We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Northern Greenhouse

Certificate of Excellence
117 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shooting Star Apartments)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Northern Greenhouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Northern Greenhouse
Review This Hotel

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    60
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
25
89
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (221)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Maineville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My name is Nick Westermeyer. I am a quadriplegic from a gymnastics injury sustained at Michigan State University in April 1991 who is interested in global travel and participating in activities not normally associated with disabled people. I’m currently on an adventure that will explore worldwide handicapped accessibility. Many people have travel blogs, but there are none that I know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hostel and best equipped rooms I have seen in Oz. Lockers with sockets and storage space below the bed. Beds are comfy too. Outdoor seating area is a great place to meet people. Dustin at the reception and Jazmine from Friendly travel are great in providing recommendations. Ask them you won't regret it! My only point for improvement would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlingford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here in January 2013 but only getting round to writing a review now. I stayed in a six bed girls dorm which was very clean. The lockers with sockets inside them were great. I found the staff friendly and the hostel is in a great location. It's close to all the nightlife etc but far enough away to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We stayed in a double room for one night, after we left for 2 days for a trip and after we came back for other 3 nights there. During the 2 days away we could leave the luggages there for free. The room was big and full equipped (also with the kitchen!!). They also change the towels everyday without asking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan L, Guest Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review

Hi Francois, I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks for the review. Happy travels. More 

Biel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

The staff wasn't really warm... The hostel as a big sharing area, but is really quiet. At the evening (around 10pm), you can't drink alcohol anymore. Otherwise the rooms are big and have their own bathroom. A must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan L, Guest Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review

Hi Joris, Glad you enjoyed our rooms. Sorry to hear there were a few issues, I have left you a private message and feel free to contact us if you would like to give us some more detail. Thank you for the feedback. More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Stayed here on two occasions for a week each time. The rooms are excellent, very clean and spacious. There's Air-con and a fan, as well as lockers with 4 plugs inside them! . The Cleaners come every day and do a good job. There's a large common area with sofa, benches and a pool table. The kitchen is good, can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan L, Guest Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review

Hi Codie, Awesome feedback. It was great to hear you enjoyed the activities and common areas. We hope to welcome you back soon. Happy travels. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

This hostel is awesome, perfect location, plug sockets galore, fridge/freezer in room, huge en suite bathroom, free wifi - didn't work great in the room but was fine in lounge/kitchen area. There are free trips everyday that you can go on. The only issue we had was when we needed to extend our stay and move rooms at the same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Be VERY careful when paying for this hostel! I was told the card machine was not working so paid in cash. It then turned out the card payment had gone through but when I raised it with the hostel the woman on the desk was incredibly rude to me and so was the manager! I have still not got my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Greenhouse, responded to this review

Hi Calliijess, Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback on you experiences with us. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. I have already spoken with the team in Cairns and have left you a private message to get more details about the incident. Thanks again and happy travels. More 

Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We were a group of 6 who shared a room for a week, and every room has its own toilet. Both room and toilet were very clean and spacious. There were many power sockets available too, and there were individual power sockets in each locker, so you don't have to worry about sharing power sockets to charge your electronic devices.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

I loved this hostel so much! The staff were amazing, always willing to help you. The free breakfast and Wifi were really good. The beds were great. The people were amazing. Brilliant location. The lockers had built in chargers, win. Would definitely stay again. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question