We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 46 Port Douglas hotels

Oaks Lagoons

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Langley Road & Port, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 10%!
Save Saved
You added Oaks Lagoons to your Saves list
Oaks Lagoons
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #30 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Ja9pip
  • Reviews (327)
  • Photos (139)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (87)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    136
    52
    25
    16
See reviews for
94
152
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Oaks Lagoons was a great choice for myself and teenage children. We had a two bedroom apartment on the third floor which was very clean,well appointed and even had a spa that we put to good use. The pools were lovely and the staff were very helpful and informative. The shuttles that run in and out of Port Douglass... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed the peaceful ambience of the Oaks Lagoons. The spa’s on the balconies of the hotel spa rooms or the 2 bedroom apartments is a great way to really relax in our tropical environment., particularly after a big day out visiting the Great Barrier Reef. Whilst we may not be in the main street, our location... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

lovely self contained apartment, first class in every way. We had a walk out to pool room which I would recommend. Very clean, great bbq area. nice and quiet after staying in Pt Douglas which was very noisy between midnight and 1;30 AM Very nice study era where you can get a bit of work done, for a one bedroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review

Thanks John, great to hear you appreciated the quiet ambience at the Oaks Lagoons. It is exactly what we are trying to provide with comfortable, clean and functional rooms. Whilst we do offer a number of hotel rooms the apartments are really good for the additional cost. For shorter stays, the hotel rooms work very well if you’re not planning... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While some things I would rate excellent, others i would rate average. Firstly the one bedroom apartments are far more spacious than anywhere i have stayed in before. In fact they are almost like a 2 bedroom apartment as they have a little study off the bedroom with a sofa bed to put your kids in or in our case... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review

Thanks Emily for your balanced scorecard of your stay. I am pleased you found the layout worked very well for you. The room next to the bedroom is absolutely perfect for young families where you can either have a cot as you did or have an under 8 year old close utilising the fold out sofa without actually being in... More

Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great spot, we were 3rd floor up, not swim up but I preferred that security anyway. A friend and I spent a relaxing 5 nights swimming, hired bikes for a bargain from the reception and rode along the beach, went next door to eat, and catch a shuttle to town. Walked around the corner a bit to a cocktail... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us Kel and submitting a review. Pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our bicycles to explore Port Douglas. Who needs a car when you can get the wind in your face. With the CBD only 15 minutes by bike away, chaining up to a lamp post at some cosy café is... More

Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I bought a Groupon voucher to Oaks Lagoon. I stayed herea few years ago with my young family and loved it. This time however, the rooms had a very damp smell that was rather unpleasant. Barbara, at the front desk, gave us a choice of two other rooms which was great as we found one that smelt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review

Hi Gaye, thanks for the feedback and for staying with us again and I am sorry the rooms had a damp smell. We no not leave air-conditioners on in vacant rooms as the cost of electricity makes this prohibitive. During periods where we have a lot of rain as we have had this season, this can happen but usually once... More

Perth, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Can't get passed the dirty sheets on the bed it was the worst! Shower floor mouldy! If i knew this was what we had to look out for the minute we walked in it wouldn't have been so bad and i would've asked for it to be cleaned but not realising until halfway through our 5 night stay, let us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not find the cleaning issues until half way through your stay, however for the benefit of others who may be reading this review, please always feel comfortable to bring these matters to our attention. If something has been over looked, we have no hesitation in rectifying any problem for our guests. Our aim is to... More

NSW, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had 8 nights at the Oaks Port Douglas and would most definitely recommend to a family wanting to travel to the area. We had a 2 bedroom swim out which was fabulous and though our kids are older and constant supervision not necessary for a young it would allow a lot more freedom. The kitchen was basic with a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review

Thanks Kate for your review, it is appreciated. We are pleased you and the family enjoyed the 2 bedroom swim out apartment and your time in Port Douglas. The BBQ area is very popular with our guests, not only because of the great BBQ’s , but as we provide other equipment like a kettle, toaster and also a microwave, which... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which had a full kitchen, laundry, living area, balcony spa. All amenities were clean the only remark is that the walls could use a paint due to lots of wear and tear. The pool was lovely and the staff very helpful. We will definetely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We very much appreciated your business and the time you have taken to submit a review of the property. In some of the rooms we do find with the paint does leave a shine where we have cleaned. We will address this when we next repaint the rooms with a better quality wash &... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My Husband and I set off on a short break adventure to Port Douglas with very high expectations. The unit we had was a 1 bedroom deluxe swim out. The unit itself was clean and tidy when we arrived. We were initially happy with our location. After 2 days of our holiday we realised we were on the no-sun side... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review

I am sorry your stay didn’t meet your expectations. I am pleased to advise since your visit we have commenced a program of heating our pools on the side that gets ‘less sun’ with the first one now heated for the coming winter period. Being in the tropics heating of pools is not something that has been mainstream, but with... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Only stayed one night and the room was clean and comfortable. We had a studio room with a spa on the balcony. Unfortunately the free WIFI was only 30 minutes per day and quite expensive to buy.....our only hotel to do this is 3 weeks of travelling!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your review. I note your comments about the internet costs after the 30 minutes daily free access. This free access is only new for us having previously been a charge only option. Interestingly, we have had a lot more comments since we began offer the first 30 minutes free. I am pleased the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Oaks Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Address: Cnr Langley Road & Port, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#23 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
127

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer