We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Getaway On Grafton

4.0 of 5 157 - 159 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% on Townhouses
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Getaway On Grafton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Getaway On Grafton
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    63
    24
    1
    2
See reviews for
125
27
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had read some of the reviews on here and was a little apprehensive about our stay. I am pleased to say we really didn't need to be! We had a free upgrade to a Townhouse and it was modern, clean and spacious. It smelt like new carpets so I am going to take an educated guess that the carpets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canyon Lake, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay at Getaway. Markus and the other staff members were very helpful and accommodating. The apartment was spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable, and the kitchen was equipped with all the essentials. It was a perfect location to walk to the esplanade and shopping centers. We enjoyed relaxing on the balcony. We would gladly stay... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Apollo Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

our self catering apartment was very clean and comfortable quiet the location was close to the main esplanade only five minute walk I would recommend getaway it is also close to the main highway to get out to the table lands and baron falls and binder Boulder

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Couldn't recommend the getaway more highly. Brilliant value for money. The staff are super helpful, friendly and knowledgable. Our apartment was large and spotlessly clean and refreshingly cool. The whole apartment was well stocked with cooking utensils, towels etc for our stay. The beds are super comfy and the bathrooms large. The washing machine and dryer were better then what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sippy Downs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited with another family and had rooms next to each other. The rooms where we'll maintained and excellent in provision of facilities. We had everything we needed and the staff there were very helpful. It is a handy place only a few blocks from the main area of cairns. We would definately stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a large two bedroom (1 x queen bed, and 2 x single beds) apartment which had two bathrooms, three toilets, a lounge, kitchen, and two balconies. The amount of space meant that as a family of four we didn't feel like we were "living on top of each other" - one of the considerations we had when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vienna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We had a very nice appartment, must have been around 50 square meters, all newly furbished, including kitchenette and a balcony. There is a view on the sea / the city on the other side of the sea, however in our room it was partly blocked by a few trees. The staff was also very nice and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Good location quiet environment tidy facility and friendly staff We were offered a very good service. We received a message at airport arrival showing the safe code to get the room key in the evening. And the instruction is very helpful with every detail about staying in the apartment and shopping around which makes us not new to this area... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Was mislead by the website... Pictures of the apartments and the pool made it seem much more modern than it was. Was a nice enough stay but some things lacking. Bathroom and bedroom were not cleaned properly... Hair in the shower and dust on the side tables and lamp, hair dryer didn't work (and reception shuts at 6pm so no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kevlinco, Owner at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't get what you thought you would get. I have taken most photos myself and they are what they are. Contrary to opinions the apartments are cleaned and regardless of being in the tropics we do get quite a bit of dust in the city, however I will speak with the contractors in regards to you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was very spacious, clean and modern.We found the staff to be extremely helpful and always obliging. We would recommend Getaway on Grafton to anyone. We will definitely be staying there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay