We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands Holiday Apartments

40 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
The Sands Holiday Apartments
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    10
    3
    13
See reviews for
8
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Will never stay here again! Service was terrible, the room was very outdated and dirty and our security deposit was kept for damages that we did not cause. The location is great but that is the only positive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Very disappointing that someone felt they had to place a review such as this when the apartments for 3 star are kept clean, neat, tidy and up to date for 3 star. There is always a good reason and the reason could be because this person is known to office staff and recently posted bad reviews in spite and then... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed twice at the Sands and both times have had no complaints. We feel it is good value for money, close to all cafe's bars transport and beach .We have had two different apartments both were o.k. Anything we needed from reception wasn't a problem happy and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to host you whilst you were holidaying again at Surfers Paradise. The location is great and extremely good for easy access to shops, beach with the ideal back entrance to Orchid Avenue. I enjoy talking to you and I do enjoy seeing returnees again. I find this the highlight of working on the reception, the familiar... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Nice place to stay, with stunning views of Surfers Paradise, even if you are on a budget. Neat and tidy, with everything you need included. Close to shopping and public transport. Overall it was a pleasant stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Anna. It was a pleasure to meet you and we do strive to keep the accommodation at a budget which enables you to enjoy other experiences when the tariffs are reasonable. I am so pleased you enjoyed Surfers Paradise and I am so pleased you stayed at The Sands and we able to make... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Worst accommodation we've had in years. Everything in and about the apartment looks old and poor and dated. Cracked tiles, grim shower, musty smell in the apartment, couches well past their use by date, horrid bathroom, old worn out bed. And no aircon. Horrified to discover this after we checked in and pre-paid (this is a requirement) and had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Very disappointing that your stay for 2 nights only on budget accommodation did not met your standards. We advertise as budget accommodation for those who do not wish to spend too much and naturally the longer the stay the tariffs reduce. The websites state the facilities and we are stated as ceiling fans. We do not claim to have air... More 

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

This place is an absolute dump. It's dirty, gloomy and very bad value for money. Not worth paying more than $70 a night. Pros: 1. Well, the location is absolutely magnificent with surefers paradise beach being literally a few steps away. 2. Front seat ocean views which compliments the morning coffee nicely. Cons: 1. Filthy place. There were cobwebs, dust... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It was disappointing that these guests were looking forward to accommodation higher than 3 star, more like 4 star because the apartments could not possibly be covered in cob webs when there are continual guests in the rooms and by the sea with a beautiful sea breeze. Air conditioning leaking - the guests were very lucky to have the opportunity... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

My son and his girlfriend are on the Gold Coast right now. They paid for 7 nights from 13th Feb to 20th Feb 2015. There room is on the 7th floor and he has said it is so bad they cannot stay there. Hairs all over the place, very dirty, very hot and no air conditioning. Not at all like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Very disappointing to receive a review not written by the young guests but by a mother who did not stay. This does not reveal the true picture of accommodation. No where in our facilities we advertise air conditioning but we do advertise ceiling fans and this is why features are completed to enable guests to see exactly what they are... More 

Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This was a filthy, disgusting place. We booked 5 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The first room we were given had a concertina door which was broken, and the bed was sticking halfway through the doorway so it couldn't even be closed! How can you call that 2 bedroom- much less charge for it? The second bedroom had mold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

the building is old 40 years? but in front of the beach, furniture s are a bit passed out as the age show everywhere, reception so so, but a lot of concrete jungle, the look is gloomy, which is disapointing

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yackandandah, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This accommodation is in a fabulous location if you want to be out all night and in the sea all day! It is in need of lots of TLC which is an ongoing time consuming effort by the contractors so expect noise through the day and for quite some time to come! Everything you need sofa's, new TV, full kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Location,location,location.The Sands has it all.Close to beach(across the road) ,supermarkets,bars and Cavill Mall all within less than five minutes walk.Apartment was clean,comfortable and completely self contained with great ocean views.We have stayed in 11 different properties in Surfers since 1987 and The Sands is the only one we have used twice.To close we must thank Lynne who is a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay