We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Islander Backpacker Resort

Cnr Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd | Po Box 344, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Islander Backpacker Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Very good hostel with nice staff, clean swimming pool and very well located. I think the common aeras could be better because they are not very used and it s difficult to meet some people there. Just one point about the housekeeping, the bathroom in the rooms really need to be cleaned every day, because once for three nights is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie-Anne M
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marie-AnneM Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Islander. Thank you for your warm words about our facilities and location. Thanks for your honest feedback about the common areas and social activities of the hostel - we know we have some work to be done here. You will be pleased to... More 

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 2 nights sharing with 5 other people and they are all nice. What I like about this hostel is that it is very near the beach, tram station, shops and must-try foodies. I forgot to bring a towel and fortunately they have available ones for rent for $ 2.00. The only thing i didn't like is... More 

Helpful?
Thank jhellesarmiento
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear jhellesarmiento Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear you loved your dorm mates and the hostel's location. We're also delighted to hear that you found our staff helpful. Apologies for not having a fan in your room waiting for you. We use pedestal fans in our hostel rooms and they are moved... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. The hostel is dated and the rooms look like they haven't been renovated in a while. Am think they are liveable. The facilities are the best part of the hostel and has a nice pool. The kitchen gets a little messy but this is due to the people and not the hostel.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stephen B Thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us; we really value all of our guests feedback as it ensures we are constantly improving the resort for all future guests. You are correct that our rooms are a little tired. We've decided to undertake major renovations for the resort including the construction of a brand new... More 

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for 3 nights. The best thing is so close to the Surfers Paradise beach, 10 min for a walk. Food, shops and attractions are nearby. A room was clean and comfy with a good view to the city. Hospitable staff members. Outdoor pool is available. However, I didn't like the noise from Schoolies, but you can't avoid it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boldkhuu
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Boldkhuu Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Islander backpackers. We 100% agree our location is amazing as are our free facilities (pool, spas). Thanks for your kind words about our staff - we think they do a brilliant job looking after guests. We're sorry to hear you experienced noise pollution due... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, in a 4 bed dorm room. In general the location of the hostel\hotel was ideal. The room itself needed a good deal clean and renovation. The bunk beds were bashed up with the ladder to the top being duck taped on. It was dusty and because I was on the ground floor it was crawling... More 

Helpful?
Thank UnitedKingdom44
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear UnitedKingdom44 Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at the Islander. We know our rooms need some refreshing and renovating. We are planning major renovations for the resort including the construction of a brand new backpacker tower. The tower will have its on dedicated reception, large kitchen and common area, chill out zones on each floor, roof top... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival myself and a friend went to the desk and we were told that there was a high chance that we wouldn't be in the same room to which we said we weren't happy with as we had booked together and if they could do anything to which we were told again that is was very unlikely we would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rach C
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rach C I'm very sorry to hear you encountered an issue with your booking. As our backpacker beds are sold per bed; not per room, we cannot guarantee that guests who have booked separate beds will be staying in the same room. However we do our best to accommodate all guests needs. I will pass on your comments to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

We've been in Australia travelling for 2 months and so far this is the best hostel we've stayed in! Very central! Only need deposit for cutlery and keycard 10 dollos each. Kitchen has more working Hobs than any hostel so far. No air con but they had two fans in the room was lovely. Only bad bit that there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Titan247
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Titan247 Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at the Islander Backpackers Resort. We're so happy to hear you had a great time staying with us. We agree that our location is excellent (just 100m to the beach) and our facilities are great too. Thanks for the feedback on the broken bathroom door - we'll be sure to... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

The Islander is in a great location, just 5 min walk to the shops and restaurants and beach, maybe 10 altogether to the nightclubs and bars. BUT it's not a proper backpacker hostel. It's an old hotel that's made some of its rooms into dorms. The kitchen isn't very clean and is like an old restaurant kitchen. Not great for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lazyeyebailey
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear lazyeyebailey Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your stay at the islander backpackers. Thank you also for your kind words about our front office staff, our facilities and our awesome location. You are correct that the Islander Backpackers started it's life as a hotel and was then converted into a backpackers. You will be... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

Great Location...Spacious Clean Room...Good Hotel Facilities and Friendly Staff. The pool is nice and large and the spa is lovely and warm, there is also a tennis court and squash court to use. The parking is also good. Only negative was the lack of height on the shower head. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank John W
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear John W Thanks for your review. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay at the Islander backpackers. We 100% agree that our staff and location are stand outs for the resort; as are our amazing resort facilities available for all guests to use. Thank you for your feedback on the shower heads. We are planning on an extensive... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night when we were in Surfers. Lovely friendly welcome by staff on the reception desk. We booked a four bed dorm, the room was lovely and spacious with very comfy beds. Lockers in the room were really good large enough to fit your whole bag into also it was great to have a dorm room which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate M
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kate M Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at the Islander. Here at the Islander backpackers we strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms in a fantastic location - it sounds like you experienced just this! Thank you for your comments about our amazing staff as well, we'll be sure to pass this information... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.0 mi away
Islander Resort Hotel
Islander Resort Hotel
#21 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#31 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#35 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#49 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#48 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay