We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Port Douglas accommodations

Apartments at The White House Port Douglas

4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Apartments at The White House Port Douglas to your Saves list
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
88%
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (42)
  • Photos (8)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Whitehouse is in a great location, near the beach, not far from town. Unfortunately the place was a little disappointing. The rooms were tired, and a bit dirty. One night we used a blanket from the spare room because it was a bit cool and it was dirty and frayed and just not something you expect at a place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Oh dear, Gdkoz, what a pity you didn't say anything while you were here, so that I could look into it, because your experience doesn't sound like that which our guests usually have. We have been replacing all the blankets - perhaps because you only booked one bedroom, the blanket in the second bedroom was one of those not replaced... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We returned to Port Douglas and again stayed at the White House Apartments. It has 9 apartments and so it is quiet. Margaret was again very helpful and organised bus pick up and return at the airport as we did not get a car this time. White House is in a perfect location across the road is a park and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you, DarynP, it is a pleasure to have you as regular guests! I'm glad you had another good experience, that's what we hope for with our visitors. As you know, all apartments face either east or north-east so the outlook is always pleasant. More

Wangaratta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I've just returned from two weeks in beautiful Port Douglas and although the weather left a bit to be desired, my apartment in the White House made up for it. I was in a 2 bdrm apt which had a fantastic view over the park across the road from the lounge room, balcony and master bedroom. Then it is just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

CountryOzzie, I hope you come back soon for another visit, you'll be so welcome - and there's yet another gadget for you to enjoy; a coffee machine so that you can even have fantastic coffee without going across the park or along the main street! Hmm, what else can I think of that would make your stay even more pleasant? More

Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The Whitehouse is ideally located just a short stroll from both Four Mile Beach and the town centre. The rooms are spacious and well-maintained offering a small balcony with furniture. We had a two-bedroom apartment which was big enough for a family with two grown children. The apartment was well equipped with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you AvidTraveller60, you said it all, really! Well maintained, well equipped and ideally located - what more can I add? We get a lot of comments on how quiet it is here, both the complex and the area. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, that's exactly what we want and try to ensure for all of our guests. We've... More

Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a family vacation. We were 4 people - a couple, a grandma and a toddler. We shared a spacious and well-appointed 3 bedroom apartment. It was very comfortable, fairly basic, slightly dated, but clean and everything worked well. There are ceiling fans throughout and individual air conditioners in each room. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you, JCanuck, for taking the time to write a review, and say such nice things. Now that we're not quite so busy we're doing some renovations, so we'll look at the idea of balcony furniture with cushions. Glad you found the apartment spacious, most of our guests do comment on that, as well as the ideal location. Look forward... More

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We said we would return and we have. Again, great location well situated for the beach and town. Having breakfast on the balcony listening to the bird life is a joy. Plenty of space, quiet and well appointed with ceiling fans and air conditioners. Plenty of parking, even if some is across the quiet street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you again, tripaccount. Good to have you as more of our repeat guests, it's lovely to see friendly faces coming back again and again. I think our large balconies are one of the most popular aspects of our apartments, if you were out there now you'd hear the lorikeets carrying on a treat! More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been travelling to Far North Queensland annually for the last 20 years and have stayed at The White House in Port Douglas for the last 4 years. The Apartments are spacious and clean with a lovely comfortable feel and are priced really well. I have stayed in many accommodation places over the years in the region and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just spent 3 days at the White House in Port Douglas and had a very pleasant experience. The place was recommended by friends who live in Melbourne. Margaret, the manager, was very helpful and friendly. She helped us arrange tours to the rainforest and the GBR and gave great recommendations. Because it was a holiday weekend, many restaurants were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vic
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my third stay at The Whitehouse, and after trying two other self contained holiday apartments on previous occasions, I will always be staying at The Whitehouse for my annual holidays from now on. It is a true North Queensland experience; the building has the feel & look of a Queenslander & the tropical surroundings are so pretty. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We (family of four) stayed at the White House which looked and sounded great on reviews but quite frankly a disappointment. The view of the water was blocked by trees, the rooms were a bit dirty. Kitchen appliances very annoying and hard to use. Only has a parking space of about 4 cars. The manager was a very nice lady... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Apartments at The White House Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments at The White House Port Douglas

Address: 19 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments at The White House Port Douglas 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Apartments at The White House Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Port Douglas with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, a delightful example of "Queenslander" architecture, nestles amid tropical gardens enhanced by myriads of colourful butterflies and birds, beautifully positioned opposite a park leading directly onto famous Four Mile Beach. Only 9 large, airy apartments – 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms, each with full kitchen & laundry & breezy balconies looking over the park onto the beach, around the corner from the main shopping and restaurant precinct. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Apartments at The White House Port Douglas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer