We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra in the Village

Corner Grant & Warner Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mantra in the Village
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    36
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

I just can't believe how dirty this place is! Tonight is our first night and I am almost too scared to get into the bed. 2 glasses had lipstick on them and the bins in the bathrooms and the kitchen are filthy on the outside. I am too scared to look on the inside. The table, coffee table and side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review

Dear Christine C, Thank you for your feedback and it is upsetting to hear about the cleanliness of your room on arrival. This is most defiantly not our usual standard and I would like the opportunity to discuss this issue further. Mantra in the Village is manned 9am-5pm outside these hours our staff are contactable via our afterhours service and... More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Mantra in the village is located on Grant Street and is pretty much right in the centre of town. They have good sized rooms but most need lots of work. Plenty of patch work visible inside units. The complex is in a good position but on the downside there is lots of street noise - this included early morning garbage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy D Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Mantra in the Village has a fantastic location as you have noted in your review however at times being in the heart of town can present some street noise which can effect some guests who are light sleepers. I am sorry to hear that you found the... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

We stayied in a one bedroom apartment for one week, Very well equiped. Maccrosan Street just round the corner.Bed was comfortable.Spa plus balcony. The only draw back was the niose from the council workers cleaning the street outside with thier blowers which woke us up at 6.30 nearly every morning.for this reason we would not stay again. We complainted at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am glad you enjoyed your room however I am sorry to hear that the council workers disturbed your sleep. I have raised this with the council and with feedback such as yours I do hope this issue can be resolved. I hope you had a great time... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Stayed June 2015. Chose central location as we didn't hire a car. Location is fantastic - 5-10 min walk to beach, shops, bars and Marina - everywhere you need. Stayed in one bed spa suite. Nice balcony with Spa - was the best bit. Got a great deal to stay there so wasn't expecting 5 star. Reception staff were excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review

Dear Doc B, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am sorry to hear that the council workers disturbed your sleep and I have raised this with the council hopefully with feedback such as yours this issue can be resolved. The majority of the rooms have been refurbished with only a couple of rooms to go.... More 

Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Manta in the Village is a great place to stay, right in the middle of everything you need, walk everywhere. Unit was VERY nice, had everything that was needed for a luxury break away., very nice helpful staff, pool area is great ,would definitely recommend M in the V

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review

Dear sallyjean33, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly. I hope you had a great time in Port Douglas and we hope you can return again soon to this beautiful region. Kind Regards David Hutcheon General Manager More 

Yackandandah, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

After spending 4 nights at the Mantra in the Village, I wont be stopping there again. On the surface things looked clean but with further inspection "they were not". My bed was said to be a queen but was a very short double. The front desk was only attended after ringing a phone connected to a sister hotel and then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review

Dear Catherinet825, I am sorry to hear that you were unimpressed with the accommodation at Mantra in the Village. I apologise if the room cleanliness was not up to our usual standards and if we were aware that you had issues regarding the cleanliness of your room we would have promptly returned to rectify for you. At times the reception... More 

Te Puke, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Mixed bag. Great location, nice apartment. Spoiled somewhat by small things. A shared internet pc in the lobby remained broken despite being reported. Room phone didn't work. Paid wireless internet was both expensive and frustrating to use. Information in the in-room documentation was very out of date.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review

Dear gebfebber, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and I apologise for the shortfalls which have been attended to. I am glad you enjoyed your apartment and I hope these shortfalls did not have a major impact on your visit to Port Douglas. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Port Douglas and we can... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights. Apartments are just off a main shopping strip. Little street the entrance is on has lovely bakery (also serves coffee) and several other cafe/restaurants. Minimal walking and underground parking. Small Front office was staffed only part time, but staff always friendly and helpful. Phone backup if needed. Pool is very small compared to other places in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

My fiance and i stayed here while we were up in port douglas looking at wedding venues, so we wanted to stay somewhere nice, but inexpensive. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a spa on the balcony that over looked the pool. The rooms were nice and clean, beds comfortable and aircon was amazing (it was so hot)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Avalon, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I drove up from Trinity Beach for the day and decided to stay overnight and was able to get a room here at a standby rate. The Manager was very helpful and friendly, the room was just perfect, the bathroom was bigger than my bathroom at home, very luxurious. I had a room just opposite the pool and noise wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review

Dear frangipanigirl, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards David Hutcheon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#31 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#15 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.6 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#30 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
0.3 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay