We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Certificate of Excellence
27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    137
    28
    18
    5
See reviews for
22
537
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (695)
  • Mar-May only
    (147)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (226)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
There are newer reviews for Shantara Resort Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in a Studio room which was well appointed,impeccably clean and aesthetically very pleasing. Noise is not a problem as the resort caters for adults only. All rooms have a pleasant outlook onto one of two pools with no restrictions on the hours of use.There is a tropical feel with plenty of palms around the pools. Shantara is perfectly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burton-on-Trent
Top Contributor
448 reviews 448 reviews
106 hotel reviews
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

What a fabulous place! Very friendly and helpful staff, superb room with great facilities, and a marvellous pair of pools to relax in. We were entranced by the place. Port Douglas is quite small, so most places are probably near to the centre - and this one wa no exception.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Johanneburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Anyone visiting Port Douglas MUST stay at SHANTARA RESORT!!!! Top class !! Perfectly appointed apartments with everything possible to guarantee a very pleasant stay!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in a studio room. Only one issue - someone using a tumble dryer passed midnight, but the hotel and management are in no way to blame for that! Everything else was perfect, and the massage was bliss! Great location an easy walk to town. Seemed to be a very elegant, and low key place to stay. Not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review we do spend lots of time in making sure the property externally and internally is always looking good for our Guests, what you see is what you get ! Unfortunately a very small minority of Guests do not have consideration of others ! fancy doing your washing at midnight ! we do have a... More 

Frankston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Shantara looked great driving into the entrance, well kept beautiful gardens. Secure at night you need your card to gain entry. We had a studio swim up while small was very clean and modern. The bed was great to sleep in and the pool was very inviting and kept very clean. No kids here so a bit quieter. Sarah and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thanks for your time in writing a review it is always appreciated! Great to hear that the you were made to feel welcome and enjoyed the facilities Shantara has to offer. I will certainly be talking to our suppliers in regards to our current paper supplies and have this altered. Thanks very much for brining this to our attention. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Third visit to this place. Walk to restaurants and all of the town's facilities. Gorgeous place for couples and views over the smaller pool are just so peaceful and private. Room 10 was divine. Privacy and elegance. Delightful for business or pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom pool deck room and would definitely recommend staying here.Pay extra and get the pool deck rooms they are worth it, being able to just walk from your room to the pool. This resort is within easy walking distance from the town centre and you therefore avoid the $6 fare for the town bus. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a studio room for 4 nights at Easter. The room was spotless, modern and comfortable. The friendly staff at the front desk where more than happy to assist with our questions and helped us booked a lovely sunset cruise. The pool areas are lovely though in the shade of the building at parts of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We booked Shantara because we were expecting a nice quiet weekend in a five star resort. The resort is nice and modern, unfortunately the sound insulation between the rooms is not that great, we could hear peoples footsteps constantly in the upstairs apartment, we heard toilets flushing, even someone brushing their teeth with an electric toothbrush. More annoying was what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

The Shantara Team are constantly trying to accommodate Guests to ensure they have a pleasant stay however if we are not notified of the annoyances at the time you are staying with us it really does not give us an opportunity to rectify the issues you have mentioned. IF there was a fishy smell in the room for 3 days... More 

Sydney. Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Loved this place. First because it is child free and adult only and second because of the fabulous design. Every room overlooks the pool which has palms surrounding it. There is a BBQ area and all rooms are self contained. It is close to Macrossen St and 4 Mile beach. The resort is very clean and staff very friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

399 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (210)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (43)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Second Pool (8)
Viewed
Shantara Apartment (37)
Viewed
Studio with Pool View (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question