We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southside Holiday Village

283 Lower Dawson Road | Rockhampton, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Southside Holiday Village
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    23
    14
    15
    9
See reviews for
28
26
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi we called in with friends and booked 2 cabins for 1 night here,cabin was good compared to some we have stayed in everything worked fine, only complaint is the park backs onto the main railway line, so we were woken a few times with the trains, but saying that I would stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise for the trains, but they can be very unpredictable. We do not have a lot of rooms on the railway line, however, next time you stay request a room away from the railway line. We look forward to seeing you in the near... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very convenient Caravan Park if you are coming from the west of Queensland. The Park is near the intersection that takes you to Brisbane so is handy for those heading south. Cabins are very well kept and, unlike a lot of van parks, are not on top of each other. The usual accoutrements in the cabin although the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have larger cabins, next time you stay please ask for either our Tropical Villas or Chalets (Two Bedroom), both of these are spacious, modern rooms with a Verandah and Foxtel. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Rockhampton. More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

was great customer service, we got there 6:30pm and the opening hours over there were really good. office is 7am-10pm and its everyday. we chose the ensuite powered, the site was large, it can fit a bus.. compare to ours was only a 16ft.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Annie. We are pleased that you enjoyed your ensuite site. We understand that when travelling you can arrive at any time during the day or night, for that reason we have 24 hour check in and office hours 6am to 10.30pm. We are glad that you enjoyed this service. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely is value for money, situated right off the highway going out of Rockhampton, these are cute little cabins and villas, for only $99 you cant go wrong. very cute and simple cabins. I loved the ducks that come up and say hello of an afternoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your review :) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the near future. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

I have called in a number of times and the enticing sign will never get me again. Pull the sign in if the cheap rooms have gone or change the wording. I am not stopping next time There is a lot of difference between 75 and 99 Dollars an I found a motel down the road for 80 Dollars

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, management is reviewing the sign you mentioned. We are sorry you have missed staying in our $75 Budget Cabins. If you would like to phone in advance before your next visit we can book one for you. More 

Travelers are raving about these Rockhampton hotels

Tumut, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

When we arrived I thought I had booked an En-suite powered site but was given a powered site. The office staff said that they could upgrade us to the En-suite site for an extra $10 per night, if we wanted. When we went to our powered site (not En-suite) we were very pleased to not had paid for the extra.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bundi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We stayed in a two bedroom cabin which was clean and adequate. The outdoor tables and seats were chained which meant one couldn't t move them when sun was in the way. Also only three outdoor chairs and only one two seater sofa inside when this is a cabin for four people! Four dining chairs are not comfort seating for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We stayed one night here in our camper van and thought it was a pretty decent place for a one night stopover. Karen who assisted us during our evening check-in was very friendly and helpful and made the check-in very smooth. It was nice to receive 2 hours of free wi-fi with our rate. They have a little shop inside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Staff friendly and informative. Reasonable rates. Very clean and comfortable. They have a tiny supermarket with the basics, which I took advantage of after driving so far. I believe they have 24 hour check-in. Signage is clear and the map they gave me was easy to read.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Our party was of 4 adults, we had a 2 bedroom cabin, it was clean, adequately equipped and comfortable enough for 1 night, our daughter made use of the sofa bed. Our sleep was disturbed a little by the trains. The site seemed well maintained and there was a decent pool. The wifi wouldn't work in the cabin. We found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Citywalk Rockhampton
1.6 mi away
Metro Motel
Metro Motel
#21 of 36 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton
2.1 mi away
Cosmopolitan Motel & Serviced Apts
4.1 mi away
Discovery Holiday Parks Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay