We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands Holiday Apartments

40 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Sands Holiday Apartments
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Good location but is quite run down. Staff were really rude as well. The young brunette girl at the desk had zero customer service skills and was rather in helpful to point of being quite rude. Over all not a terrible place to stay but the staff need to step up there game.

Helpful?
Thank OliverLoschy
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to respond to this review. Two apartments were booked by a company for two single guests. Following notes left on the door of one guest a few days after check in I phoned the company to advise that their guests l had not checked in. The kind girl offered to give them a call to check... More 

Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a real shock! i knew this was a cheap place to stay when i booked at short noticed but the room and complex was run down, there were faulty power boards, lamps that didn't work, kitchen cupboards broken, no lighting when i got out of elevator on my floor to find my room (late check in). Reception was... More 

Helpful?
Thank retepm21

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of the property is perfect. Right in the heart of Surfers Paradise. The unit needed some initial cleaning and the sofas were well beyond their useful life but for the price is was acceptable. The bed was comfortable and the staff helpful. You get what you pay for. Overall it was ok.

Helpful?
Thank wallybug
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

I wouldn't stay there again, not even for free. Staff were not very professional, nor friendly. The apartment was very dirty and disgusting! they clearly don't pay much attention towards basic hygine. The furniture was very run down. very old and outdated. Not to mention, dirty. We really couldn't stay there for the whole duration and ended up leaving much... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MorningBeachLover
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Disappointing for the building The Sands to receive this review. At The Sands there are two letting agents and this review could be referring to the private letting agent. At no time does my office not refund for guests who cut short their stay and secondly the guests are always offered to move or for the cleaners to go back... More 

Pakenham, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

Rooms a little dated but clean. Air-conditioning is extra. As rooms face East it gets very hot early in the morning as curtains are not block out type. Pool and gardens are well maintained and add to the environment. Location to eateries is fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Darlly
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the rooms being very clean as we are regularly changing cleaning companies to try to keep the standard up on the cleanliness of the rooms I am disappointed that you did not realise that the rooms were not air conditioned. The apartments are advertised with ceiling fans but unfortunately last Christmas when the temperature... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

We booked a two-bedroom at The Sands and LOVED it! Easy check-in and carpark allocation - The room was SO NICE - AND BIG! - more than what I expected for 3star! Way more! With an AMAZING view. I loved being right in the heart of Surfers. It was so good having a heated pool - we were in there... More 

Helpful?
Thank kath_duell
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Our room was great with stunning views,our apartment was very close to beach with a short walk to Cavel Ave . There was a lovely Market Wednesday Friday and Wednesday night right across the road from the Appartment

Helpful?
1 Thank 735lync
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

I must thank the guest for appreciating the hard work to ensure the guests are happy and the apartments are clean with a great location. Very handy to shops with ocean views. This is a difficult task because happy guests do not write reviews and guests expectations in different star ratings vary. We are 3 star and work hard to... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

Will never stay here again! Service was terrible, the room was very outdated and dirty and our security deposit was kept for damages that we did not cause. The location is great but that is the only positive.

Helpful?
Thank Greggy1985
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Very disappointing that someone felt they had to place a review such as this when the apartments for 3 star are kept clean, neat, tidy and up to date for 3 star. There is always a good reason and the reason could be because this person is known to office staff and recently posted bad reviews in spite and then... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Have stayed twice at the Sands and both times have had no complaints. We feel it is good value for money, close to all cafe's bars transport and beach .We have had two different apartments both were o.k. Anything we needed from reception wasn't a problem happy and helpful staff.

Helpful?
2 Thank Paulastu
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to host you whilst you were holidaying again at Surfers Paradise. The location is great and extremely good for easy access to shops, beach with the ideal back entrance to Orchid Avenue. I enjoy talking to you and I do enjoy seeing returnees again. I find this the highlight of working on the reception, the familiar... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Nice place to stay, with stunning views of Surfers Paradise, even if you are on a budget. Neat and tidy, with everything you need included. Close to shopping and public transport. Overall it was a pleasant stay!

Helpful?
2 Thank Anna H
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Anna. It was a pleasure to meet you and we do strive to keep the accommodation at a budget which enables you to enjoy other experiences when the tariffs are reasonable. I am so pleased you enjoyed Surfers Paradise and I am so pleased you stayed at The Sands and we able to make... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & ...
#10 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 2,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 2,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay