We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Port Douglas accommodations

The Port Douglas Outrigger

3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   16 - 18 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Port Douglas Outrigger to your Saves list
The Port Douglas Outrigger
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
90%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
cassieVictoria victoria
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    41
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
79
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just spent 4 nights here and although the location is good the bed is really uncomfortable and it's so noisy. We were woken up just after 6 each morning by people just talking and traffic. The sound seems to echo and we could hear everyone else's conversations. It wasn't very relaxing and the equipment in the rooms old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett C, Manager at The Port Douglas Outrigger, responded to this review

This review was such a surprise! All rooms (except one) have the same bed with 99% of people telling me how comfortable they are??? All rooms are fully self contained with the cupboards fully stocked -if something is missing or a guest wants something all they have to do is ask!! I certainly don't believe that the building echoes -no... More

Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a 16 night stay at Outrigger and would have stayed there forever. Everything about the place was just as we had hoped or better. We arrived at 6pm and although reception was closed (which we would expect) there was no hassle getting into our apartment. We had been upgraded to The Penthouse apartment no 13... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett C, Manager at The Port Douglas Outrigger, responded to this review

Wow -Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the Outrigger as much as we do. We hope to see you back next year!! Cheers Andrea and Brett More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we have just spent 8 nights at the resort,brett and andrea were first rate in there roles and would highly recomend it to anyone thinking of a port douglas trip,it is walkyng distance to all the good places and main shopping area,managment was so helpfull in suggesting and organising tours and excursions,bretts were especially good and we could not have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett C, Manager at The Port Douglas Outrigger, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, it is great to have such lovely people stay with us and enjoy the Outrigger and Port Douglas, we look forward to you coming to visit us again, Cheers Brett and Andrea More

Mornington, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let start with the good points .Location ok near enough to 4 mile beach and beach end of town (5 minute stroll.) .Pool good however the area is very small and only 4 lounges for the 16 units. Kitchen good (recently reno ?),utensils and crockery needed cleaning before use We stayed for 17 nights and had 1 linen change and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brett C, Manager at The Port Douglas Outrigger, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The cleaners do check all the utensils and cookware on each back to back -so not sure what you are trying to imply. Putting photos of the bottom of a broom and mop is quite a surprise, sorry they had been used, unfortunately we can't replace the mop head every time, but we certainly do on... More

Invercargill
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose Outrigger from all the positive reviews I had read on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately I cannot add to them. Overall we were disappointed in our choice of accommodation in Port Douglas. It was not until I walked up to the (unmanned) reception that I realized we had stayed there back in 2003 and weren't impressed with it then. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett C, Manager at The Port Douglas Outrigger, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Number 5 has had soooo many wonderful reviews before, it's a shame you didn't like it. Firstly lets clear up an obvious miss understanding-Beach towels are $2 each for the entire stay (to cover the cost from the laundry company) NOT per day. Depending on when you stayed the complex does get families with children... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location was great, close to everything but not on the Main Street so it wasn't too noisy. The apartment comes with a starter kit for tea/coffee/toilet paper etc but given we were only staying a few days before flying home this wasn't ideal for us. In relation to the apartment, the most important room is the bedroom and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett C, Manager at The Port Douglas Outrigger, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.The bed has been in the apartment for quite a number of years and has never been complained about!?!? The floors prior to check in are of course painstakingly vacuumed and mopped, so to say you 'feet were black' is quite shocking!?!? Sorry there were not enough power points for your liking. Self contained apartments ALWAYS... More

Brisbane
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent many nights looking for a reasonable priced place to stay at in Port Douglas, that enabled us to walk to the main street and eateries and this place ticked all the boxes. We had a 1 bed apartment and there was plenty of room plus an outside area, even mosquito coils under the sink. Car park was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

After looking at many a 2 bed apartment in Port Douglas we settled on The Outrigger. We had a great stay and we would recommend this hotel to friends. Positives:- Andrea at reception was super helpful - great local knowledge! Beach toys, pool toys all provided! Very comfy beds and apartment had everything you needed. Location was fantastic - a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay made special by Andrea and Brett. Rooms are roomy and clean with very modern appliances. The pool was very clean and tidy. Thank you again for all your help. You save time and money booking your trips/excursion through Andrea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our stay at the Outrigger was amazing!! Our room was extremely clean and very comfortable. The oven, stove top and microwave made it very easy to eat in on nights that we chose to. The convenience of having a washing machine and dryer in our apartment was awesome. Our stay was so quiet we never heard anyone coming and going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett C, General Manager at The Port Douglas Outrigger, responded to this review

Hi lovely Stuckey Family, we really appreciate your comments. Happy friendly guests make our job worth while. So glad you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!!Cheers Andrea and Brett More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Port Douglas Outrigger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Port Douglas Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Douglas Outrigger

Address: 16 - 18 Mudlo Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Port Douglas Outrigger 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Port Douglas Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Douglas Outrigger Hotel Port Douglas
Outrigger Port Douglas
Port Douglas Outrigger

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Port Douglas with
any amenities