We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands Holiday Apartments

40 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sands Holiday Apartments
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    8
    10
    3
    13
See reviews for
8
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Our room was great with stunning views,our apartment was very close to beach with a short walk to Cavel Ave . There was a lovely Market Wednesday Friday and Wednesday night right across the road from the Appartment

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

Will never stay here again! Service was terrible, the room was very outdated and dirty and our security deposit was kept for damages that we did not cause. The location is great but that is the only positive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Very disappointing that someone felt they had to place a review such as this when the apartments for 3 star are kept clean, neat, tidy and up to date for 3 star. There is always a good reason and the reason could be because this person is known to office staff and recently posted bad reviews in spite and then... More 

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Have stayed twice at the Sands and both times have had no complaints. We feel it is good value for money, close to all cafe's bars transport and beach .We have had two different apartments both were o.k. Anything we needed from reception wasn't a problem happy and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to host you whilst you were holidaying again at Surfers Paradise. The location is great and extremely good for easy access to shops, beach with the ideal back entrance to Orchid Avenue. I enjoy talking to you and I do enjoy seeing returnees again. I find this the highlight of working on the reception, the familiar... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Nice place to stay, with stunning views of Surfers Paradise, even if you are on a budget. Neat and tidy, with everything you need included. Close to shopping and public transport. Overall it was a pleasant stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Anna. It was a pleasure to meet you and we do strive to keep the accommodation at a budget which enables you to enjoy other experiences when the tariffs are reasonable. I am so pleased you enjoyed Surfers Paradise and I am so pleased you stayed at The Sands and we able to make... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Worst accommodation we've had in years. Everything in and about the apartment looks old and poor and dated. Cracked tiles, grim shower, musty smell in the apartment, couches well past their use by date, horrid bathroom, old worn out bed. And no aircon. Horrified to discover this after we checked in and pre-paid (this is a requirement) and had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Very disappointing that your stay for 2 nights only on budget accommodation did not met your standards. We advertise as budget accommodation for those who do not wish to spend too much and naturally the longer the stay the tariffs reduce. The websites state the facilities and we are stated as ceiling fans. We do not claim to have air... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

This place is an absolute dump. It's dirty, gloomy and very bad value for money. Not worth paying more than $70 a night. Pros: 1. Well, the location is absolutely magnificent with surefers paradise beach being literally a few steps away. 2. Front seat ocean views which compliments the morning coffee nicely. Cons: 1. Filthy place. There were cobwebs, dust... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It was disappointing that these guests were looking forward to accommodation higher than 3 star, more like 4 star because the apartments could not possibly be covered in cob webs when there are continual guests in the rooms and by the sea with a beautiful sea breeze. Air conditioning leaking - the guests were very lucky to have the opportunity... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

My son and his girlfriend are on the Gold Coast right now. They paid for 7 nights from 13th Feb to 20th Feb 2015. There room is on the 7th floor and he has said it is so bad they cannot stay there. Hairs all over the place, very dirty, very hot and no air conditioning. Not at all like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Very disappointing to receive a review not written by the young guests but by a mother who did not stay. This does not reveal the true picture of accommodation. No where in our facilities we advertise air conditioning but we do advertise ceiling fans and this is why features are completed to enable guests to see exactly what they are... More 

Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This was a filthy, disgusting place. We booked 5 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The first room we were given had a concertina door which was broken, and the bed was sticking halfway through the doorway so it couldn't even be closed! How can you call that 2 bedroom- much less charge for it? The second bedroom had mold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

the building is old 40 years? but in front of the beach, furniture s are a bit passed out as the age show everywhere, reception so so, but a lot of concrete jungle, the look is gloomy, which is disapointing

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yackandandah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This accommodation is in a fabulous location if you want to be out all night and in the sea all day! It is in need of lots of TLC which is an ongoing time consuming effort by the contractors so expect noise through the day and for quite some time to come! Everything you need sofa's, new TV, full kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel & ...
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 2,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay