We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Global Backpackers Central

9b Shields Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Central
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    23
    26
    15
    26
See reviews for
1
20
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our double room was in hostel ground floor, located at the corner of the main aisle and the way to other share rooms, you can easily hear the music from hotel's speaks(which play the music quite loud till late, after 10pm...), and the noise from other guests(Unfortunately , there were bunch of drunk French next door, spoke loudly before and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Global Central and especially that the room you were in was too noisy. Generally if there is an issue with the location of the room and we have availability we can try and move you to a room on the second floor where... More 

Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the worst in all of Australia! I stayed here with my mum and brother last year whilst on a trip around Australia. We felt so uncomfortable from the moment we arrived, the people at the front desk were unhelpful and rude, there were loads of ridiculous rules e.g. The kitchen closing at night time so you barely had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Mille, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time spent with us at Global and especially that you did not feel welcomed by our staff. Since your stay the majority of our staff have changed and work extremely hard to make our guests feel comfortable. The rules regarding the kitchen closing times are standard in a lot... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you can stay ANYWHERE else...do it. My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights in a double room which was a good deal price wise. The location was excellent, staff were mostly helpfull and the rooms clean...the good points stop there. Every single night was a huge party with loud drunken travellers running about the main hall, banging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Kim, Thank you for providing feedback to the hostel regarding your stay. In reference to the noise during the night, I am shocked that it was so loud when the night manager was on shift and that they expressly added to the noise during the night. This manager is no longer a member of staff in our hostel but... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Spent 5 nights here and it's great for the price. It's very clean and rooms are nice. The kitchen facilities were good, the only think I disliked was you had to go to reception with your passport every time you wanted a crockery set! Was such a pain!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Hostel is standard, but you get a decent bed, showers and kitchen for the price. Location is perfect, close to the marina, restaurants, bars and clubs so you never have to travel far. Also close to the Bus station and they have a shuttle to the airport which is really reliable. Sure, it gets pretty noisy and seems to attract... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

The hostel it's self is nice, the kitchen and communal areas were good. The room was spacious with good air-con. The staff didn't really know how to run the place. Most of them looked extremely unhappy to be there. There was always a big queue at reception. Our booking had been made for 2016 instead or 2015. Luckily there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nogent-sur-Marne, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

DO NOT STAY HERE! This is the worst hostel I've been in Australia because of a few problems: - There is no lockers on the doors in the showers, so anyone can enter when you're showering! - they close the balcony at 9pm so if you're enjoying a drink or something with your friends you have to come back inside!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on our hostel. In regards to the issues you have raised we will certainly look into the issues in the showers, we have not had the issue raised before so this will be dealt with immediately. The balcony is closed at 9pm due to issues we have had with... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Stayed not so long ago. Ideal location and clean kitchen and bathroom. The room was a little on the small side and had no windows which was disappointing and slightly claustrophobic but was clean and comfortable and manageable for the 6 nights we stayed. The main problem is to do with the cutlery, as each time you wanted to cook... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Travel agency booked me here because it was close to restaurants and the marina. And it's a well known spot so getting picked up and dropped off for tours isn't a problem. And that is true, it's 10 minutes to the Marina to head out for reef tours, which is nice. But that's about it. The hostel smells like BO... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Stayed in a private room, with only one pillow... Room smelled horribly damp, aircon was hilariously pathetic, and the mattress was soaked. Girl at reception was trying her hardest but seemed to have a real lack of training in the running of the place. Ridiculously cheap, but ridiculously bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#39 of 84 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#16 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#61 of 84 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay