We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turtle Cove Beach Resort

Certificate of Excellence
100 Captain Cook Hwy, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Rate this Hotel

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    69
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
1
149
75
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (297)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

You will not be able to enjoy walking freely on their beach or swim in the ocean Dec-March at the risk of encountering a crocodile or being stung by an tiny jelly fish, both of which are most probably deadly. During the same period you must wear some potent bug repellent unless you want to be constantly harassed by flies.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I just read another review, were a recent traveller picked on dust and allegedly poor lighting. I didn't notice these things, instead remembering smiling staff, falling asleep listening to the waves, families of curlews on the beach, eels in the creek - a truly special spot, blessed by Mother Nature, in a beautiful totally private cove in North Queensland. Close... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and understanding of what we want to achieve for our guests. As I always say, we never claim to be a 5 staff and we don't want that, as it stops you from being your self amongst same gender like people. Mind you we still always try to does extra bits to... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

There are things to be positive about if you stay at Turtle Cove - but if you are after value for money and a quality product this isn't the place to stay - its shabby and there is nothing to make you feel special about staying here Friendly staff, a comfortable feeling, a great chef with quality food prepated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been a very fortunate gay man to stay at this wonderful resort "Turtle Cove" for many a year now. The past three to four years especially, remain in my mind. I always thoroughly very much look forward to staying here with wonderful, welcoming and friendly staff, ESPECIALLY the GUYS at the bar restaurant. 10/10 to them. Especially Matt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. And yes, we do pride ourselves to make every guest feel special and not just a room number. Sure we don’t want to be a five star property, where you have all those rules. Pool closed at 7 (24 hours here and no pool fence) No noise after 10 (here all rooms are away... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everyone on the Resort team went out of their way to help and make the stay relaxed and enjoyable. We stayed in the Beach Front apartment which had recently been updated. The location is remote and relaxed, but has everything you need - great bar, great food, private beach, jacuzzi and pool. Stay here a few times and will return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that we where able to make your stay so enjoyable. Our Turtle staff (family), work very hard and enjoy making every guest feel relaxed and we go out of our way to give that little extra that other resorts generally just could not be bothered with. Love to see you back... More 

München
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a coral view room and got an upgrade to a room on the second floor. Thank God! The rooms on the first floor mainly look at garage type motel things (that actually are the entrances to the even more expensive beach rooms). We therefore could at least see the sea, the view to the actual beach, however was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments And I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and apologize for the missed room servicing. Even with your free upgrade looking over the low front units right onto the coral sea, you may have had some obstructed views with our lush gardens and palm trees. The reception has a massive safe and we... More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Location is perfect. Staff are helpful and efficient. Top quality meals. Rooms are a little tired, but they are clean and bed is comfortable. We did not spend much time in the room anyway. Highly recommend a visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind entree, Yes my staff family are loving to make all our guests feel at home and go that extra bit further to ensure that all guests are having a great time. Our new chef is the best with amazing daily varied dishes to please all palettes. Beach frond rooms are upgraded this February with the... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

It is a wonderful place to relax on a private beach. The food is excellent. The staff is very friendly and everybody is welcome. But you need a car to descover the surroundings. There is no transport connection. And the rooms (beach few) have to be refurbished when this hotel will be legitimated his room rates.

Was this review helpful? Yes
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and helpful comments. You are so right, although there are bus services around here, but they must be booked well ahead and our luck they don’t go past when you want it he…he…, hence a car is always a good idea to see the many attractions around us. The room renovations are happening this February... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We have visited Turtle Cove many times. It is somewhere we love to go back to to chill out, relax and do very little. The location is fantastic, and great any time of the year. The staff are always friendly. It is a wonderful place to meet and make new interesting and eccentric friends from Australia and overseas.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks guys for your lovely comments here. Yep we just want the Cove to stay relaxed, after all you surely not want any rules with do’s and do not’s here. So many walks of life visit us, but I thought, I was the only eccentric one here, but feel good now that I am not alone he….he…he.. We can’t wait... More 

Tulsa, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Turtle Cove Resort and couldn't have been happier. The location is beautiful and a perfect place for gay travelers to stay. The staff were very attentive and helpful. We were picked up at the airport by Ray who was on time and ready for us when we arrived. The check-in process was great!... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Our Turtle Table (please join me table) is very popular to meet others And conversation become very often very funny. We did not create that smash up on the highway, but happy that you had to stay an extra day he…he… We love to see you back again one day. With love from all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
3:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question