We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Cairns accommodations

Bohemia Central

100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Bohemia Central
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bohemia Central to your Saves list
Ranked #50 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014
aoester Butler, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
3
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Butler, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hostel is in a very good location, a block from Cairns Central and only a couple blocks from the esplanada and lagoon. There are plenty of options in terms of room size/type and they have family rooms as well. The girls only dorm is really great, it has an extra locked door for safety (not that it's an unsafe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here because it was so cheap so wasn't expecting much but it definitely wasn't as bad as I had imagined. The rooms smelt pretty stuffy at times and the mattresses really hurt your back after a while but otherwise they were decent. Bathrooms were probably the worst part of the hostel ad the showers were useless and smelt. Kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hostel is old and need some paint, etc...anyway is in the city centre close to everything. No noisy at all, quite clean. There is a good breakfast, milk , bread, vegemite, margarine, jam, coffee, tea.. I stayed in a 6 dormbed for 3 nights, no mosquitos in fact there are flyscreens in every windows. The mattresses are comfortable. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here after being denied at the Jack because I am Australian, but it turned out brilliant. The lovely gal at reception was really friendly and happy. The wifi is brilliant, the free breakfast great, the rooms quiet, guests are friendly and none of the drunkenmess I seen at most other places. It is a old place, so some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bohemia_Central, Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review

Oh Scott!! I remember you :) Very much thanx for writing down like this:-D You are very nice man. We will always do our best. Have a good one. :))))))) More

Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was a great time. Every Thursday, They have a BBQ party in BAR. Furthermore, The price of beer is cheap. I remember that 2 for $5 during BBQ party. Sometimes just little bit noisy, but That's all right. Building is old but clean. Some fan of backpackers are so dirty. but This hostel is neat. All of staff are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bohemia_Central, Front Office Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review

Hi there~ Thank you very much. We had great time at bbq party. i wish we meet again. Enjoy your travel. Cheers ^^ More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice place. The rooms were a tad cold however, and it was noisy at times. I was very grateful though. The owners were quite friendly and kind enough to let me stay when I was in a financial bind. They understood my situation and let me pay upon my leave when I had the cash. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

If you think an authentic backpacker experience is to stay in a dodgy old hostel with questionable hygiene, BCC is the place for you! Redeeming features are free wifi, central location and friendly staff, but the rooms are unimpressive and noisy. Everything is worn out and nasty looking once you get past reception. With some renovations, a paint job and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hostel has been taken over recently and new owners are really turning what used to be a great hostel into a complete dump. Room was filthy on check in and despite requesting it to be cleaned we never seen a cleaner the whole time we were there. Customer service was even worse. It's a major shame cause this used to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

we stayed here for 2 wks perfect location,lovely bar,everything is a hand away,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I spent one week in 2008 in this hostel and I really felt like at home.The location is really really great!!! The room was really clean and staff helpfully and nice!!! Absolutely recommend this place...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bohemia Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Central

Address: 100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bohemia Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay