We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

4.5 of 5 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shantara Resort  (Apartments) Port Douglas
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shantara Resort  (Apartments) Port Douglas
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    133
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
20
510
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (661)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (226)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (122)
All months
There are newer reviews for Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the Shantara in November and we couldn't fault the location, facilities, apartment or service. Would highly recommend to anyone. The apartments are only 5 minutes walk to Macrossan Street and 4 mile beach. If you want a relaxed stay in an apartment in a central location with 5 star facilities then it will not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

What an amazing apartment complex. This was a total gem found whilst looking for a place to stay after deciding to go to Port Douglas on a whim. Rooms are beautiful with a nicely appointed kitchenette in the studio. Only possible gripe is that the table in the room and on the balcony are a touch on the big side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for having stayed at Shantara. It’s very gratifying to read your review. We are pleased to hear your comments on how we are able to improve the rooms for the Guests comfort and we will certainly be looking at updating the furniture in the near future, only 12 months ago we refurbished the apartments... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from spending a week at Shantara in Port Douglas. Even before we arrived the Shantara team made sure that all would go smoothly because we were arriving late. The Shantara complex was clean, quiet and extremely well presented. The staff with whom we interacted were polite and extremely helpful. I have no hesitation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We booked in to Shantara for 7 nights and left after the first night as the room we had backed onto the gym and the treadmill woke us up at 6am. After being denied a room change the managaement were not willing to give us a refund nor were they aware that the gym was a problem. The room has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas, responded to this review

The Guests approached Reception stating that they wanted to leave after 1 day, they were asked as to why and replied they had a “change of heart” and wanted a refund, we explained to them that the cancellation policy is clearly stated on the web site and was also emailed to them with their confirmation. At that point they then... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at shantara for four nights in December. Hotel nice, clean, pools are great and staff friendly and helpful. Good location with just a 10 minute walk to shops, restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Shantara resort was the perfect place to stay in Port Douglas. The resort isn’t very large, which was nice, and is very clean, has two amazing pools and is staffed by the best and friendliest people you have ever come across. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the first floor which meant we didn’t have access to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed at the Shantara in November 2011 and would highly recommend this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful from the point of arrival to when we left. we loved it so much after the first day that we extended our stay for another 2 days. The room was immaculate and although we had the smaller room it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed at the Shantara for 4 nights at the end of a trip up the Queensland Coast. After staying in poor accommodation on Fraser Island, Hervey Bay and Airlie Beach (all of which are not worth the stop / drive) we were delighted to arrive at the Shantara. Our 1 bed apartment was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

If you only have a bit more than 3 weeks to travel in Australia, it forces you to plan your trip carefully. You try to keep the travel time to a minimum while spending as much time as possible experiencing the highlights. Visiting the Great Barrier Reef is one of the most-do's, and after extensive research, we decided to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
suffolk england
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We were advised that the best way to visit the reef and get the best service out to it was to stay in Port Douglas and walk to the marina and catch the Quicksilver catamaran to the outer reef We negotiated a ten per cent discount on the boat and also took advantage of the one free night offer at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shantara Resort (Apartments) Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

380 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (192)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (43)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Second Pool (8)
Viewed
Shantara Apartment (37)
Viewed
Studio with Pool View (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay