such a success. I am also glad to read that you like our recent room, and lobby renovations. It is a shame you were not booked into a renovated... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise

Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Boulevard and Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise Gold Coast
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#19 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise

397 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (386)
Viewed
View from room (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (97)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay