We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra PortSea

76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra PortSea
Add Photo Write a Review

601 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    205
    217
    102
    49
    28
See reviews for
163
256
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (601)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (201)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (172)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed at the resort whilst in Port Douglas for a wedding. The resort was in a good location (easy access to the beach and it is possible to walk into town), the staff were helpful and the rooms were clean. Our room was comfortable but did not have a balcony. We were only there for two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Mantra PortSea for our wedding anniversary for 3 nights. The location of the resort is perfect, can walk to the beach and to the main street of Port Douglas, whilst still being quiet. We stayed in a one bedroom studio and were happy with the facilities of the resort. The studio was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My Wife and I had a very enjoyable 10 night stay. Our room was ground floor with walk out to the pool (excellent) The lounge ,kitchenette was a nice size with all we needed. The bathroom was a good size but looking a little tired and could do with a facelift. The rooms could have been a bit cleaner, compared... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office/ Reception at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello marklovegrove, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are glad to hear that you had a memorable time and were able to recharge! If the opportunity arises to visit Port Douglas again please do not hesitate to contact us as we would love to be a part of another memorable stay!... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort is positioned just right for a relaxing holiday.Close enough to walk to the main street and beach but still in a nice quiet place.Staff very helpful and friendly. Couldn't have asked for more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office/ Reception at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello Washbourne_bl Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad that you were able to have a relaxing holiday and hope that some day you will come back to visit us! If you ever decide to return please contact us directly so we are able to help plan another memorable stay. Kind Regards,... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Portsea Mantra during a quiet time in June. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable despite a few issues outlined below. The pool areas and BBQ facilities are well laid out and enjoyable to use. We thought the continental breakfast (included) could do with a little improvement. The bread and croissant were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office/ Reception at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello Irena, Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra PortSea. It is a lovely time to visit in June as it is just the right temperature and right before everyone visits! We have great facilities on offer and they are definitely well loved by all guests and are... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Reception is impressive but what a disappointment when we went to our room. It was so bad that we paid for an upgrade to a studio which in comparison to other resorts in the area was poor. The breakfast was terrible with minimum options. The pool was large and great for kids but as a couple on holidays I wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello Pauladave, Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your room. Our Hotel Rooms are very basic, great for overnight/short stays. However for stays longer than 3 nights we recommend our One bedroom Studios as they offer a kitchenette, lounge and balcony. We hope to be able to welcome you back... More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Mantra Portsea for 5 nights. We had a one bedroom apartment which had a spacious balcony overlooking the waterfall, spa and pool. It had a kitchenette, lounge area, wardrobe and ensuite with a spa bath. The only downside was that if you had two cases, you would have to have one on the ground in the lounge,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello Pam, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed all the facilities our Mantra Portsea has to offer. Thank you once again. Kind regards, Katja Front Office Manager. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

really enjoyed our stay. Awesome pool appropriate for toddlers and warm jacuzzi spa. Clean modern rooms with kitchenette. Reception happy to help with any request. Good continental breakfast. Short walk to lovely flat beach again great for kids. Loved Port Douglas. Many good restaurants to choose from. Especially loved food and service at Little Larder and Salsa. Also loved our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello Cezario, Thank you very much for your review about your stay with us and Port Douglas. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Katja Front Office Manager More 

Brisbane
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a great stay at the Mantra PortSea. It was beautiful, clean, great service, great location. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Would stay with Mantra anywhere a great experience. Port Douglas is just beautiful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello Michael, Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Katja Front Office Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 5nights.The staff were always eager to please and made us feel very welcome.Our room was a lagoon studio complete with a small kitchen and was very clean and comfortable.The Mantra Portsea was also a comfortable walk into town for meals at night.Great setting and recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello Steve, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Katja Front Office Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

236 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (218)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (68)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay