We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Certificate of Excellence
27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Rate this Hotel

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    137
    28
    18
    5
See reviews for
22
529
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (685)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (226)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
There are newer reviews for Shantara Resort Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed in a small studio apartment, but it worked just fine for us. The resort is in a great location, and the management team is friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sausalito, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had a spacious apartment with complete kitchen facilities, a large bathroom and a generous bedroom with comfortable bed. A washer and dryer were in a separate area shared by the adjacent room. The building is immaculate and the people are terrific. Shantara is just a few blocks from Macrossan Street (essentially the only commercial street in town), so you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Shantara resort for about 5 nights just before Christmas. We had a studio self-catering apartment, which was modern, clean, tidy and comfortable. As for the property itself – think boutique apartments rather than a full size and feature ‘resort’ per se. It is however very quiet and well maintained and in a good location – being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

March 2012: I had a very poor experience with this hotel. I booked a non-refundable Shantara Suite. It all sounded wonderful until... I booked this hotel as I had seen it in June last year when I was staying nearby and Pauline, the then manager, showed me around. A major drawcard for me was the large heated pool as not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Firstly we are disappointed that this review has appeared as with during many discussions with the potential guest it was made quite clear of the operation of our pool heating during the cooler months of the year. There is not a start and stop point as the weather can vary greatly from year to year. The client booked and then... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We came in off season (lots of the restaurants and trips were being "revamped") but the treatment was definitely not off! We were given good advice re trips we hadnt booked, they booked the trips we needed and when the weather got very wet - we were given umbrellas to use and up to date news on the status of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Pros: - stayed in a studio room for approximately a week - choice of two nice pools - modern decor - friendly staff - resort seems to be family owned - well situated: far enough from main strips to avoid noise; not too far away to walk there - resort was generally quiet as this was an off peak period... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Shantara and were made to feel comfortable. Shantara in general all year round is a quiet property due to “No children” policy and that Guests at the property are respective to one another and avoid any disturbances to each other during their stay. Smokers are... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent 5 nights in this resort and found it to be very peaceful. It is small enough to be intimate but has every amenity for rest and relaxation. We also found it to be spotlessly clean and very well maintained. It's not glitsy or glamourous but if you are looking for a quiet place to relax in very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife and I had our honeymoon here almost 4 years ago in July 2008. We booked a one bedroom Shantara apartment with a pool deck - meaning that you could dive straight into the pool from the apartment terrace. Location was great - a few blocks down from Macrossan St which is the main eating/shopping strip and a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 4 nights last November & we very pleased. A studio would have been sufficient, but I wanted the extra room space. The double spa bath was a treat. Staff were great. The decor was beautiful and sparkling clean. The view to the pool was also nice. The only down-side to this premises is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Absolutely fantastic! The resort is beautiful, the rooms are immaculate, & the staff are incredibly friendly! It's walking distance to 4 Mile Beach & just around the corner from all the Port Douglas restaurants, cafes, shops etc. The girls on reception were very helpful when I was choosing day tours & they even took care of my grazed elbow (&... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

390 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (201)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (49)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (43)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Second Pool (8)
Viewed
Shantara Apartment (37)
Viewed
Studio with Pool View (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question