We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Plaza Cairns

Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Plaza Cairns
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    86
    84
    57
    33
See reviews for
49
68
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (300)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our room was full of ants. When we asked about it, we were told there was nothing they could do, apart from spray our room. This still didn't help and we stayed with the ants for 1 week. Its really bad to have a baby in that environment. Also our floor had a terrible damp smell in the corridor. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waiouru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here about a month ago and was shocked at how mouldy the rooms smelt and cold and damp the furniture felt even paper became damp. I had paint bulging in the ceiling the size of a bread plate in what was meant to have been an upgrade in my room. The aircon seriously needs an overall or individual... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed on 7th floor, the room and floor smelt mouldy and damp. The room was ok, the bathroom needed better cleaning on the tiles and long black hair all on the floor, I have short blonde. The digital clock didn't work and the tv picture was very ordinary and all the language on the screen was Chinese. Overall not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read the mixed reviews about this hotel however there were a lot of us that were going to be staying here for a reunion. Yes the bathrooms are dated but the water was hot and the complimentary products were first class (sanctum products) although there was no shower cap. The vanity area is also a generous size to allow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Nthcoastjude Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the reunion. The rooms are dated however we are rolling out a refresh program which should help lift them back up. Im glad you were able to utilise Lilo however it is open 7 days. We hope you do stay again as we'd love to have you back.... More 

Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay of 3 nights was average....room was ok but tired needs refurbishment / paint work. Bedding / style were suitable.....found bed too soft, being solo I kept rolling to one side...mattress to be rotated / turned over regularly. Bathroom clean however requires a makeover too. Joined Priority Guest Rewards, had to ask for welcome drink voucher.....breakfast was a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Rosaria M Thank you for your review. While your feedback was fairly positve we want it to be fantastic so I will be using it to help improve key service areas. Rydges Plaza Cairns is an older establishment however we are in the process of refreshing our rooms to make them more comfortable. I will also have maintenance take... More 

Gatton, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I recently stayed here for 3 single nights over a 2 week period with the most recent being the night of the 8th August 2015. I was most impressed with the pre check in option offered, giving an opportunity to upgrade your room or add things like welcome beers. This proved to be efficient and hassle free.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi scubaguy68 Thank you for your review and your continued support. I have spoken with the team regarding the service delivered, while overall good there are always areas we can improve. I will also be sure to let Kivi know she helped make your stay comfortable. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Joel Day... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was a little disappointed service just wasn't there from the front desk to the Dining room / Bar / Housekeeping. Price was a little high for what was delivered . Meals were 5/10 . They didn't have a package that included breakfast with accomodation

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel D, Owner at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Belinda M Thank you for your feedback and I apologise you found the service to be disapointing. I will be sharing this review with my department managers to try and find the source of this issue. I would also like to assure you we do have Bed and Breakfast packages available which can be booked via our website or... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My fiancé and I were here for our last night stay in Cairns. We we "welcomed" by a rude front desk person who was frustrated by our every query and then proceeded to be annoyed when we didn't know where the car park was. She reluctantly pointed us to the "left" and up the "ramp". The room was nice enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi mzxtrina I was saddened to read this review and find this behaviour to be unacceptable. I have spoken with the staff member in question and assure you this is not the high level of customer service we aim to deliver. I would like the oppurtunity to discuss this matter further with you. You can reach me via joel_day@rydges.com. I... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointing stay at this hotel. I was on level 6 and woken at close to midnight with loud music (karaoke) from somewhere outside. When I opened the balcony door I realised it was coming from the outdoor party venue on level 3 of the hotel. I called down to reception and the duty manager at first said there was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi GEM0 Thank you for your review and my apologies for the noise disturbance. The night in question was infact a private function being held in our restaurant and unfortunately the noise did travel. We have been monitoring noise from both our venue aswell as surrounding to ensure they are within legal compliance to ensure our guests have the most... More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Knowing we were going to celebrate an anniversary and have a few drinks, we booked the bed and breakfast package. On arrival the staff were very friendly and we were upgraded to a suite up on a higher floor. The view was amazing, the whole of the CBD to Trinity Harbor,and the hotel was close to restaurants and shopping on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Justaddbacon Congratulations on your anniversary. I am so glad we were able to help make your day that little more special for you. The Junior Suites are also my favourite rooms as I find nothing better than finishing the night with a coffee with overlooking the Harbour. Please do take advantage of our local specials as we'd love to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#16 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#23 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay