We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jack Backpackers

48 Spence Street | Corner Sheridan and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shenannigans)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Jack Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    70
    25
    10
    11
    3
See reviews for
1
17
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Stay at the Jack Hostel! I stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm and it met all the requirements for your typical backpacker; always clean, contained comfy beds and a fridge (haven't seen this in any of Australia's hostels as of yet - huge plus). Having a free meal at night and being able to bring your own alcohol... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had best time of my life in the Jack, free food in the evening free WiFi. The reception staff so cool and friendly and always willing to help. Lots to do at night and prizes to be won. Got stuff going off during the day like sports so get to meet a lot of cool people. Definitely the best hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Okay, good things first: I have never showered in a spacious hot backpackers shower like theirs. They keep the left-behind soaps too for anyone to use, which I found a great alternative to binning it. Unfortunately, the rest of the experience was under average: We checked in late into our twin room and didn't find blankets (during a 9 degs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Stayed at the Jack for a week and I haven't really got a good word to say about it other than the people we stayed with. From the first minute staff were rude and just unwilling to help, we arrived at 9am but couldn't check in until 1 but when it comes to checking out if you aren't out by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
unionjack1926, Manager at The Jack Backpackers, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had such a bad experience staying at our hostel. We pride ourselves on our customer service and always try to keep our guests happy. In saying that, we feel like we need to clear few things up regarding this review. First, we can’t check guests in before the rooms have been cleaned. Given that... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Fantastic hostel, really friendly and help staff. Clean rooms. Awesome bar. FREE GOOD every night which is perfect when you've been at trips all day and they are decent! Clean rooms/communal areas. Can be a bit noisy but you are in cairns! Great for meeting people. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were coming to the end of our trip and wanted to be able to get a double room to ourselves for the week. The jack was a great environment and really affordable. Fantastic that a free meal is also included, we were expecting it to be rubbish food but it was actually really nice! Pork chops... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile

Highly recommend The Jack Backpackers to anyone! My boyfriend and I originally booked two nights here but ended up staying about 2 1/2 weeks. The staff are so friendly and you get a free evening meal which is a choice of two things but is a decent size and tastes great! Not forgetting the free bbq on a Sunday! You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

The room was very cramped and had a weird smell that knocked you a bit sick. Noise didn't bother us, couldn't hear the bar at all. Bathrooms were okay and couldn't comment on the kitchen as didn't use it. Free dinner was a bonus but you get what you pay for (norhing) so don't expect a gourmet meal. Staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

This place was a good deal and we chose it mostly because of the perks, central location, clean, free wifi (500mb per day), free dinner each night, discounts on drinks, some sort of event going on most nights. Unfortunately, there was no vegetarian option (my wife and I are both vegetarian). We aren't picky and annoying like many people think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

This Hostel is personally the best one I went to on my 2 months travels in Oz and NZ. The staff were very polite and welcoming. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable for a backpackers and it is nicely located too for anything you really need! I really recommend this hostel to any backpacker as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#14 of 67 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#34 of 84 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#26 of 84 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#7 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#15 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay