We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apartments at The White House Port Douglas

Hotel website
19 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Taupo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We had a 2 bedroom penthouse (which actually was a 3 bedroom penthouse). It is up amongst the palm streets so perfect for sitting on the veranda for an early evening drink. Everything was perfect, the furnishings are very modern and comfortable and all we needed in the kitchen plus a bonus of a Nespresso coffee machine. It is only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Dot P, you didn't bother me at all, it was a great pleasure to have you staying at The White House once again, I hope there will be many more times! The other apartments are just as good as the penthouse you stayed in, with furnished verandas to enjoy that evening drink. Come back soon! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

The White House was a great place to stay. Really lovely 2 storey 3 bedroom apartment meant for 5-6 people we had lots of room. 1 minute from the beach and a lovely organic cafe and a nice 8 minute walk to Marina was great. We had 3 lovely large balconies and all mod cons. For a self contained stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

JodiemayT, I'm glad you were happy to stay at The White House and found it lovely. The apartments certainly are roomy, aren't they! Most of our guests comment on the convenient location too. Tell your friends to mention your name when they're booking and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Stayed at the Whitehouse apartments for 4 nights during March found the apartments to be very spacious, clean, airy, light filled & modern furnishings. It is a small complex of only 9 apartments with the manager Margaret living onsite. Our apartment was located on the 1st floor overlooking the pool. Apartment 3. We booked a 1 bedroom but we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Wow, 84Cedarhouse, thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely, comprehensive review! You've covered any questions prospective guests could have. I'm happy to tell you there's now a new 48in Smart TV in the apartment, with a new DVD player so you don't even need the stereo, and new airconditioners have been installed.... More 

Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised at the space in the three bedroom apartment. We stayed for two nights and were very happy with the accommodation. The master bedroom was upstairs which was nice to have a little separation from the kids. The full kitchen had everything we needed to cook our own meal. The apartment was clean and well maintained given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, LLDT, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests usually remark on the fact that the apartments are so spacious. I think they used to build them a lot bigger than they do these days, and the walls are usually thicker too, making the apartments much quieter. The 3 bedroom penthouses are often... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Whitehouse is in a great location, near the beach, not far from town. Unfortunately the place was a little disappointing. The rooms were tired, and a bit dirty. One night we used a blanket from the spare room because it was a bit cool and it was dirty and frayed and just not something you expect at a place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Oh dear, Gdkoz, what a pity you didn't say anything while you were here, so that I could look into it, because your experience doesn't sound like that which our guests usually have. We have been replacing all the blankets - perhaps because you only booked one bedroom, the blanket in the second bedroom was one of those not replaced... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We returned to Port Douglas and again stayed at the White House Apartments. It has 9 apartments and so it is quiet. Margaret was again very helpful and organised bus pick up and return at the airport as we did not get a car this time. White House is in a perfect location across the road is a park and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you, DarynP, it is a pleasure to have you as regular guests! I'm glad you had another good experience, that's what we hope for with our visitors. As you know, all apartments face either east or north-east so the outlook is always pleasant. More 

Wangaratta, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I've just returned from two weeks in beautiful Port Douglas and although the weather left a bit to be desired, my apartment in the White House made up for it. I was in a 2 bdrm apt which had a fantastic view over the park across the road from the lounge room, balcony and master bedroom. Then it is just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

CountryOzzie, I hope you come back soon for another visit, you'll be so welcome - and there's yet another gadget for you to enjoy; a coffee machine so that you can even have fantastic coffee without going across the park or along the main street! Hmm, what else can I think of that would make your stay even more pleasant? More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The Whitehouse is ideally located just a short stroll from both Four Mile Beach and the town centre. The rooms are spacious and well-maintained offering a small balcony with furniture. We had a two-bedroom apartment which was big enough for a family with two grown children. The apartment was well equipped with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you AvidTraveller60, you said it all, really! Well maintained, well equipped and ideally located - what more can I add? We get a lot of comments on how quiet it is here, both the complex and the area. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, that's exactly what we want and try to ensure for all of our guests. We've... More 

Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a family vacation. We were 4 people - a couple, a grandma and a toddler. We shared a spacious and well-appointed 3 bedroom apartment. It was very comfortable, fairly basic, slightly dated, but clean and everything worked well. There are ceiling fans throughout and individual air conditioners in each room. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you, JCanuck, for taking the time to write a review, and say such nice things. Now that we're not quite so busy we're doing some renovations, so we'll look at the idea of balcony furniture with cushions. Glad you found the apartment spacious, most of our guests do comment on that, as well as the ideal location. Look forward... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We said we would return and we have. Again, great location well situated for the beach and town. Having breakfast on the balcony listening to the bird life is a joy. Plenty of space, quiet and well appointed with ceiling fans and air conditioners. Plenty of parking, even if some is across the quiet street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you again, tripaccount. Good to have you as more of our repeat guests, it's lovely to see friendly faces coming back again and again. I think our large balconies are one of the most popular aspects of our apartments, if you were out there now you'd hear the lorikeets carrying on a treat! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
0.0 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.0 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#10 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay