We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlton Apartments

Cnr Clifford St & Northcliffe Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Carlton Apartments
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    9
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Young, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Booked through Groupon. Upon making phone booking was told that dates we wanted needed to be an upgrade at extra cost. Understandable however lady on phone was quite abrupt about it and came across less than friendly. The upgrade was to a "newly renovated" apartment however on our arrival our expectations were definitely not met. The apartment was old and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amisha J, Manager at Carlton Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at Carlton Apartments. We have taken your complaint very seriously have have taken appropriate action in the housekeeping department to ensure that concerns like the ones you have raised do not happen in the future. Kind regards Amisha Jain More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We bought our deal from groupon which is why I wasn't too sure how my stay will be but honestly I had the most amazing three days with my family at Carlton. Check-in was smooth as against other apartments where they take ages and staff is rude but here it was quiet smooth. Remind you I checked in at 1600... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Stayed here for 5 nights . Nicely refurbished 2 bedroom apartment . Great location ,very close to beach and close to town easy walk to everything . Our particular apartment had been refurbished to look exactly as the promo shown on their website although I understand not all are to this standard . The manager went out of her way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bendigo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Myself and friends stayed at the Carlton for our schoolies week and felt like because we were 'schoolies' management could take advantage of us! Our sheets were dirty before we had even got in, when we asked management about it we were told "we can give you an extra blanket" Not really too sure what that would've done. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amisha J, Manager at Carlton Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you feel that you were taken advantage of because you were a schoolie. Carlton apartments hosted over 100 schoolies this year and at no point were the schoolies treated any different to guests from other times of the year. Please allow me address your issues one at a time. Dirty Sheets/apartment: When your friends... More 

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

right across the road from the beach. Rooms are very generous so great for families at a great price. All two bedrooms have two bathrooms and lovely team there. Close to the main shopping area! Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

First of all, the receptionist did not want to hang around and allow us to pay in person. The website said that the credit card was used only to secure the booking, not allow them to access our funds at any time they like! When we finally found our room, the showers were filthy and the facilities were basic (honestly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amisha J, Manager at Carlton Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Scott, It is disappointing to hear that you weren't happy with your at Carlton Apartments. This was certainly not the impression you gave us at the time of check out. The payment for your booking was taken on the morning of your arrival as per the terms and conditions provided to you at the time of booking. We have... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

On Friday the 16th May 2014, my mother and myself checked into apartment 27 at the Carlton Surfers Paradise. This room was booked as a mothers day gift, for two nights. I will begin this complaint with saying that we were in the apartment for no longer than an hour after we checked in due to the terrible state of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Amisha J, Manager at Carlton Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your email dated 19th May 2014 outlining your complaint regarding your stay with Carlton Apartments on 16th & 17th of May 2014. I am very disappointed to read your complaint and before considering any form of compensation I would like to point out a couple of things to put your complaint in perspective. Regarding your... More 

Humpty Doo, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have stayed at the Carlton Apartments many times, and enjoy the location close to everything at Surfers. The rooms are clean and modern - aircon in the lounge and fans in the bedrooms. The apartments have a washing machine and a drier. The apartment we recently stayed in could do with some bathroom renovation in the main bedroom en... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lowood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked a room with two double beds as we were two couples staying together however upon arrival were informed that our room had just been given away. Instead we were offered a better room but with one queen bed and two singles. We payed an extra $10 for air conditioning which did not work. The fan in one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We got our accommodation through Travel Auctions and when we arranged to use it we requested an upgrade to a premium apartment up as high as possible so we could get sea views, we paid an extra $50:00 per night for this upgrade. When we did the booking we sent Amisha (Manager) an email with our request and stating that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay