We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 83 Cairns accommodations

Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar

2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   341 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar to your Saves list
Ranked #49 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Matsoe Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    39
    26
    26
See reviews for
8
39
60
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (219)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

There is a good atmosphere in this hostel with a buetaful swimming pool and a good looking dining area. The kitchen and the bathrooms are abit dirty. Most of the personel are backpackers who are working for there accomadation. It's a half an hour walk to the city centre, but there is also a free shuttle bus going from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hostel as a whole would have been fine if there was aircon/fans in the room and the staff weren't such incompetent, rude liars! After requesting to be moved rooms twice, we got fobbed off both times with unsatisfactory excuses and a general sense of indifference by both staff members we spoke to. After complaining once more to a manager,who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BryonySumner, Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Hi Kat, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. As you are aware i was shocked to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. We have recently had a malfunction with a couple of our air-con units which are currently being fixed and upgraded. I apologise that our staff were unhelpful in finding you a suitable... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms had a bad smell to them, our air con didnt work and we had 1 fan between 8 people which didnt cool the room down. When reported to staff all the replied was 'ok' and after asking when the air con will be fixed one room mate got a response of 'today' another got ' some time soon'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Hiya - thanks for the review- I am sorry the aircon was not working in your room we are having an exceptionally hot Summer this year so you must have felt the heat. We get our pool professionally cleaned twice a week as well as maintaining it ourselves so I will definitely check this as the pool is normally gleaming!... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place was perfect for what we wanted during our trip to Australia. Definitely one of the best hostels along the East coast! Staff were so helpful (especially Myles from Mad travel) The place was clean, good showers, excellent wifi in the rooms, kitchen was great and they had buses into the centre regularly which was really convenient! Will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to see you next time! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hostel, big and sociable! There's a free shuttle bus that runs you into the town regularly and the staff are the friendliest I've met so far, would help you out with anything you need. Rooms and hostel were really clean and the swimming pool was great, they offer amazingly cheap meals and cheap beer. Would definitely stay there again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review - come back and see us again soon!! More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very misleading on the website. The few rooms I went into including my own the air con is warm and extremely loud. The free breakfast is 2 slices of everyday value bread. Wifi connection is poor so I wouldn't bother paying for it, just use the computers if you need to. The FREE shuttle bus to the airport is only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for the review I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. We are currently refurbishing the hostel and replacing all the floors and carpets which will improve the rooms - also our shuttle bus runs to a set timetable so should not change each day. I am really sorry to hear that some staff were drinking in the... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night in a private double room. The hostel is good, room was clean, with an en suite, fridge and tv. Kitchen and dining area was also good. The way it is advertised can be misleading though. There is a shuttle bus to and from the airport and although we were under the impression it was free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - we are sorry that you felt misled! We certainly do advertise and offer free pickups from Cairns airport - we don't drop off back there though if that's what you mean (but we don't offer free airport dropoffs) Also as we have an onsite licensed bar we do not permit any alcohol to be brought... More 

Manchester
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived here and were shown to our budget private room no frills but didn't expect any, the air con was blowing out hot air and the humidity in cairns it was no laughing matter so went to reception and the nice chap came to inspect and soon realised we couldn't stay there so upgraded us to a really nice private... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you have fun on the rest of your travels! More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

bit out the way, good that there is a free bus that takes you into the city but if your strapped for time and want to stay out late where all the nightlife is and don't want to pay taxi, you need to be more in the centre, dorms were average the normal you would expect from a backpackers, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - we are sorry that you didn't like the atmosphere it is normally super friendly and is like a home away from home. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here three nights air-con was good ,very grateful for it as don't get it in many hostels made sleeping a lot easier. The pool was great with volley ball nets nearby. The food was lush and the bar was full of anything you could want. Food and drink is all reasonably priced. The management in particular Jason was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - we love that you loved us and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar

Address: 341 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Serpent Cairns Hotel Cairns

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay