We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apartments at The White House Port Douglas

Hotel website
19 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Stayed at the Whitehouse apartments for 4 nights during March found the apartments to be very spacious, clean, airy, light filled & modern furnishings. It is a small complex of only 9 apartments with the manager Margaret living onsite. Our apartment was located on the 1st floor overlooking the pool. Apartment 3. We booked a 1 bedroom but we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairns Region, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised at the space in the three bedroom apartment. We stayed for two nights and were very happy with the accommodation. The master bedroom was upstairs which was nice to have a little separation from the kids. The full kitchen had everything we needed to cook our own meal. The apartment was clean and well maintained given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Whitehouse is in a great location, near the beach, not far from town. Unfortunately the place was a little disappointing. The rooms were tired, and a bit dirty. One night we used a blanket from the spare room because it was a bit cool and it was dirty and frayed and just not something you expect at a place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Oh dear, Gdkoz, what a pity you didn't say anything while you were here, so that I could look into it, because your experience doesn't sound like that which our guests usually have. We have been replacing all the blankets - perhaps because you only booked one bedroom, the blanket in the second bedroom was one of those not replaced... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We returned to Port Douglas and again stayed at the White House Apartments. It has 9 apartments and so it is quiet. Margaret was again very helpful and organised bus pick up and return at the airport as we did not get a car this time. White House is in a perfect location across the road is a park and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you, DarynP, it is a pleasure to have you as regular guests! I'm glad you had another good experience, that's what we hope for with our visitors. As you know, all apartments face either east or north-east so the outlook is always pleasant. More 

Wangaratta, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I've just returned from two weeks in beautiful Port Douglas and although the weather left a bit to be desired, my apartment in the White House made up for it. I was in a 2 bdrm apt which had a fantastic view over the park across the road from the lounge room, balcony and master bedroom. Then it is just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

CountryOzzie, I hope you come back soon for another visit, you'll be so welcome - and there's yet another gadget for you to enjoy; a coffee machine so that you can even have fantastic coffee without going across the park or along the main street! Hmm, what else can I think of that would make your stay even more pleasant? More 

Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The Whitehouse is ideally located just a short stroll from both Four Mile Beach and the town centre. The rooms are spacious and well-maintained offering a small balcony with furniture. We had a two-bedroom apartment which was big enough for a family with two grown children. The apartment was well equipped with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you AvidTraveller60, you said it all, really! Well maintained, well equipped and ideally located - what more can I add? We get a lot of comments on how quiet it is here, both the complex and the area. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, that's exactly what we want and try to ensure for all of our guests. We've... More 

Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a family vacation. We were 4 people - a couple, a grandma and a toddler. We shared a spacious and well-appointed 3 bedroom apartment. It was very comfortable, fairly basic, slightly dated, but clean and everything worked well. There are ceiling fans throughout and individual air conditioners in each room. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you, JCanuck, for taking the time to write a review, and say such nice things. Now that we're not quite so busy we're doing some renovations, so we'll look at the idea of balcony furniture with cushions. Glad you found the apartment spacious, most of our guests do comment on that, as well as the ideal location. Look forward... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We said we would return and we have. Again, great location well situated for the beach and town. Having breakfast on the balcony listening to the bird life is a joy. Plenty of space, quiet and well appointed with ceiling fans and air conditioners. Plenty of parking, even if some is across the quiet street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you again, tripaccount. Good to have you as more of our repeat guests, it's lovely to see friendly faces coming back again and again. I think our large balconies are one of the most popular aspects of our apartments, if you were out there now you'd hear the lorikeets carrying on a treat! More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been travelling to Far North Queensland annually for the last 20 years and have stayed at The White House in Port Douglas for the last 4 years. The Apartments are spacious and clean with a lovely comfortable feel and are priced really well. I have stayed in many accommodation places over the years in the region and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just spent 3 days at the White House in Port Douglas and had a very pleasant experience. The place was recommended by friends who live in Melbourne. Margaret, the manager, was very helpful and friendly. She helped us arrange tours to the rainforest and the GBR and gave great recommendations. Because it was a holiday weekend, many restaurants were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question