We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Getaway On Grafton

4.0 of 5 157 - 159 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Getaway On Grafton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Getaway On Grafton
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    61
    24
    1
    2
See reviews for
120
25
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was mislead by the website... Pictures of the apartments and the pool made it seem much more modern than it was. Was a nice enough stay but some things lacking. Bathroom and bedroom were not cleaned properly... Hair in the shower and dust on the side tables and lamp, hair dryer didn't work (and reception shuts at 6pm so no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevlinco, Owner at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't get what you thought you would get. I have taken most photos myself and they are what they are. Contrary to opinions the apartments are cleaned and regardless of being in the tropics we do get quite a bit of dust in the city, however I will speak with the contractors in regards to you... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was very spacious, clean and modern.We found the staff to be extremely helpful and always obliging. We would recommend Getaway on Grafton to anyone. We will definitely be staying there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very happy with our stay here! Our apartment was clean and modern. The kitchen was well appointed and had everything we needed. The location is fantastic, close to shops and the centre of Cairns without being too noisy. It's only about a 5 minute walk to Muddies playground and a 5 minute drive to the esplanade lagoon, both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor and had forgotten to mention at the time of booking that we had one member with some walking difficulties so just a note of caution that the complex does not have a lift The apartment was spacious with a very well equipped kitchen, air conditioning and 10 hours of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Loved the apartment. Got a 2 bedroom, both with ensuites. Great location. Perfect rooms. Clean and tidy. Everything you need in the self contained kitchen. Pool is great. Looking forward to the next 4 days here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, it was very clean & spacious with comfy beds. We would certainly stay again. Kevin was very helpful & a great tour advisor. he showed us a place to visit on the map not far out of town that was a natural beauty & free to enter, beautiful water falls & swimming holes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed at this property for 8 days in September. Its a decent complex about 10 mins walk from the main areas so was much quieter than more centrally located Hotels. As mentioned in other reviews it is right next door to the Backpackers Hostel called Asylum but this didnt cause any issues. The complex has a small pool area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

a bit further away from the core of the CBD than I expected and much more dated than indicated by the pictures. otherwise it was fine, comfortable beds, well stocked kitchen, great heated pool, lots of tv channels. Also I wasn't aware we wouldn't be getting a daily service, so for the money I don't think it was great value.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Two couples Stayed 10 Nights in Ground Floor (because we find it difficult to traverse stairways) - 2BR deluxe townhouse style apartment. Spacious, with ensuites for each BR. Kitchen/Lounge roomy and located adjacent to pool and BBQ area. A little too far for seniors to walk to central city shopping though Taxis very prompt and reasonably priced. Accommodation tariff "reasonable"... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review

Thank you, 737Neville, for your review. Glad to read that you had a very good overall experience in Cairns and at Getaway and that we were able to meet all your travel needs. Always happy to help out with tour selection, tour bookings and other travel information. Regards, Markus More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Getaway on Grafton was a comfortable place to stay. We were upgraded to a Townhouse, which we appreciated for the space. In reviewing an establishment, I always think about whether I would return to it. In this case, no, I wouldn't return. I felt the price tag of $205 a night didn't reflect the quality I expect for that price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review

Thank you, P W, for your honest feedback and we are sorry to hear that not everything was to your liking. In regards to value, I hope you did not compare our small complex of self-contained holiday apartments with rooms in big hotel buildings or holiday apartments in other cities as that would have been comparing apples and oranges. Unfortunately,... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay