We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Cairns hotels

BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort to your Saves list
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #13 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
opos
  • Reviews (156)
  • Photos (89)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (64)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    59
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
102
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

All rooms have a large balcony. The building is on top of the night markets on the Esplanade in Cairns. Pool, port, airport and ocean views. No need for a car everything close. Big spa! Good TV , comfy bed - basic cooking BUT in the middle of everything and BBQ's on site.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Meagan the receptionist was very helpful even stayed back to help us. Close to eating area even has opening into food court. On top of Night Markets. Security very good Key access only!!! Rooms quite spacious & well equipped. Pay the little extra & stay in Ocean View room as back rooms are a little noisy from all the air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights mid June at this apartment in the middle of Cairns. The property is located within walking distance of the esplanade, the casino, restaurants and pubs. The apartment itself was reasonably clean. It was classed as a one bedroom but the front door opened directly into the bedroom and if the timber divider had been drawn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent Customer Service, a great location & a clean room greeted us on our recent stay. We stayed on the 2nd floor & the street noise was non existent. The grounds & pool area were fantastic 10/10!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review

Dear Matt L We loved your review, thank you for taking the time to post this - much appreciated. Best wishes, Brian More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a one bedroomed garden view apartment which was actually quite large. The apartment was well equipped with everything needed to self cater. The resort is very centrally located with access from both the Esplanade and Abbott Street, with the main entrance located in level 1 and accessed from Abbott Street. The resort is an easy walk from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sue M You covered a few things which many first-timers here would be glad to know about: central location, distance to station, taxi details to airport etc. Thank you for your very well written review. Yes, Meegan is a wonderful receptionist, our small team appreciate her passionate and friendly attitude, as do many of our guests. Best wishes, Brian... More

Currumbin, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed with two friends in a twin bed apartment (number 407) with the sofa bed folded out for the Cairns Half Ironman in June. We were most impressed with the location - two street entrances, right beside the night markets and opening out onto the restaurant strip in the middle of the esplanade. There is even a tour desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review

Dear regmarks, Your excellent review is well received - I can assure you. The whole team here was most appreciative of your kind words. You covered all the issues that can make or break a happy stay and I am glad to have passed your critical and experienced examination. We hope to see you back next year. Best wishes, Brian More

Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 3 Nights at The Breakfree Royal. Our room on the 5th floor had a front facing view on the Esplanade and the Marina which was fantastic. The girl on check in when we arrived was very pleasant and happy to answer any questions I had. The unit was well appointed, clean, and spacious. I have to disagree with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review

Dear jsj67, Thank you for your wonderful review, you have restored my faith in human nature following the previous review! I hope we will see you back here, it will be a pleasure to shake your hand. Thanks again, Brian More

Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Apart from the excellent customer service and convenient location this place is dirty worn and old - rooms smell like stale alcohol and ciggerette smoke and lift and hall way like spew very disappointed. Very run down

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rachaeltra, I wonder if you realise how shattered we are to read your review! We appreciate your "excellent customer service" and "convenient location" comments but we just don't believe the rest of your review! Nothing was mentioned to reception about smelly rooms or smelly lifts or smelly hallways! No one complained including you. And if you care to read... More

NT
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights.. I am based interstate and my partner overseas Cairns is our halfway point ..could have stayed longer! Location is perfect right on the esplanade with views, nice to be able to have a coffee in the morning on the balcony or recharge before heading out again in the early evening watching the boats heading back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tracy P, Thank you so much for your most complimentary and complementary review. I was amazed to see that we were your 62nd review on TripAdvisor which means you are assessing all your accommodation venues with a keen eye for detail. I'm so glad you had a very enjoyable stay with us and hope we see you here again.... More

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed 4 nights - the location is right in the city and everything is within walking distance. Rooms are large, well appointed and clean. The apartment we were in would have benefitted from some small changes- new coffee mugs instead of the clunky 97c crazed and stained ones. We didn't spend much time in front of the TV and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review

Hi PhilandRob, So glad you had a great stay with us, thank you for your review. We are in the process of replacing those older coffee mugs so if you come back that shouldn't be an issue. As for the TV, well each unit is owned by different people and they chose and paid for the TV. Many of our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns #8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns #9 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on The Esplanade, BreakFree Royal Harbour provides direct access to cafes and restaurants which offer a wide variety of cuisines. Relax poolside on a sun lounge and enjoy the sweeping views of the Cairns swimming lagoon and beautiful Trinity Bay or enjoy a dip in the swimming pool to cool down. Property facilities include: Barbeque facilities, Internet access, Pool with sun lounges, Free guest parking, Lifts to every level, TV in every lounge room with Free-to-Air and Foxtel chanels, Gymnasium. Please note: if arriving by car or taxi please come to Reception at Level 1 (up the ramp above the Night Markets) 60 Abbott Street, Cairns. Reception hours are 8am to 6pm. Guests arriving outside these hours can speak by phone (outside Reception) to our Night Operator who will help them to their rooms. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
38

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer