We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mantra PortSea

76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mantra PortSea
Share an Experience

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    202
    94
    47
    27
See reviews for
147
238
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (562)
  • Mar-May only
    (104)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (185)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (172)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights and the only regret I have is that I didn't stay longer. The Portsea is an outstanding place to spend your holiday. The pool areas, yes pool AREAS. there are 2 lap pools and one massive pool that is more like a lagoon which has a water slide for kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our lagoon pool and swim up pool bar are very popular during hot, sunny days. You are completely right with Mossman George it is a must go to place, while visiting Port Douglas. Thank... More 

Garden of England
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel - comfortable room with more than adequate facilities to self cater if you wished. Distance from the town was walkable but we did find a car very useful. Loved the choice of pools, and the staff were all very helpful. Breakfast not fantastic in choice or comfort but it did not really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office/Reception at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello KentNanna, Its lovely to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! Thank you for the lovely comments on both the resort and our staff. You are right we are lucky to be just a stones throw from the very beautiful Four Mile Beach. Thank you once again for taking the time to review our PortSea. We... More 

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here when cyclone Nathan was off the coast. It's a lovely hotel with an interesting layout giving the rooms a feeling of privacy ( though it takes a while to work out the layout!) Many of my booked tours were doubtful and trip to reef was cancelled, but the staff were really helpful in trying to find other options.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office/Reception at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello Ruth, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our Resort.. I am pleased to hear that you still managed to enjoy your stay with us even with Cyclone Nathan hanging around and bringing us some bad weather (he was a real pest!). Unfortunately with the heavy rain we experienced our Pool Bar was... More 

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Difficult to criticise any aspect of this excellent hotel/motel. We had a large studio with a very powerful air con and two large ceiling fans, essential because the humidity is very high. The studio was very well equipped with everything we needed for our 5 night stay, comfy large double bed, loads of storage space, a safe and 24 hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office/Reception at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello RandA369, Thank you so much for your great review of our resort! Its always great to hear such positive feedback! The studio apartments are perfect for a home from home stay with all the essentials that you need, and a great air con is a must this time of year with it being a pretty hot and humid time... More 

Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff at Mantra Portsea are all the best. So very helpful and friendly. I feel this is necessary though due to lack of other things that other motels offer as part of your stay. Wifi is a generally a given these days but mantra offer only on a paid basis. wifi isn't a deal breaker but some may beg to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello Kristy, Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, I will pass on your praise to all staff members. As with many other similar style resorts our rooms at Mantra Portsea are self-contained, therefore not serviced daily. This can be clearly noted on our website. We have found that guests enjoy there holiday and relaxing within there rooms... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in January. We really did enjoy our stay at the Portsea. The rooms did smell mouldy - especially when we opened the cupboards - but I think that was because of the intense humidity of Portdouglas, but it would have been nice to have some air freshener so the room didn't smell so bad upon arrival. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Jess, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. Its lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is a very quiet and peaceful time of year to be here and take in the beauty of Port Douglas/Reef/Rain forest minus the crowds. Pleased you enjoyed and made the most... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although we arrived late, the staff member on duty was friendly and helpful, providing a map of Port Douglas and directions. The apartment was clean, spacious and well equipped, as was the whole complex. There are 4 swimming pools, a swim up bar and easy access to 4 mile beach, which is a short walk down a pretty path from... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello Jane, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear that you will recommend our Mantra Portsea. Thank you very much for your nice comments about our staff, we are very proud of them and will pass your lovely comments onto the entire team. We would love to welcome you... More 

Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

!. Good access to Pool. 2. Large ,spacious Studio. Ample fittings for snacks. 3.Helpful Staff. 4. Breakfast breads were poor quality. Why in a town rated for its excellent standard of catering? 5. The charge for Wi-Fi access is excessive, even unnecessary in a Town where 'free Wi-Fi' is readily available in the majority of establishments. 6. We had deliberately... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello Sue and Peter, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We did have great weather during the last few weeks, which was perfect to relax by the pool or on the beach. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our Mantra... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We traveled in quiet season which meant that there weren't too many people in the resort. This was good because we had the pool to ourselves a lot. A downside was that the pool bar wasn't always open.. But it was open over the weekend. Continental breakfast was simple with a selection of cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt and muesli. Accommodation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MantraPortseaTeam, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your recent feedback. Port Douglas is a magical place during low season with only a handful of people around. Therefore there is no cues, no crowds,... just lovely quiet and peaceful. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you once again for your feedback! Kind regards, Katja Front... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

The location we thought was great as we weren't right in town however a 10 minute walk of 1 minute drive brings you to the town center. A beautiful pool with swim up bar and our rooms were spacious and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa B, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our swim up Pool Bar is really quite popular during these hot months. We hope to welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Katja Front Office Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

202 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question