We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Global Backpackers Central

9b Shields Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Central
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The waterfront had no availability so we swapped to the central, glad we tried it as it was also great. This is a rather new hostel however even though the cleaners do a great job there is a constant smell of urine and Goon in the whole place! we wasn't so bad in room 11 but next door stank... guess... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Quite a cheap hostel and it's good enough. Arrived at 2am, had to call night manager (few times, prolly sleeping), he let me in, no probs. They do try to keep bathrooms/toilets clean, but since it's a BIG hostel, it can happen that they are not, but no biggie. Rooms are clean, staff is OK. The hostel is nothing special,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Veringtentje
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

I stayed here for 2 weeks the first time at the end of my East Coast trip and was pleasantly surprised with this hostel compared to many others up the East Coast. The hostel was clean, with all white sheets provided, clean rooms and bathrooms. There is also loads of space in the rooms for your bags - you're not... More 

Helpful?
Thank sckirkham
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your great feedback on our hostel. We really want our guests to enjoy themselves and take advantage of the specials and amenities that we have on site. It make us really happy that you made friends that you could travel with and enjoy your time in Cairns. Hope the rest of your trip is amazing. Again,... More 

Schweiz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights. It was much better than I read in the comments. The rooms are clean and well conditionned, the toilets were being cleaned every day, as well the pretty big kitchen. The staff is friendly and with only one exception they knew what they are doing. The best thing is, how central it is in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raphael148
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Raphael, Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff have been working really hard to make sure the rooms are clean, tidy and nicely cooled down for our guests. We are always looking at areas to improve and train ourselves further so your feedback is appreciated. We really enjoy the fact that we... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

Constantly made us move rooms. Rude unhelpful reception staff. Kitchen closed at stupid times of the day and bathrooms often unclean. Have to hire plates cutlery etc from reception every time want to cook something, so stupid! Nicer places to stay in cairns for the same or less money.

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Scott, Thanks for giving us some feedback on your stay in our hostel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us and did not find our staff friendly and helpful as we work hard to make our guests welcome. Unfortunately guests may sometimes need to move rooms if their current type of accommodation is booked... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile

Two friends & I stayed at Global for 2 nights in October. Rooms weren't the cleanest but ok. Good balcony to socialise. Excellent location, within walking distance of everything. Staff helpful. Overall vibe was perfect for us & would stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Mike T
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Mike, We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff try hard to make Global a comfortable and social place to stay by holding events during the week that help the guests get to know each other. We are always looking at ways to improve so we would like to thank you for you feedback.... More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

The staff were rude and unhelpful. We arrived very early and were extremely tired and no effort was made to see if our room was ready. We were able to store our stuff. The room was clean but very basic literally a bed. The bathrooms were fine. It was extremely noisy all night.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Sarah We are sorry if you did not feel that our staff were helpful upon your arrival. Our check out time is 10am standard and the rooms are not cleaned until this time. Our booking system allows us to see if the rooms are available for immediate check in or need to be remade and cleaned. If they have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

I`m glad we only had book one night here. The hostel has speakers in the corriders that play loud dance music. Very unpleasant when you get off a flight and want an early night. They do turn it off at 10, however, it is a party hostel and music is replaced by loud drunk people that keep you a wake.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heidi O
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Heidi, We are sorry that the music was too loud for your comfort during your stay, it is played in the hostel between 9am and 10pm, however, we are able to turn the music down in the corridors if that is requested earlier. We are generally a party hostel, the majoirty of our guests although taking advantage of the... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

Only stay here if you want to party and nothing else. The staff on reception were rude when we booked. The place is so so loud, all the noise echoes throughout the whole building and there are just huge groups of lads getting smashed which made me and my girlfriend feel quite uncomfortable. The room had no window, just a... More 

Helpful?
Thank MisterMags
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

I stayed in Global Central for 5 nights, it was booked by Happy Travels. First of all, the staff is very unfriendly and not qualified. Nobody told us anything about the hostel, we had to find everything by ourselves. Then the room. We shared a 3 bed door with my friends. The room had now window, and no air-conditioning, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula K
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Paula, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our staff are trained to provide guests with any information they may need on their initial arrival and it is also included in a hand out booklet given to all guests who may be checking in. Our reception are happy to answer any further... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#49 of 67 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#32 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#62 of 85 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#12 of 85 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay