We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gecko's Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Gecko\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    221
    64
    10
    5
    16
See reviews for
9
57
129
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (316)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is by far the quietest hostel you will ever find around Cairns with friendly and flexible staff, accomodating to your needs. If you're in for a party, don't come here. There's plenty of other hostels available for that. But this is not one of them! Also alcohol is not allowed here, this helps alot as there are no annoying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Me and my fiancé are frequent travellers, having been to so many different places, this is by far the worst we have ever been. We have stayed at Oasis Travellers before geckos. Just 3 mins walk away from geckos and they were worlds apart. We wanted to go back to travellers oasis but unfortunately, they were fully booked. So we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Wxjxjxj. I am totally confident and happy to say that your review is totally negative and NOT TRUE AT ALL. Travellers Oasis is 1 minute walk around the corner not 3 minutes away. We are worlds apart due to the fact that Geckos is a grand spacious Heritage building with 800 square meters under the roof of the main... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for a week and had a comfortable and pleasant stay. Ask the owner about tours/trips to do and with who because his advice was spot on. Not directly near the esplanade but only a 10 minute walk as Cairns is nice and compact.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night it was alright, pretty quite which is was good after a long day. It look ok clean but upper toilets smelled of pee, also they didn't have enough hanger to put your clothes when having a shower. Kitchen was pretty clean, that's a plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Michiny. Thanks a lot for your feed back. Unfortunately sometimes someone may not use the toilet properly. We do have 3 hooks in each shower. Have a nice holiday. Peter & Team. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice hostel, well located and helpful management. If you search for a place to relax a bit, it's a really good decision. A big shopping centre is next to it and you can reach the esplanade within 10mins. The owner is strict with the rules which ensures a comfortable stay at geckos. The hostel gets cleaned daily what means... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi NooWorries. Thanks heaps for your review. Yes your right we are strict with the no alcohol and guests only. This is how we keep the place safe , clean and quiet. All the very best from the caretakers. More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

I stayed in the peaceful place for 7 nights in a roo of 4 people. I've really appreciated the quiet of the hostel, the big kitchen. Very close to public transports (bus or train) and near a big supermarket open everyday until late, very convenient. It just miss some shelves to put our stuff on in the bedroom. The Manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie. It was really nice that you came back to book your tours here. Sometimes other guests may be taking up the table spaces in the room as there is a table next to each bed. Have a great holiday and with best regards from the caretakers and team. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Peter is a great host who keeps everything clean and in order. Everything works and it gives a very good time to get rested before travelling further. He can also give advise on tours in the region which was very helpfull to us. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Onno. All the very best. Safe, happy travelling and many thanks. Caretakers & team. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Very good hostel! The people are very friendly and I felt very welcomed from the beginning. It is very clean and the rooms give you a lot of space for your luggage and to make yourself comfortable, the beds are very comfy as well. It is a relaxing, good located place and everything can be reached within walking distance, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day Tina. Thanks a lot for all the excellent points you have mentioned. Yes its great how we have lots of space for luggage in the rooms. All the very best from the caretakers. More 

Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

I am a world traveler who frequents hostels. Gecko's is a heritage listed Queenslander property. I booked a twin share that has 3 meter / 15 feet ceilings and wood floors. Normally I limit my stay to one week/seven days. Gecko's is an exception. I have been here for over two weeks and for good reason. The kitchen and baths... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Cornelius. It was great to see you extend your stay. Fair Dinkum man, we do make sure all is looked after well and it was a pleasure to accommodate you. Best regards and thank you. Caretakers & Team. More 

Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 via mobile

Great hostel! Room was nice, clean and beds were comfy, good temperature and no bunk beds. Bathrooms were also nice and clean. Hostel is quiet, no party people and close to the shopping center and city. Also good price. Manager is really helpful and care about the customers. Definitely go back here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ferdy. Thank you. It is a pleasure to see you come back again. Have a safe and happy holiday. The caretakers team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#16 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
#15 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay