We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Cairns hotels

Reef Palms

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41-47 Digger Street | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Reef Palms to your Saves list
Reef Palms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
88%
Ranked #6 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
tracy h rotherham
  • Overview
  • Reviews (271)
  • Photos (99)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (56)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    95
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
75
115
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent 4 nights here after reading positive reviews on trip advisor.Checked reviews again prior to leaving and noticed some negative comments. Totally disagree, basic, very clean spacious accommodation, yes rooms are dark but ample electric lighting.FREE Wi Fi ...... $25 for 24 hours at Novotel !The foliage outside brings ambiance to the property. Excellent shuttle service, and tour organising. Spent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After reading some of the reviews on here I wasn't sure I'd chosen the right place to stay in Cairns, but our 3-night stay was excellent. The hosts, Sharon and David, we're extremely friendly, pleasant and helpful as we're the other reception staff. We had a basic family room, upstairs at the back. It was extremely spacious for the 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

More than suggested : close to the city center , close to the promenade , wide rooms , fully equipped , big kitchen fully equipped too (you could even organize a full meal dinner or lunch) . The last but not the least , all the motel team so harmful and kind !!! Please come to the is place

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After having a terrible night at a hotel further down the road, the Reef Palms rooms were clean, comfortable and the hosts were very friendly and respectful. We will be back to stay. Did I mention how comfortable the beds were!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you stay and look forward to having you come back and stay again. We have new furniture ordered for the studios you stayed in so if you come back again, we can show off the new decor! More

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms decent. Fair price for it. unfortunately the i found a service that was rater impolite and not friendly. Firstly, as I walked in the first thing they said was to give them the credit card to close the booking. Then, my room had a broken iron... Went to ask for replacement and they replied that they were too busy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review

I am not sure why it is impolite to ask you for payment for your room - when guests are staying with us for one night only, we normally collect payment at check in as many guests have early flights and depart the motel before we open reception. You were not denied an iron, you were asked if it could... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has everything you need but......1st off, it is definitely a budget hotel and we knew that going in. But this pictures are very misleading.....the rooms are on the dark side, not nice and fresh and bright like they portray, everything is *very* old and the balcony is so overgrown with vegetation, I wouldn't go out there....too many bugs!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review

Thank you for writing, I am sorry you felt we treated you differently because you didn't book tours with us - booking tours is something we offer to guests to help them however it is not the main focus of our business. We are unable to manage guests bookings for them if they have pre-booked tours or offer terminal transfers... More

Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night. Staff was very friendly and helped us to get around the neighbourhood. We had breakfast included, which was basic, but very nice. The room was huge (more like an appartement)with a balcony, but the free wifi was not good. Bad connection! Nice place to stay !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, David and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we hope to see you again sometime in the future. The internet does become slow when many guests are online at the same time. We've learnt now to re-set it when this happens to unclog the system. More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us spend 2 nights at this hotel and had a terrible experience: 1. Beds were missing wheels and were unbalanced 2. Floor drains spat out bubbles when any taps were on 3. Had $50 stolen from a wallet left in our room 4. Requested a room to fit 4 adults and received a family room with single beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review

It always saddens us when guests have not enjoyed their stay with us. We work hard to try to ensure the comfort of all our guests and our expectation would have been that you would have come to talk to us at reception especially as you believed money was missing from your room. As you posted, the person on reception... More

Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a nice and warm WELCOME back for my 3rd time @ Reef Palms I got. Very thank you to Sharon and David to made my 3rd stay with a friend of mine so special and superb. Thank you for all your help and service and never forgot the last day on the Balcony (lol) We had such a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to have you visit us from Germany, we look forward to your next visit with us. The bottle of Red Wine was lovely thank you very much. I'm going to have a ladder installed for you next time - you and I know why - what fun we had with you this visit. Take care and hope... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have rated the very good but do have a couple of negative points. We arrived at 5am in the morning following the flight from the UK. We had sent a couple of emails via their website to ask for a early check in or whatever was necessary to ensure we could get a bed and a shower. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review

Hello to our visitors from the UK - hope the rest of your trip was great. We do advise guests that check in before 2pm can never be guaranteed, especially at 4.30am in the morning unless the previous night has been purchased so we can put your keys into the Night Safe. At least David was able to find you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Reef Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Address: 41-47 Digger Street | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cairns with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns #5 Family Hotel in Cairns #6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
42

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Reef Palms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer