We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cairns Sunland Leisure Park

49-61 Little Pease Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Hotel amenities
Cairns Sunland Leisure Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #63 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Graham W Thursday Island, Australia
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    14
    8
    22
See reviews for
30
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A 3 night stay on a 2 week road trip from Cairns to Brisbane and thank goodness it was a short stay. The room had a bad stench, was pretty putrid (the shower curtain was disgusting) the bed was the worst I've encountered, a very thin and springy mattress! Location was quite a distance out of town and the park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thursday Island, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed there a few times over the past couple of years, never had any real complaints about the place. Accommodation has always been fine, but always lock up site and vehicle, neighbours can be lite fingered on occasions, but that can and will happen anywhere. Kids have always enjoyed themselves, so no complaints there. Occasionally cleaners can be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights and spent 304 for a villa. We had to share the bathroom BUT it was very clean which is the main thing. I would recommend it not only for the price but also it's close from the CBD, the airport and the Captain Cook highway. The people running the place are helpful and friendly. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

My first impression was that we booked as a 4star place only to arrive and be given a map of park with the four stars whited out. We booked for 5 nights but only stayed for one. The inside of the units were clean and tidy and well equipt but thats where it ended. The park was dirty, even the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review

We're are sorry that you had to cut your stay short. It should be noted, though, that you did receive a full refund. This was the case, even though you plainly stated that there was no problems except that the pool was overcrowded, and as this was the middle of the summer school holidays, there wasn't a lot we could... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We stayed here for two nights having blown our budget on daytime activities. It was exactly as described in their website. It was clean, tidy, friendly and they provided more than I'd expected. Towels, linen, soap, full kitchen facilities and a cabin of our own. What more do you want when you're staying in town a couple of nights? We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

OK, so it was not expensive, but have stayed in better places for same or less. We booked 5 nights, only stayed 1 and left. Our 2 bedroom cabin was cramped, very basic cooking etc. almost impossibly small bathroom, with a sliding door that didn't work. Car parking was directly outside the door so sitting outside on the 2 grotty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This is the perfect place if you are looking for a not expensive clean place to stay. We had a two bedroom cabin which had all the amenities you could need including an iron and hair dryer. We eat out when we are away but you could cook a simple meal if you wanted to. A full size fridge is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buderim, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

You can tell you're in for a rough time the moment you drive towards the Carapark and see the apartment buildings next door and the park itself fortified like Fort Knox. So we get our camp site and find it between the pool and playground ... with plenty of room elsewhere, why place us here? So head back to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Love the price $83 for three adults, in a 2 bedroom little cabin with all amenities needed for an overnight stay! A neat swimming pool featuring a pirate ship with Australian animals - great for the kids! Alot of cabins at this property, we found on the internet while driving to cairns.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Arrived to be told we couldn't have the accommodation we had booked, despite ringing earlier in the week and being told it was fine. Gentlemen told us to come back in a couple of hours because the new accommodation still had to be cleaned ( not happy after a long drive, but sucked it up). Arrived back a few hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunland49, Manager at Cairns Sunland Leisure Park, responded to this review

We are sorry the guest didn’t enjoy her stay and felt she needed to leave after 2 hours. Re: Not getting the accommodation booked. This was because the guest booked for 4 people to stay in a villa that ONLY accommodates 4 people. When she arrived, the guest had 5 people. As this was the weekend of the school holidays... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question