We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Cairns accommodations

Bohemia Central

100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bohemia Central to your Saves list
Bohemia Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
60%
Ranked #47 of 84 Specialty lodging in Cairns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
aoester Butler, Pennsylvania
  • Reviews (28)
  • Photos (13)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
3
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is in a very good location, a block from Cairns Central and only a couple blocks from the esplanada and lagoon. There are plenty of options in terms of room size/type and they have family rooms as well. The girls only dorm is really great, it has an extra locked door for safety (not that it's an unsafe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here because it was so cheap so wasn't expecting much but it definitely wasn't as bad as I had imagined. The rooms smelt pretty stuffy at times and the mattresses really hurt your back after a while but otherwise they were decent. Bathrooms were probably the worst part of the hostel ad the showers were useless and smelt. Kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hostel is old and need some paint, etc...anyway is in the city centre close to everything. No noisy at all, quite clean. There is a good breakfast, milk , bread, vegemite, margarine, jam, coffee, tea.. I stayed in a 6 dormbed for 3 nights, no mosquitos in fact there are flyscreens in every windows. The mattresses are comfortable. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here after being denied at the Jack because I am Australian, but it turned out brilliant. The lovely gal at reception was really friendly and happy. The wifi is brilliant, the free breakfast great, the rooms quiet, guests are friendly and none of the drunkenmess I seen at most other places. It is a old place, so some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bohemia_Central, Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review

Oh Scott!! I remember you :) Very much thanx for writing down like this:-D You are very nice man. We will always do our best. Have a good one. :))))))) More

Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was a great time. Every Thursday, They have a BBQ party in BAR. Furthermore, The price of beer is cheap. I remember that 2 for $5 during BBQ party. Sometimes just little bit noisy, but That's all right. Building is old but clean. Some fan of backpackers are so dirty. but This hostel is neat. All of staff are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bohemia_Central, Front Office Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review

Hi there~ Thank you very much. We had great time at bbq party. i wish we meet again. Enjoy your travel. Cheers ^^ More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice place. The rooms were a tad cold however, and it was noisy at times. I was very grateful though. The owners were quite friendly and kind enough to let me stay when I was in a financial bind. They understood my situation and let me pay upon my leave when I had the cash. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

If you think an authentic backpacker experience is to stay in a dodgy old hostel with questionable hygiene, BCC is the place for you! Redeeming features are free wifi, central location and friendly staff, but the rooms are unimpressive and noisy. Everything is worn out and nasty looking once you get past reception. With some renovations, a paint job and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hostel has been taken over recently and new owners are really turning what used to be a great hostel into a complete dump. Room was filthy on check in and despite requesting it to be cleaned we never seen a cleaner the whole time we were there. Customer service was even worse. It's a major shame cause this used to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

we stayed here for 2 wks perfect location,lovely bar,everything is a hand away,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I spent one week in 2008 in this hostel and I really felt like at home.The location is really really great!!! The room was really clean and staff helpfully and nice!!! Absolutely recommend this place...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bohemia Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bohemia Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Central

Address: 100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bohemia Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cairns with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
54

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bohemia Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer