We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton

3.5 of 5 394 Yaamba Road (Bruce Highway) | North Rockhampton, Rockhampton, Queensland 4701, Australia (Formerly Tropical Wanderer Resort)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Announcement
Like us on Facebook!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton
Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton
Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    15
    16
    5
See reviews for
27
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked a Superior Studio unit at this park. The directions were good, and the check-in in area was lovely. The park grounds were lush and attractive, and there were a number of activities available. We pulled up in front of our unit and things started to go downhill. It was one of a block of old hotel units, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yandina Queensland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wherever possible we stay at Big4 Holiday Parks and have also stayed at several under the Discovery Holiday Parks banner. We rarely have a bad experience at any of these parks, however our visit on Monday 29th September to the Yaamba Rockhampton Holiday Park was a very disappointing experience. Our initial phone enquiry and booking was reasonable, however the receptionist... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review Brian, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and we can assure you that we do take customer service very seriously. Please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au to discuss this further. More

Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Probably one of the cleanest, well appointed camping areas we have experienced. The camp sites were a good size with a preference for the footy field side, not the kids jumping tramp. The camp kitchen was really good, clean, free bbqs, all you need. The amenities were lovely. So clean, a little bit luxurious. Even had a bath. Only negatives... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review and feedback. More

Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

* we thought we had booked a cabin. It was not clearly stated that the accommodation we had booked was in fact a motel room * the bathroom was covered in mould * TV remote didn't work * cockroach was found under one of the beds * the information we saw gave the impression of austar however we didn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and we will ensure that the earlier email you sent is followed up. More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Accommodation was quiet comfortable and clean,. However contact with reception was unfriendly, unhelpful and 'short'-very poor indeed! ...we have stayed in big 4 parks all over Australia, and never encountered such bad attitude at registration.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience with our staff. Please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au to discuss this further. More

Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was a large park and had large sites with slabs and concrete parking strips. The amenities are very 1970's style in colour but good and clean. The smaller amenities block in the centre of the park was not quite us to the standard of the main block at the rear of the park. Very little or no shade available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review! More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Booked a cabin, as we were expecting later arriving due to drive. Got in around 1700 and checked in to room instead of powered site, not knowing price, had to go sort out price with reception. $167. Thought was a little high for a basic style motel room. But easier to stay then to move the family. Other wise would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. if you would like to discuss this further please contact us on suctomerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au More

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed here twice this year - in January when it was very quiet and again in June when it was much busier. The toilet block is modern and clean, the pool is lovely (particularly welcome in January when the weather was hot!). Staff at reception were pleasant and helpful. Not too far a walk to the best place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! More

Buderim, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

After staying 1 night, we decided to stay another and went to reception to book our 2nd night stay first thing in the morning. Later that afternoon, we received a phone call to ask if the port-a-cot in the room was ours (of which it was, along with the extra mattress, bedding and carry bag) and that Housekeeping had removed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback - sorry to hear that on this occasion your expectations were not met. If you would like to discuss this further please contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au More

Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was my first caravan park I have ever stayed in. The staff were delightful and so helpful. I asked for help in reversing, so Jase did it for me - thanks Jase, I was really sweating on not being able to get the van parked.. The park was well laid out and spacious. The amenities were sooo clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Very happy to hear you enjoyed your first caravanning experience! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton

Address: 394 Yaamba Road (Bruce Highway) | North Rockhampton, Rockhampton, Queensland 4701, Australia (Formerly Tropical Wanderer Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay