We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saltwater Luxury Apartments

4.0 of 5 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Special Offer
Free WIFI + Beach Towel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    49
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
105
72
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (241)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
There are newer reviews for Saltwater Luxury Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I stayed at Saltwater Luxury Apartments and was amazed at the fantastic location and service I received. There is nowhere better to stay in Port Douglas than right in the heart of Macrossan Street where Saltwater is located. Just across the road was a supermarket where we could purchase food to cook in the well equipped kitchen. I couldn't fault... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed for 5 night, the apartment was perfect with everything that we could possibly need included. It was clean and modern, and the pool was heated just what we were looking for. The location is excellent and the hosts are great, they provided a tour booking service free of charge with un-biased advice. They made our holiday too easy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed 6 nights in 3 bed apartment on Grant St end. Bottle collections from surrounding cafes was very noisy every morning around 6am. We expected that we would get our towels changed at least once during our stay. 4 wet bath towels and 4 beach towels from 4 adults are expected to dry on two 45cm towel rails. Result... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As we tried to explain to these guests during their stay and at departure Saltwater Luxury Apartments are non serviced holiday apartments [as stated in several places on our website & all affiliated ones] therefore a change of linen is not made unless the stay is over 7 nights. The apartments are each equiped with... More

Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We had a great week at Saltwater to celebrate my 60th birthday. John and Cariolyne were very welcoming and helpful, advising us on the best tours and making the bookings for us. They also advised us on local restaurants, and consequently we ate very well. While the building is in the centre of Port Douglas, the apartment itself was quiet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wellington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed 6 nights at Saltwater this month and would reccomend it to others. The hosts John and Caroline were very friendly and helpful and the apartment itself was beautifully decorated and spotless. We stayed in the 3 bedroom penthouse as there were 4 of us for the first 3 days and Caroline and john allowed us to stay on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

The apartment was literally right in the centre of everything in Port Douglas, no need for taxis or shuttle buses for evening dining. Unlike many of the apartments in Port Douglas it is really spacious, clean and modern. The managers are constantly available to assist and always seem to be working hard to keep up the high standard. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

The management could not have been more helpful. The location is great in the middle of town. The apartments are spacious and spotlessly clean They have all the comforts of home and you could not ask for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We spent 11 nights in Saltwater with our 2 year old son. The location was excellent, close to everything within Port Douglas. No need for hiring a car. We had choice of a 2 bedroom or 2 bedroom ultra but we were unexpectedly upgraded to a 3 bedroom due to a broken fridge in the ultra. Cannot find fault with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

These apartments are in a great location, lovley decor and very clean. The swimming pool area is one of the best we've come across. We couldn't fault anything about our stay. Our hosts were very helpful and courteous and made our stay very comfortable. We certainly had a lovely time there and wouldn't hesitate to recommend these apartments to anyone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We wanted to treat ourselves and booked here after reading the reviews. The manager is very nice but when he unlocked the door to our apartment we were hit by the most unpleasant dank, stale smell. It took two days of the doors being wide open constantly for the smell to be tolerable. Not what was expected when you are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are responding as we were completely unaware of any problem whatsoever with the apartment. We had no complaint from these people when they were in house nor when they departed which is disappointing from our perspective as we were unable to rectify any problem that there may have been . We have never had... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay