We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaway's Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Castaway\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was here for 10 days and the owners and staff were really friendly and cared about your well being, inviting everyone in activities, games and cheap meals out. Rooms are spacious and comfortable to stay in. Winnie at reception helped me numerous of times with booking tours and any issues I had. They are generally all there to make... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne M
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

8 nights. Castaway's is family owned and operated. The family (Wayne, Helen & Kieran) and staff (Kenny & Winnie) treated me with dignity and respect. They worked with me to revise my check out date twice, did some leg work toward finding me an available rental car on New Years Day, gave me a towel to use when I didn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew K
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Stayed at Castaways for 5 nights and was the best hostel we had stayed in in our whole time on the east coast. Very friendly staff and new owners are making the place a must go for backpackers. They offer free shuttle rides into the city and Airport drop off's which makes life so much easier. Also if they have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David E
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

The Castaways Crew made my stay amazing! The curtesy van was so helpful and the guys were very accommodating with making it work for us. Kenny helped set up a day trip for us to an amazing nature hike and swimming hole. Wane helped us find a craft store and then brought us there in the curtesy van. The staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Syd_T-K
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

the new owner is really dedicated. He and his team patiently answer every question that I raised and offered advice on the tour. They have collaborated with restaurants in the city center with activities and free pizza that cater for almost everyone. The lovely swimming pool renders the place all the more romantic and agreeable!

Helpful?
1 Thank FionaCheng
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

I was planning to stay here for a couple of nights either side of a 3 day dive trip at the beginning of November but enjoyed it so much that I've only just left a month later. New owners came in just after I arrived and are so friendly and welcoming as are the staff. It's a small, family owned... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lloyd-Gibbo
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

This is by far the best hostel I've stayed in. The hostel is clean and the staff and managers are so friendly. I was originally coming to Castaways for a week, 4 weeks later I'm still here and I feel so sad that I'm leaving the Castaways family this weekend to move onto Port Douglas.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa W
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

The hostel is clean and nice, but a little noisy. The new owner is very friendly. You can call them during the day and ask for a ride, which is real nice. Unfortunately the hostel is a bit far located from the city center (25min walk), but again they offer free rides.

Helpful?
Thank Florine B
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

Hostel has the feel of a prison with cinder block walls, no decoration, old crusty beds and couches. Lacks character, no atmosphere. Has the feel of a very old extremely cheap motel. They no longer offer many things like free shuttle or meals due to change in ownership and have failed to update the info on their website/trip advisor/etc. Wi-Fi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alyse O
CastawaysBP, Owner at Castaway's Backpackers, responded to this review

We regret that our small friendly backpacker hostel did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, when we had our websites updated to show we do not provide free meals every night our website provider did not adjust the mobile websites. We are currently working on rectifying this. We do however still provide free pizza every Wednesday at the Woolshed bar. Our... More 

South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

For me the best hostel you can get in Cairns! Its not in the city center but there is a free shuttle bus from the hostel available. Otherwise you can walk, its not that far (about 20 minutes walk). The castaways crew was like a family. Every monday is the "Salthouse Night" so we went all together to the Bar/... More 

Helpful?
Thank Livonnski E
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.9 mi away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#5 of 85 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.8 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.2 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
#15 of 85 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay