We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Global Backpackers Central

9b Shields Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Global Backpackers Central
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #64 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Ellie T
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    23
    15
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
17
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Nogent-sur-Marne, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

DO NOT STAY HERE! This is the worst hostel I've been in Australia because of a few problems: - There is no lockers on the doors in the showers, so anyone can enter when you're showering! - they close the balcony at 9pm so if you're enjoying a drink or something with your friends you have to come back inside!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on our hostel. In regards to the issues you have raised we will certainly look into the issues in the showers, we have not had the issue raised before so this will be dealt with immediately. The balcony is closed at 9pm due to issues we have had with... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed not so long ago. Ideal location and clean kitchen and bathroom. The room was a little on the small side and had no windows which was disappointing and slightly claustrophobic but was clean and comfortable and manageable for the 6 nights we stayed. The main problem is to do with the cutlery, as each time you wanted to cook... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Travel agency booked me here because it was close to restaurants and the marina. And it's a well known spot so getting picked up and dropped off for tours isn't a problem. And that is true, it's 10 minutes to the Marina to head out for reef tours, which is nice. But that's about it. The hostel smells like BO... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Stayed in a private room, with only one pillow... Room smelled horribly damp, aircon was hilariously pathetic, and the mattress was soaked. Girl at reception was trying her hardest but seemed to have a real lack of training in the running of the place. Ridiculously cheap, but ridiculously bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

NY
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

this place is cool, great facilities, great pool, aiconditioned room, clean, close to everything you want, the bars, cafes, restaurants, couple minutes to the lagoon on the esplanade, hooked up with some great bars, meal and drink coupon for PJ O'Briens, the Irish pubs, we went in Melbourne, and Sydney too, great spots, and Cairns, is a bit different, much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I check in to central at 13/01, and I found out my sleeping bag was missing at 20/01 when I go back at evening, I am the last person go out that day and none of my roommates have seen my sleeping bag. I go to ask for help at reception, but the staff just being unhelpful and do nothing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, Thanks for providing feedback. We have been in contact with you regarding your sleeping bag and I understand that this has been posted out to you and is back in your possession. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We do not allow sleeping bags in the hostels as they can carry insects that we don't... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Firstly we check in on time we are booked for a double room. We get the key walk into a room with three single beds.. So back down stairs.. Simple mistake. We are handed another key for a double room but someone is in this room..back down stairs again.. No apology just a "it's a really busy time of year... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015 via mobile

This hostel has it's pros and cons and for $18 a night I didn't expect much.. Reception staff were lovely and really helpful, $7 meal deal thing is good. Pricey wifi but that's in most places in Aus. The rooms are okay. Not very big but we had aircon and trust me, you NEED this!!! There is NO air con... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairns Region, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Spent New Years Eve here with friends, staff very friendly and make you feel so welcome, hostel was spotless clean and you cant beat the location, had lunch on New Years Day and food nearby, very good standard and good value for money, accommodation at very reasonable prices. Loved it! Your in capable and safe hands.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Perfectly located in the heart of Cairns, Global Backpackers Central is within 2 minute walking distance of everything you'd want/ need in Cairns. It also offers very friendly and accommodating staff, clean room and facilities, and a secure feeling. What impressed me most was that although the hostel is in an ideal location for going out at night, the hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities