We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
91 - 93 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015
Nola C Merricks North, Australia
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    32
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looks good in the pictures, but we found our room to be poorly cleaned, if at all - for example, there was pubic hair still on the toilet upon arrival, the room had a funky smell, and the floors had not had a scrubbed in a while - running a paper cloth along them made that abundantly clear. In addition,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mangotreemanager, Manager at At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

At $75 per night the cost to this guest was very small. In comparison the cost of this review to our business could be very high. Why do people do this? Why does this site encourage this? We pay Trip Adviser around $3,000 for our business listing. In return TA publishes harmful material. We have cancelled our business listing with... More 

Merricks North, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Four nights spent here in ground floor two bedroom apartment 12 and there are many reasons to like the accommodation and facilities. Although there was an odour in the unit on arrival ~ probably a touch of mustiness ~ it disappeared quickly. They are roomy with eye pleasing furniture ~ the drapes are very blackout effective ~ beds comfortable ~... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mangotreemanager, Manager at At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We would just like to clarify that the odour referred to is actually a deodorizer that is used when we prepare the rooms for each arrival. More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014 via mobile

The mango tree was basic accommodation but did exactly what we needed without spending too much money. The apartments had all the facilities you could want, cooking, electric, tv, ceiling fan aircon, parking spaces etc plus they had plenty of outdoor facilities at the apartments, pool, tennis court but to be honest we didn't use them. What's great is they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

hubby and i stayed here for our honeymoon in april 2013, it was beautiful, while not 5 star, it had all we needed and it was clean, and great that it was self-contained, as we therefore didnt have to pay to go out every night. The owners, Helen and Mick were very lovely and we got to go out on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Folsom, California, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed here for a week, and we loved the location, and the spaciousness of the apartment. Be aware, however, if you have very high standards of cleanliness, you may be initially put off by the smell and the layer of dust on baseboards, ceilings, and at all the wall edges. We bought some bleach to mop with and some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Seaford, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Absolutely loved the place. It far exceeded my expectations. Apartment was spacious, clean, airy and everything I needed to self cater was supplied. The tropical setting also has a great ambience which was relaxing and uplifting. While on the main road and only 10 mins stroll into Port Douglas, the apartments are set back enough that you only hear the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Not cheap, but spacious, clean, good equiped apartments, more than enough for a family of four. There's a lot of shade, terrace, car-parking included, very handy swimming pool - just the right size for a few strokes and for kids to enjoy. We only missed some blankets, since it was not very warm in the night. Employees are helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Port Douglas has lots of resorts and glamour places, but this wins in value, layout and location. Just a walk to the beach, and everything you might want. Mike is happy to arrange tours, and inform on the region. The units are clean, well equipped and would suit families.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I only had one night at the Mango Tree but I would have been happy to extend my stay, had I been able to do so. The manager was friendly and the room was comfortable. Good location as well and I enjoyed Port Douglas enormously.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Although an older, smaller property, The Mango Tree was very clean, well cared for. The kitchen had adequate cutlery/dinnerware/utensils and in general had everything we needed. Loved the location, just a short walk across the road and then on a safe path down to the beach. Had the bonus of a sand play equipment and balls for the kids to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mangotreemanager, Manager at At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. It's truly a great pleasure to read that you consider the place well cared for. We live on site and the Mango Tree is our home so it is very satisfying to see our efforts in caring for the property rewarded by your review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question