We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Global Backpackers Central

9b Shields Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Global Backpackers Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #63 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sinéad G
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    23
    25
    15
    23
See reviews for
Families
0
18
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you can stay ANYWHERE else...do it. My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights in a double room which was a good deal price wise. The location was excellent, staff were mostly helpfull and the rooms clean...the good points stop there. Every single night was a huge party with loud drunken travellers running about the main hall, banging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 5 nights here and it's great for the price. It's very clean and rooms are nice. The kitchen facilities were good, the only think I disliked was you had to go to reception with your passport every time you wanted a crockery set! Was such a pain!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hostel is standard, but you get a decent bed, showers and kitchen for the price. Location is perfect, close to the marina, restaurants, bars and clubs so you never have to travel far. Also close to the Bus station and they have a shuttle to the airport which is really reliable. Sure, it gets pretty noisy and seems to attract... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

The hostel it's self is nice, the kitchen and communal areas were good. The room was spacious with good air-con. The staff didn't really know how to run the place. Most of them looked extremely unhappy to be there. There was always a big queue at reception. Our booking had been made for 2016 instead or 2015. Luckily there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nogent-sur-Marne, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

DO NOT STAY HERE! This is the worst hostel I've been in Australia because of a few problems: - There is no lockers on the doors in the showers, so anyone can enter when you're showering! - they close the balcony at 9pm so if you're enjoying a drink or something with your friends you have to come back inside!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on our hostel. In regards to the issues you have raised we will certainly look into the issues in the showers, we have not had the issue raised before so this will be dealt with immediately. The balcony is closed at 9pm due to issues we have had with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Stayed not so long ago. Ideal location and clean kitchen and bathroom. The room was a little on the small side and had no windows which was disappointing and slightly claustrophobic but was clean and comfortable and manageable for the 6 nights we stayed. The main problem is to do with the cutlery, as each time you wanted to cook... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Travel agency booked me here because it was close to restaurants and the marina. And it's a well known spot so getting picked up and dropped off for tours isn't a problem. And that is true, it's 10 minutes to the Marina to head out for reef tours, which is nice. But that's about it. The hostel smells like BO... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Stayed in a private room, with only one pillow... Room smelled horribly damp, aircon was hilariously pathetic, and the mattress was soaked. Girl at reception was trying her hardest but seemed to have a real lack of training in the running of the place. Ridiculously cheap, but ridiculously bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NY
Level Contributor
129 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

this place is cool, great facilities, great pool, aiconditioned room, clean, close to everything you want, the bars, cafes, restaurants, couple minutes to the lagoon on the esplanade, hooked up with some great bars, meal and drink coupon for PJ O'Briens, the Irish pubs, we went in Melbourne, and Sydney too, great spots, and Cairns, is a bit different, much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I check in to central at 13/01, and I found out my sleeping bag was missing at 20/01 when I go back at evening, I am the last person go out that day and none of my roommates have seen my sleeping bag. I go to ask for help at reception, but the staff just being unhelpful and do nothing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, Thanks for providing feedback. We have been in contact with you regarding your sleeping bag and I understand that this has been posted out to you and is back in your possession. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We do not allow sleeping bags in the hostels as they can carry insects that we don't... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#27 of 83 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#25 of 83 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top