We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 73 Surfers Paradise hotels

Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Surfers Paradise Boulevard and Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise to your Saves list
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Djarmila1978 Wuppertal, Germany
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    267
    164
    72
    42
See reviews for
184
245
49
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (720)
  • Mar-May only
    (165)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (189)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (187)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (179)
All months
Wuppertal, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I arrived pretty early on the day of my arrival (around 9:30-10 am) and was greeted at reception by a really friendly guy (bald head and a bit younger) who told me that my room was already ready and had sea view. What a fantastic start to my day...a room with a view and one of the best and friendliest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The bed was well past its useby, when we sat on it it hit the base, extremely uncomfortable. The airconditioning was hopeless and the room became so hot and stuffy we were forced to sleep under wet towels. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It raves as 4 star accommodation, but I thought the condition of the place (shower tiles, fridge) better suits as 3 1/2 star. The hotel is clean, beds are comfortable, nice city views with balcony. But due to the balcony, at times it's quite noisy. The hotel service (Receptionist) is very slow. For a 4 star hotel, I think this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had room on 17th floor overlooking pool which was great during the day but when the sun went down all we heard was the thumping bass from the nightclubs till 4am. Friendly staff but room was aged. I'm pretty sure if we where on the other side it would of been a lot more quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We loved our stay here. The hotel is on the other side of Caville Ave so very close to the action of the Gold Coast. The room was well furnished, although the tv could have been bigger if I wanted to nit pick. Check in was a little slow, but was able to provide the facebook "word of the week"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were just amazed at what this hotel had to offer, the staff were exceptional helped us with all our needs. The room we had was just beautiful ! Definitely suggest staying on the higher levels with the ocean view, just amazing to wake up to you !

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Bella S, Thank you for this review of your very recent visit. I am pleased that you found your stay to be perfect! What a wonderful compliment. It’s also great to hear you indulged in our sweeping ocean views – waking up to these is a great way to start the day! Again, thank you for taking time to... More

Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was very surprised to find out the rooms had recently been refurbished, they must have been refurbished at a minimum cost as the furniture seemed dated and cheap. The fridge and coffee were located in the bathroom, which is a little strange, but it worked just fine. The room was huge, plenty of space to lay out giant suitcases,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear AndSid, We appreciate all feedback, positive and negative so thank you so much for adding yours. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed our location and we agree with you – the hotel definitely is prime real estate for Surfers Paradise. It is a shame that you were not impressed with the room décor though. Perhaps our Premium... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Grand Chancellor in Surfers Paradise. The views were magnificent. I could sit on the balcony and watch the people in the street and on the beach. The view of the ocean stretched to the horizon and the sky went for ever. The room was clean and it was made up each day I was there.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Jargan, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. It is really nice to hear about how impressed you were with the sweeping views the hotel offers and I am so pleased that you could sit back and enjoy them. Thank you again for this wonderful review - we look forward to... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall, the hotel is clean and strategically located. The only drawback is the staff who doesn't seem friendly at all. We are able to access to most of the restaurants nearby as it is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Jess C, Thank you for this feedback on your stay with the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise. It was great to find that you found the hotel to be so clean and well located. I was surprised to hear that you did not find our staff friendly and will definitely bring this up with our Front Office Manager so... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed in ocean view room(2909) recently, on a weekend away from Brisbane. Hotel is in great location and is close to everything in surfers. Room was refurbished recently and has contemporary furnishings, however the decor and finish is of a very poor standard. The bathroom was fitted out to a better standard. The view from the room was amazing and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Terry m, Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor, I am pleased that you found the hotel to be good value for money and that you were able to take in our great views. I was however saddened to hear that our customer service let you down and for that I deeply apologise. I will be bringing this... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise

Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Boulevard and Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

387 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (376)
Viewed
Room/suite (78)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
View from room (52)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay