We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra PortSea

4.0 of 5 76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    187
    87
    43
    27
See reviews for
145
221
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (529)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (186)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (172)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mantra PortSea
See the most recent reviews
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was a pleasant surprise and one of the better Mantra hotels with regard to design. The studio rooms are surprisingly large, with a king size bed, 2 large sofas, and room for a portacot. The portacot was unfortunately $10 extra a night. We had a spa corner bath in the room which was great - shame we didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review- It is disappointing to hear of the breakfast room service and pool bar closing every night before 6pm. I will be sure to address this during our high season. I feel you enjoyed your stay however we missed the mark in terms of service which will be addressed. I thank you for honesty and do... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I took our 12 week old baby here for the week. We had a studio apartment on the 3rd floor. Room was lovely and we really enjoyed everything about our stay! Pool is great, lots of different sections so you can escape the loud kids if needed.10 minute walk to Main Street along the footpath or on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Thanks Steph for your review- Portsea is a family friendly resort. pram access is hard with stairs however requests before arrival can often result in middle floor rooms -so no stairs. Thank you for taking the time to review. Many Thanks, Lisa Brown-General Manager More

Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a three day stay at this hotel. It is well suited in the town, short walk from the town centre. Rooms are spacious, very clean with a good bathroom. Our room overlooked the lap pool and ir was noce to sit on the balcony with drinks. Beach is a short walk and well suited for children. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

So nice to hear you enjoyed Port Douglas and Mantra PortSea. Would invite your recommendations to family & friends. Many Thanks, Lisa Brown-General Manager More

Newcastle, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here late September 2014 to recoup our energies after a week in the hubbub of Singapore during F1 week. Very good, clean & spacious accommodation. Breakfast the anticipated "continental", but with the welcome addition of a pankake machine. Location spot on - short walk to the town centre and a private walkway direct from the hotel to the Four... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed -thank you for your review. Your are spot on Mantra Portsea's location is spot on to all attractions, dining and beach all by walking. Many Thanks, Lisa Brown-General Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were quite disappointed with the value equation. We paid a reasonable amount for the hotel room and it was just totally unsuitable. Even when we checked it they immediately asked us if we wanted to pay for an upgrade to an apartment. It was as if they knew that we wouldn't be happy. So we dragged our suitcases over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review- I am assuming you booked through a travel agent to recieve a hotel room for an extended stay. Mantra Portsea does promote Hotel rooms however these are recommended for 2 or 3 nights. Anything over this and they are just not suitable. Many Thanks Lisa Brown-General Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit both with an ensuite. We had a full kitchen so were able to prepare meals (there is a full size fridge and dishwasher). We did not try the breakfasts. They do not have a restaurant open for lunch or dinner. Tea,coffee,sugar,milk are supplied but have to be replenished yourself. However there is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Thanks Wilma, I note you mentioned dishwashers. The unit you stayed in is the only apartment with a dishwasher in the entire building! Glad you enjoyed. Port Douglas is great for all you mentioned and Portsea location make it accessable to all by foot. Thankyou again, Kind regards, Lisa Brown-General Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Mantra Portsea, despite some of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor, and found it to be really good. The position is good as there is a walkway to the beach beside the Mantra (about a 5 minute walk to the beach) and it is only 10 minute walk to Macrossan Street. We had a 1 bedroom lagoon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Reviews are perception of the guests and can vary, so I am glad you pointed this out in your review. Our kitchenette offer the basic for any stay and as you mentioned many of our guests like to eat out. Port Douglas offers so much variety in dining. I am disapointed to hear the staff... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Mantra Portsea using a voucher from a presentation to purchase time share. If we were undecided about buying into the timeshare before our trip to the Portsea, then our stay there convinced us to definately not buy!! The room we were initially put in had a toilet cistern that ran constantly & traffic noise that went all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review- this is interesting way you have booked and something I had not know earlier-especially the timeshare at Portsea. I would be interested in the website you had booked through. Our beds are either kings or queens in all rooms and this is a hotel standard throughout the world. I am happy to see the staff... More

Inverleigh, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed at Portsea for a week with my husband and 8 month old. The hotel is in a good location, very short stroll to Four Mile Beach and a lovely 10 min walk into the main part of town. There is also a handy bottle shop across the road aswell as a Chinese Restaurant who do take-away, which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review about your experience at Mantra Portsea. Your stay was during a very busy time at the resort and you can expect the breakfast to be busy as with all resorts. We do try to accommodate with longer opening times to ensure all guests have the same experience. I will... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Mantra Portsea for 4 nights 29/10-2/11 and found this place lacking. Although very suitable for families,young kids and grandparents, singles or stressed out workers will be dissapointed when happy hour co-incides with tired and hungry hour. I actually got a mild case of diarohhea which i put down to lots of peeing in the pool and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to a write a review- I am sorry you felt the way you have explained in the review. Mantra Portsea is a family resort and children are part of this. Our 3 pool areas do offer variety from children who are attracted to the main pool with slides and waterfalls. Our pools are correctly... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay