We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reef Gateway Apartments

239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reef Gateway Apartments
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Reef Gateway Apartments
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
39
24
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Booked 1 night, very disappointed with quality of accommodation based on cleanliness and price. The kitchen cupboards inside had strong smell of mould. Shower spray went all over bathroom tiles, drain higher so walked in water. Face cloth had hole with dirty marks. No coffee sachets supplied. Double towel rail had one rail missing but fittings left. Two used soaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We've just spent 9 nights here and the overall experience was very good. The apartment was a good size and had all the necessary facilities including a washing machine. A bit of a walk into Cairns but not a problem and taxis are plentiful if you don't fancy the exercise or it's too hot! Bob the manager was very helpful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Such a shame. As part of a 22 night holiday in Australia we decided book a one night stop at Reef Gateway Apartments. I did the research and then saw the add on Booking.com for these apartments. "Renovated apartments" I cannot fault the courtesy of the gentleman who let me know where the key would be left due to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The appartment was nice, clean and spacious, everything was working well and in the kitchen I found really anything I needed. Although the apparment could need a wallpainting and the change of some lamps, I found it very comfortable. The house is a little far from the CityCenter, but the buses are stopping right in front of it, so this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maroochydore, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

My husband and I planned a last minute trip to Cairns to surprise my mom. I needed a unit that had two rooms and was close to our reef tour departure. The price seemed good so I went with Reef Gateway Apartments. Upon arrival, we found ourselves without transportation to our accommodation so we called RGA and spoke with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Great self-contained apartments, very clean and the room had everything we needed to start our holiday. The pool area was fantastic with comfortable seating and even a BBQ with everything that you could need to cook a meal. Bob was very kind to allow us a later checkout time as our flight was changed to a later time. He also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Great self-contained apartments right near the hospital and north end of the esplanade. Perfect for families with kids with full-sized kitchen and pool area. The esplanade and Muddies playground is close by so there was no reason for anyone to be bored. Even though it's not right in the heart of town there are still restaurants close by and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

Well I thought I researched well but I wish I stayed elsewhere. We booked a superior room and was pretty disappointed with the room I got, even more so when I saw my friends room which was fully renovated. Now looking at their website it's obvious to me (too late) that we got a standard room but paid for superior.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Russ E, Owner at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Pixa, As the new owner of the Reef Gateway Apartments (since late October) I would like to assure you that nothing like your experience will ever happen again. The fact that you paid for for a superior unit but got a standard unit was bad enough, but the way you were treated on checking out was very poor. Happy... More 

Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Wanted to find a 2 bedroom apartment at a reasonable rate for a 3 night stay. Rang the Reef Gateway and after speaking to Russ I was sure I had selected the right place. Arrived early and was able to check in as our room was ready. The apartment was great had everything you needed and was clean and spacious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
North Shore City, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

stayed 4 nights, Very uncomfortable plastic chairs in area by television, more comfortable to watch tv laying on tiled floor. We stayed out as much as possible, difficult as both of us unwell, We choose appartments as often more comfort than hotel room. We also thought it was poor value for money compared with other cheaper but MUCH nicer places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay