We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jack Backpackers

48 Spence Street | Corner Sheridan and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shenannigans)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jack Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Jack Backpackers
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    68
    24
    10
    10
    3
See reviews for
1
17
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Jack for a week and I haven't really got a good word to say about it other than the people we stayed with. From the first minute staff were rude and just unwilling to help, we arrived at 9am but couldn't check in until 1 but when it comes to checking out if you aren't out by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
unionjack1926, Manager at The Jack Backpackers, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had such a bad experience staying at our hostel. We pride ourselves on our customer service and always try to keep our guests happy. In saying that, we feel like we need to clear few things up regarding this review. First, we can’t check guests in before the rooms have been cleaned. Given that... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic hostel, really friendly and help staff. Clean rooms. Awesome bar. FREE GOOD every night which is perfect when you've been at trips all day and they are decent! Clean rooms/communal areas. Can be a bit noisy but you are in cairns! Great for meeting people. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I were coming to the end of our trip and wanted to be able to get a double room to ourselves for the week. The jack was a great environment and really affordable. Fantastic that a free meal is also included, we were expecting it to be rubbish food but it was actually really nice! Pork chops... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Highly recommend The Jack Backpackers to anyone! My boyfriend and I originally booked two nights here but ended up staying about 2 1/2 weeks. The staff are so friendly and you get a free evening meal which is a choice of two things but is a decent size and tastes great! Not forgetting the free bbq on a Sunday! You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

The room was very cramped and had a weird smell that knocked you a bit sick. Noise didn't bother us, couldn't hear the bar at all. Bathrooms were okay and couldn't comment on the kitchen as didn't use it. Free dinner was a bonus but you get what you pay for (norhing) so don't expect a gourmet meal. Staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

This place was a good deal and we chose it mostly because of the perks, central location, clean, free wifi (500mb per day), free dinner each night, discounts on drinks, some sort of event going on most nights. Unfortunately, there was no vegetarian option (my wife and I are both vegetarian). We aren't picky and annoying like many people think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

This Hostel is personally the best one I went to on my 2 months travels in Oz and NZ. The staff were very polite and welcoming. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable for a backpackers and it is nicely located too for anything you really need! I really recommend this hostel to any backpacker as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

First of all, Staff. Staff was amazing ! Housekeeper ( Harriet <3 ), Night Security ( Luke and Xavier <3 ) Reception ( Myriam and Jason <3 ) BEST STAFF IN TOWN ! Second, Rooms ! Room were always clean AF :) ! Shower, Bathroom, kitchen EVERYTHING !Third, the FREE MEAL ! Every night you get an awesome free meal,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

I loved this place but had some small issues It's clean and has a good atmosphere, the bar/downstairs area is really cool with great drink prices and promos that a backpacker can really afford (this is the only place we actually bought a few drinks in aus as its so expensive to drink there!!) live entertainment which was cool, large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

I stayed here for three and a half months ( mid dec - end of mar) and i enjoyed every single day. The jack has an amazing atmosphere and it is easy to make friends and even a little family :). They have free well working wifi and a daily evening meal FOR FREE !!!! The evening entertainment like beerpong... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay