We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 46 Port Douglas hotels

Saltwater Luxury Apartments

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Saltwater Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
94%
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Nick B Solihull, United Kingdom
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    49
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
104
71
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Accommodation was excellent and we cannot fault it. We were a family of 4 including 2 teenagers travelling around Australia for 5 weeks and it was the best place we stayed in. Owners, John and Carolyne were lovely and very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beckenham,KENT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this apartment after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and to say I and my family were disappointed is an understatement. These apartments are certainly not my idea of luxurious, having an open plan bedroom/bathroom does not come under that category as far as I am concerned. Our apartment did not get any sun and felt permanently damp,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Raworth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We keep returning to Saltwater for our annual winter holiday, which really says it all. The location is perfect in the centre of Macrossan Street, within easy walking distance of all the local restaurants and other attractions such as Four Mile beach, the Sunday markets and the marina. The managers, John and Carolyne, are always most helpful with advice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for another great review. As always a pleasure to have you stay with us. We know you had a great time at Saltwater this year and look forward to your next visit. More

Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived for our 5 night stay at 7.30pm to find that the booking agent had made an error and not booked our accommodation at Saltwater. Port Douglas was virtually booked out including Saltwater Resort, but John & Carolyn were absolutely unbelievable!! Even though reception was closed and they were in the middle of having dinner, they stopped everything and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. It was our pleasure to help you. We hope that you did enjoy your stay in Port Douglas. See you soon. More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Good location, nice pool area. Fire alarm and having management and fire dept walking through the apartment at 1am not fun. John (management) very helpful, kind and courteous...Carolyn (management), the opposite. A holiday is what you make it and we love Port Douglas but we wouldn't book Saltwater again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes the fire alarm was activated through a fault in the system. I have to apologise if you thought I was not pleasant. I can't really think why you would think this. We went out of our way to make the process as easy as possible but unfortunately the Queensland Government insists that the alarm is... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Just spent 4 nights at Saltwater. John and Carolyne were great and the location of Saltwater was excellent. It was close to everything and the marina is a 5 minute walk away. However, we were in a 3 bedroom apartment and the layout was very poor. One of the bathrooms was the size of a small closet and the bathroom... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

What a shame you didn't enjoy your holiday at Saltwater. If you had a problem with the apartment we would have been more than happy to move you although we consider the apartments to be well appointed and spacious. We understand the layout is not to your liking but there is a third private toilet area in the apartment for... More

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here as a group of friends, for a wedding. we had a large clean well appointed appartment with Kitchen and hot tub in the master bedroom, it was Ok value wise, especially as we booked it through Booking.com and got a discount. The view from the balcony was excellent, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Saltwater. May be you will be able to visit Port Douglas again soon. More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed in a three bedroom apartment. The place is quite nice but by no means luxury. Not sure that the floors are mopped thoroughly because we always had black feet. John is lovely but Carolyne is plain rude and abrupt. The noise from our apartment was ridiculous. The bin that collects rubbish at 6.30am every morning was so loud as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and feedback. I apologise if you considered me to be abrupt and rude but can't recall any issues that would have prompted the comments. It certainly wasn't intended. As you can see by past reviews there has not been a comment like this before. Once again apologies. More

England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had a awesome weekend here with family celebrating a 7th and 40th birthday. Lovely clean apartments. Only trouble was the over sensitive fire alarms which we encountered after cooking in the oven . Meal was spoilt by management and fire service visiting us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. Your comment regarding the fire alarms is misleading. There was quite a lot of smoke in your apartment caused through cooking. The fire alarms are set to the standards of the Queensland Government and are there to save lives. They are not set to be too sensitive. A small inconvenience for yourself but a big... More

NSW
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We loved our stay at Saltwater, it was perfect for our needs. We stayed in a 2BR apartment which was clean & comfortable. Loved the layout of the apartment which included a small laundry, generous living area, kitchen, and 2 bathrooms with the main bathroom having a huge spa and good storage space. Beds/linen were comfortable. The kids loved the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. We appreciate you taking the time to write the review. We have approached the local council on a regular basis but the leaf blowers are here to stay. It's only for a short time and 7am isn't too bad. At least everything is clean on the streets. We are surprised by the comments about street... More

Do you own or manage Saltwater Luxury Apartments?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Saltwater Luxury Apartments