We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton

3.5 of 5 394 Yaamba Road (Bruce Highway) | North Rockhampton, Rockhampton, Queensland 4701, Australia (Formerly Tropical Wanderer Resort)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Announcement
Like us on Facebook!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton
Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton
Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    17
    17
    5
See reviews for
30
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were able to get a cabin at a great price that had a triple bunk for our 3 kids. Our kids loved the pool and we had about 5 different choices of food places directly across the road (pizza, seafood, noodles, etc). Family friendly, comfortable and clean. We will stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for one night 21/12, not overly busy, there were a lot of vacant spaces. The pool is of a reasonable size, although if the park was busy it could get quite busy. The amenities were clean and well fitted out they may have been refurbished recently. The power outlet is a bit far away on some sites, make sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clifton Grove
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

clean well appointed facility. Grounds mown. Not too busy at moment. On site cabin very suitable for our needs. Check in staff welcoming considering it was rather busy at the time. Family members placed in close proximity to each other which made getting together easy. Cabin very suitable to our needs. Clean and all basic supplies provided

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights on a powered site. I found the place to be very open - with little trees and lots of sun, maybe not the best experience during summer for campers. Amenities were clean and tidy. Staff were friendly. 2 pools but no trees - the only reason I wouldn't visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
48 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in staff was slightly rude. We were supposed to get a 10% discount at all big 4 parks, but the lady was combative with us about this saying that we should have added a comment when booking about getting the discount. All other big 4's had given us the discount by just looking at our rental rv, but this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, thanks for sharing your review. We apologise for the confusion about your discount. You are absolutely entitled to receive the discount. If you feel like you would like to discuss this further, please contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au More 

uk
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Stayed a couple of nights in superior accom. Not exactly superior, but it was clean enough and had fridge,toaster and tea/coffee making.. The TV pixelated on most of the channels and the wifi, which you have to pay for, seemed only accessible near the reception, which is not good if you are paying. The park itself was quiet enough and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We appreciate hearing your thoughts and your recommendations will be addressed by the team. More 

Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We booked a Superior Studio unit at this park. The directions were good, and the check-in in area was lovely. The park grounds were lush and attractive, and there were a number of activities available. We pulled up in front of our unit and things started to go downhill. It was one of a block of old hotel units, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Hi Deb - Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with some elements of your stay. If you would like to discuss this further with us, please contact us directly at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au More 

Yandina Queensland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Wherever possible we stay at Big4 Holiday Parks and have also stayed at several under the Discovery Holiday Parks banner. We rarely have a bad experience at any of these parks, however our visit on Monday 29th September to the Yaamba Rockhampton Holiday Park was a very disappointing experience. Our initial phone enquiry and booking was reasonable, however the receptionist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review Brian, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and we can assure you that we do take customer service very seriously. Please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au to discuss this further. More 

Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Probably one of the cleanest, well appointed camping areas we have experienced. The camp sites were a good size with a preference for the footy field side, not the kids jumping tramp. The camp kitchen was really good, clean, free bbqs, all you need. The amenities were lovely. So clean, a little bit luxurious. Even had a bath. Only negatives... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review and feedback. More 

Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

* we thought we had booked a cabin. It was not clearly stated that the accommodation we had booked was in fact a motel room * the bathroom was covered in mould * TV remote didn't work * cockroach was found under one of the beds * the information we saw gave the impression of austar however we didn't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and we will ensure that the earlier email you sent is followed up. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton

Address: 394 Yaamba Road (Bruce Highway) | North Rockhampton, Rockhampton, Queensland 4701, Australia (Formerly Tropical Wanderer Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay