We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rocky Gardens Motor Inn

Hotel website
292-306 Lower Dawson Rd, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Announcement
Great Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocky Gardens Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rocky Gardens Motor Inn
Rate this Hotel

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
12
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is NOT just another motel, its clean, they're welcoming and the food is amazingly good. Kay and Ray could not do enough to make my stay more comfortable, they have constant smiles on their faces and it would seem that they really enjoy being wonderful hosts. The rooms are clean and neat with all amenities functional and well maintained,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 4 nights on business. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the laundry facility was good. Whilst the bathroom has a window, it would have been better if they were fitted with an exhaust fan as traffic can be noisy from the early hours of the morning. The Fern Restaurant is sensational and served some of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

had a great stay at rocky gardens motorlodge nice and clean and tidy great resturant great food and also breakfeast of bacon eggs toast and tomato brought to our door at the time that we wanted was great really enjoyed our stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms are clean and spacious. Kay and Ray are wonderful hosts and always willing to help. The meals from the restaurant were wonderful. I will definitely be staying at rocky gardens when I next visit Rockhampton.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

stayed overnight on way home, resturant was closed when we arrived at 8.20pm so cant comment on the food , the rooms were clean and average but old and showers were outdated and mould in them, even though we were back from the street road nouse can be heard, the place is nothing but heaps of rooms and buildings piled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I'm in love with motels since going here, very quiet and friendly :) rooms have great air cons and showers are awesome! Staff is very friendly as well :) I would def recommend this place! It is not too far away from the city and food is also very nice :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 via mobile

Room was large, neat and comfortable. Nice and dark tho the road noise may deter some. Forget Ferns restaurant, expensive meals, we ordered 300g rump steaks but it seems they divided the 300g between us, more like 150g. Very overcooked, no veg or salad and the creamy mash was more like a cold, dry potatoe crumble. Extremely disappointing for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, Megan We are disappointed that Your experience at Ferns Restaurant was less that expected. As you can see from past comments our restaurant, and in particular the steaks are always popular. We offer salad and chips or Mash and Vegies with all our steaks, so I apologise if these... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were passing through rockhampton and stumbled upon the Rocky Gardens Motor Inn. The managers Ray and Kay were wonderful and couldn't have been more friendly and hospitable. We had dinner in their restaurant Ferns and by far it was the best meal on our trip so far. Thoroughly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Delina66 Thank you for such wonderful feedback. Its always pleasing to know that the standard of service and cleanliness at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn meets expectations. We believe that Ferns Restaurant is a gem and Its great to hear that our guests thinks so too. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Kay and Ray... More 

Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at the Rocky Gardens for one night in April. It was quite a nice place, well kept, clean and tidy and the staff are friendly. It is right on the highway but our room was set back a bit so the traffic noise didn't bother us too much (although my son said it did keep him awake for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. Its always pleasing to hear that Rocky Gardens seen as being a clean, tidy and friendly place to stay. However, It is disappointing to hear that you did not have a restful nights' sleep. While we do often have workers staying, we also have many travellers that like to be on the road early.... More 

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The room was neat and tidy. Over all it is a great motel Good price per night compared to other matched accom in town. All the staff are super friendly. The restaurant is great, you must try the steak best Iv ever had. When ever I go to Rockhampton from now on I will choose to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi David F Thank you for such positive feed back. We believe we have a high standard of cleanliness and service, so comments such as yours reinforce what we are trying to achieve. We always recommend our steaks as we also believe that we have the best steaks in Rockhampton, so again thank you for reinforcing this with your comments.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question