We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Plaza Cairns

Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Plaza Cairns
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    86
    84
    58
    34
See reviews for
50
68
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (302)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There was dust everywhere, elevators, mini bar food, curtains where falling apart, ceiling paint peeling, we paid $199 for a room half the size of my sister who was next door and paid $179, wouldn't mind except for the price difference. We also checked in online only to turn up and spend 15 minutes checking in again. My brother also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have a rule when travelling - never eat where you sleep. Makes you get out and explore. Should have listened to my own advice - but as I was travelling with work colleagues acquiesced and breakfasted in the hotel. It was expensive and terrible. Burnt bacon, dry powdery eggs, soggy hash browns, ordinary sausages - there wasn't one thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Buck71 Thank you for your review. The beauty of open forums such as trip advisor is that we receive feedback direct from our guests which help us improve the product and services we offer. Rest assured your experiences will help shape a much better service delivery for Rydges Plaza Cairns. I look forward to the oppurtunity of delivering these... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was full of ants. When we asked about it, we were told there was nothing they could do, apart from spray our room. This still didn't help and we stayed with the ants for 1 week. Its really bad to have a baby in that environment. Also our floor had a terrible damp smell in the corridor. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Matias_I_M Thank you for your review from your recent stay and I apologise for the issues you experienced. The ants you encountered were infact sugar ants which are unfortunately a common resident of most homes in far north queensland. These ants are attracted when food or as their name suggests, sugary items are left out. Due to high demand... More 

Waiouru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here about a month ago and was shocked at how mouldy the rooms smelt and cold and damp the furniture felt even paper became damp. I had paint bulging in the ceiling the size of a bread plate in what was meant to have been an upgrade in my room. The aircon seriously needs an overall or individual... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Suzanne C Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I am saddened to here of the issues you experienced during your short time with us and that you decided to relocate. I would have liked the oppurtunity to have turned this situation around while you were still here. I would still like to discuss your concerns in... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed on 7th floor, the room and floor smelt mouldy and damp. The room was ok, the bathroom needed better cleaning on the tiles and long black hair all on the floor, I have short blonde. The digital clock didn't work and the tv picture was very ordinary and all the language on the screen was Chinese. Overall not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Leah B Thank you for your honest feedback and I apolgise you did not find your stay as comfortable as it could have been. We are focused on improving our product and I am currently rolling out a soft refresh of all rooms to lift them back up to a more consistant standard. I will also share your feedback... More 

Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I read the mixed reviews about this hotel however there were a lot of us that were going to be staying here for a reunion. Yes the bathrooms are dated but the water was hot and the complimentary products were first class (sanctum products) although there was no shower cap. The vanity area is also a generous size to allow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Nthcoastjude Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the reunion. The rooms are dated however we are rolling out a refresh program which should help lift them back up. Im glad you were able to utilise Lilo however it is open 7 days. We hope you do stay again as we'd love to have you back.... More 

Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay of 3 nights was average....room was ok but tired needs refurbishment / paint work. Bedding / style were suitable.....found bed too soft, being solo I kept rolling to one side...mattress to be rotated / turned over regularly. Bathroom clean however requires a makeover too. Joined Priority Guest Rewards, had to ask for welcome drink voucher.....breakfast was a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Rosaria M Thank you for your review. While your feedback was fairly positve we want it to be fantastic so I will be using it to help improve key service areas. Rydges Plaza Cairns is an older establishment however we are in the process of refreshing our rooms to make them more comfortable. I will also have maintenance take... More 

Gatton, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I recently stayed here for 3 single nights over a 2 week period with the most recent being the night of the 8th August 2015. I was most impressed with the pre check in option offered, giving an opportunity to upgrade your room or add things like welcome beers. This proved to be efficient and hassle free.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi scubaguy68 Thank you for your review and your continued support. I have spoken with the team regarding the service delivered, while overall good there are always areas we can improve. I will also be sure to let Kivi know she helped make your stay comfortable. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Joel Day... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was a little disappointed service just wasn't there from the front desk to the Dining room / Bar / Housekeeping. Price was a little high for what was delivered . Meals were 5/10 . They didn't have a package that included breakfast with accomodation

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel D, Owner at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Belinda M Thank you for your feedback and I apologise you found the service to be disapointing. I will be sharing this review with my department managers to try and find the source of this issue. I would also like to assure you we do have Bed and Breakfast packages available which can be booked via our website or... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiancé and I were here for our last night stay in Cairns. We we "welcomed" by a rude front desk person who was frustrated by our every query and then proceeded to be annoyed when we didn't know where the car park was. She reluctantly pointed us to the "left" and up the "ramp". The room was nice enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi mzxtrina I was saddened to read this review and find this behaviour to be unacceptable. I have spoken with the staff member in question and assure you this is not the high level of customer service we aim to deliver. I would like the oppurtunity to discuss this matter further with you. You can reach me via joel_day@rydges.com. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#16 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#23 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay